We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy cottage steps from the beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Caribe Beach Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sanibel Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Caribe Beach Resort
Save
You added Caribe Beach Resort to your Saves list
2669 W. Gulf Dr., Sanibel Island, FL 33957   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 27 Hotels in Sanibel Island
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Cozy cottage steps from the beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Our family of 5 (2 adults, 2 kids & 75 year old Grandma) + dog went for the weekend to one of the cottages (they have 2 in total) and we were happily surprised with the hotel, the cottage, the location and everything, It is a very clean hotel overall, the cottage was impeccable and had everything that we needed. It is a basic beach hotel without major luxuries but we didn't have to ask for more. We wanted to stay more days but unfortunately everything was booked. Staff super friendly, pool nice and clean, beachfront property, very good prices for the lodging and for the pet. We will definitely go back to this hidden jewel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    21
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
16
27
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hyde Park, Vermont
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

We had the cottage closest to the beach and it was gorgeous. The view from the loft was fabulous! Pool was always quiet and very clean. The grounds were clean and maintained. The people at the front desk were always pleasant and were attentive to our needs. Loved it and would highly recommend to anyone!

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

We had booked this resort through Interval International relying on the reviews being accurate...which to the most part they were. there resort is dated but well maintained. It immediately gives you the feel of the 60's as do many of the owners guests. There are two buildings. Building A overlooks the pool area. Building B is closer to the beach and overlooks a picnic & gaming area. there are also two cottages near the beach. Each building has two floors. The upper floors give better overall views than the lower floors which are landscaped by high shrubbery. there are two grills by the pool area and two in the picnic area. Contrary to many reviews, the grills were rarely used the entire time we were there and occupancy was about 90%.

Nearly all the unit are efficiency units which are equipped with a small full kitchen, a very small bathroom and a combined dining/sitting/sleeping area. The kitchen is well equipped. The bathroom is so small only one person can be in it at a time. When the murphy bed is pulled down, there is little area left in the room to move. If someone were to also use to sofa bed, there would be no room to move. There is ample clothing storage for two people for a week. The unit is equipped with two beach chairs which hung on a peg on our balcony. the chairs furnished in our unit were very old and rusty. there are a limited amount of beach umbrellas available for use. There is also laundry facilities available in Building A near the office. The staff was mostly friendly and helpful. the beach is so nearby and in a more isolated area of the beach where there were not many people sitting & relaxing. Bicycles are furnished for guest use and there are plenty of paved paths for bicycles on the island that you can ride to stores, restaurants and attractions and they all have racks to lock them in.

Bailey's Grocery is excellent and not very far away...maybe a mile. Make sure you take the land & boat tours in the sanctuary.

For the money, this is an adequate place to stay but don't expect too many luxuries. the pool, spa & grills are great. Check out the many other places to stay for comparison before committing to this property due to the rooms only.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croton on Hudson, New York
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Read all the reviews on this resort because they are true! I knew exactly what I was getting myself into so I can't complain. The staff at this resort is the best. Dawn was so helpful and went out of her way to make our stay satisfying. The grounds are meticulously maintained and the pool is immaculate. Now the bad part - the efficiency apartments are extremely small, very dated and you will have company - ant company that is. There are little sugar ants that will visit you if you keep anything on the counter. If you go bring lots of zip lock bags and put any food that can't go in the fridge in the bags on the table. Do not keep anything on the counter. We were in building A and had a view of the ocean from the room. The balcony has two chairs and is very small. The bathroom is probably the smallest bathroom I have ever been in. Very difficult to move around at all. I wish i could say i would stay here again but the Murphy bed and pull out bed were so uncomfortable and the ant situation was not something I would want to deal with again on vacation. This resort is conveniently located and the beach was wonderful. Bring water shoes for the beach because there are a lot of shells and you will need them. If it were not for the great staff and the beautiful location and grounds I would have given this a poor review - sorry. Oh and we had no issues with the wifi and could even use it on the beach if directly in front of the hotel.

Room Tip: Building A is closer to ocean but no elevator. Stay in a one bedroom if you go do not stay in an eff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

Great small hotel with beautiful beach access, lush tropical landscape. The rooms are small and dated but if you come for the beaches and sun it is the best of Sanibel. Located directly on the white sandy beaches. Free wifi that extends out to the beach. They allow small dogs and have a full kitchen. A very relaxing vacation for two! Dawn and Angela provide the best hospitality at the front desk. Come enjoy Florida!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

This resort has it's own beach just a hundred yards from the furthest room. Although it could be considered dated, it's clean and the rooms have everything needed for a long stay. The pool area is great and they have a live band come in at least once a week which was a treat. A great stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

We had to change our Spring Break plans at the last minute, and chose Sanibel as our destination. Condos are generally rented Saturday to Saturday, and that didn't suit our schedule. Hotels were outrageously expensive. During one of my email exchanges with Kenoyer property management (they manage the Caribe as well as some condos on Sanibel), I found out they had an efficiency available at the Caribe for my entire stay for $150 per night. I read the TA reviews for the property so wasn't too worried.

My first impression of the property was formed from my interaction with Dawn and Angela, the front office staff. They are fun, accommodating, and very knowledgeable about local restaurants and attractions (ask them first, and save yourself some heartache).

The room (11B) was small (like we were told), but had a kitchenette and all the essentials. It is the room almost directly above the office so fronts West Gulf Dr. There is road noise, but it's not horrible. The beds were 1) a murphy bed (which I had only seen on TV when I was a kid), and 2) a pull out sleeper-sofa. Unfortunately both were terribly uncomfortable--hard and plastic-y, and the pillows were very thin and unsupportive. If you have a favorite pillow or a memory foam mattress-topper, bring them. We flew into Ft. Meyers, so that wasn't an option for us. The room clearly need to be updated (windows not fitting properly, fixtures, finish, etc), but it was clean. The wireless signal was very weak/non-existent in the room, which made it tough to research attractions/restaurants without burning through your data. There were also the ever present ants. They weren't a problem, but be mindful that anything left out (food, toothpaste, etc.) can attract them.

The clientele are almost exclusively seniors enjoying their timeshares. So If you're a family with younger children, they won't find any playmates.

The grounds are adequate. The pool is heated to 86 degrees, and there is a hot tub, which my wife and daughter loved. There were several gas-grills available for use positioned around the property, and there are bikes (a few helmets), boogie boards (which I don't recommend because of the beach-break of the waves), and umbrellas available at no cost.

The shining feature of the Caribe is the location. It is a beach-front property. Not near the beach. On the beach. While the view from your room might not be great, the less-than-a-minute-walk to the beautiful beach is fantastic.

If we go back to the area we probably won't stay at the Caribe again, but NOT because we hated it. We drove up to Captiva and found the area more to our taste.

Bottom line: If you want a no-frills, old-school, Florida-kitsch room at a good price on Sanibel, I don't think you can go wrong with the Caribe.

Room Tip: Building "A" is closer to the beach by 15 seconds. Most rooms in building "B" lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Caribe Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caribe Beach Resort

Address: 2669 W. Gulf Dr., Sanibel Island, FL 33957
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Beach Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Spa
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Sanibel Island
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Sanibel Island
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Sanibel Island
Number of rooms: 26
Also Known As:
Caribe Beach Hotel Sanibel Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caribe Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.