We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lucky us!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Caribe Beach Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sanibel Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Caribe Beach Resort
Save
You added Caribe Beach Resort to your Saves list
2669 W. Gulf Dr., Sanibel Island, FL 33957   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 27 Hotels in Sanibel Island
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Lucky us!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

This was a very lucky encounter, we found this place on a whim while driving down the island.
Perfect, clean, simple, pool warm, beach front within seconds. We will go back! Go for a bike ride on the free bikes!!
Staff very friendly!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    21
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
16
27
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Southeast Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2011

A wonderful two weeks on Sanibel - right on the beach where we can view the sunrise and sunset from the exact same spot in front of the property. Great place for singles or couples since the rooms are smaller and there are not the ameneties that children desire. Very quiet and peaceful. Positioned just right for visiting J.N. "Ding" Darling National Wildlife Preserve as well as other nature walks and bike rides.

Room Tip: Rooms in the A building are generally quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

Our family has been coming to Caribe since the 1970's for the following reasons:
-direct access to the beach in just the right spot to view spectacular sunsets
-free use of bikes, shuffleboard and loaner cupboard full of games and kids sand toys
-clean pool with BBQ's at the sides and brand new hot tub with indigo lighting
-deck box has beach chairs and umbrellas for the sun can be borrowed
-on site laundry machines if needed; drying racks provided
-well equipped kitchens with full weeks supply of coffee filters and dishwasher soap
-since we were here last flat screen TVs and free WIFI which is appreciated
-kids playground set and list of small geckos for them to chase after plus resident cats
-very helpful staff who host a weekly mimosa and bagel morning with NO sales pitches

These are the things that keep bringing us back year after year plus of course how special the island is since it doesn't have any nightjars, stoplights, minimal franchises and lovely boutiques and cafes.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

We had been staying at a very large and lovely condo about 20 miles away, with no beach. We came to Sanibel for the day and knew we had to stay there for our sake and our kids. Went into the Caribe and they were very friendly and let us look at a few of the units to select which we preferred. We chose the one above the office in case our 2 year old woke up and cried as we did not want to disturb others. It was the perfect fit for us. Make no mistake, this is old school Florida, but we loved it. We had a bedroom with a full bath and a Murphy bed in the living room for sleeping. The kitchen was well stocked and there was a 1/2 bath in the hallway. The grounds were very nicely maintained and had lovely vegetation. The pool was perfect. Best of all, we were a short walk to the beautiful Sanibel beach for shelling. If you are expecting luxury, this is not the place for you. If you are there to be a beach bum and not worry about sand on your feet, this could be the place for you.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Virginia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2011

First, the positives: Quiet. Clean, well-maintained grounds, friendly maintenance staff, good location on West Gulf Drive. Pet-friendly. Now for the negatives: We arrived to discover the specific ground-floor room we were promised (in writing) was occupied and unavailable, though no one had warned us. The property manager agreed to our request for a 15% discount for the inconvenience. I guess the room key says it all about the need for updates on this property: when was the last time you stayed at a hotel that gave you a metal key attached to one of those brightly colored plastic fobs with the "drop in any mailbox" instructions? The room number had long ago worn off the fob, and had been retraced with white-out. Other issues: Exterior door louvers that were inoperable, ants in the kitchenette (friendly maintenance staff did lend us a can of ant and roach killer, but it didn't get rid of them), an unsupportive mattress on the Murphy Bed, a policy that directs guests to exchange dirty towels for clean ones but ONLY ON WEDNESDAY MORNING and ONLY FROM 9:00 till 10:00!!! Any other time, and guests are just plain out of luck. And one final item you may find interesting. Internet access was cut off at 12:00 AM the day of our departure, even though checkout was ten hours later. And, Surprise!, when we logged on to our home page later in the day, hundreds of miles from the Caribe, guess whose log-in screen appeared? Yes! The Caribe's! And it won't go away.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middleburg
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2009

I've been coming to the caribe since I was young, probably 5 or 6 and I am now 26 and I still come every summer with my family. Between me, my mom and my grandmother, we have 3 time shares there and it is so nice and memorable because all of the family can get together. I actually got engaged at the Caribe. I am now a mother of two and I am so glad that I am able to share the memories with my children. The accomodations are amazing, the beach is wonderful, staff is great and everything is so close and convenient. I would reccomend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripley, WV
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2008

The Caribe is a timeshare resort, but when you visit you aren't slapped with one of those annoying sales-pitches. The resort is older and in severe need of updates. The refrigerator, dishwasher, wallpaper, and the entire bathroom should be removed and replaced with something more modern. Even with these problems, however, our stay was fantastic. Our room on the 2nd floor of building A had a beautiful Gulf View. The wind in the palm trees was relaxing, and the pool was refreshing. What really made this place great was the people. The employees have got to be some of the best in the business. Moreover, the other vacationers made this time so enjoyable. We were traveling with a 9 month old who was the star of the resort. Everyone remembered his name and asked about him. I had never slept on a Murphy Bed before and was expecting something akin to a pullout sofa. The bed was actually rather nice and the pillows were comfortable. A flat screen tv was a nice touch to the room as well. The resort is located, in my opinion, near the best spot on the whole island for shelling (the Tarpon Bay beach access area--from the resort, go to the beach and turn left...it's about a five minute walk to a fabulous tidal pool filled with sea life and shells). Although four adults could sleep in the room, I wouldn'd recommend it. Two adults, and at the most two small children, would maximize the room's occupancy. We didn't really spend too much time in the room, so it's small size didn't really bother us. Be sure to check out the Ding Darling Wildlife Refugee on the island and cruise on up to Captiva to eat at the Mucky Duck or the Bubble Room.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — bathroom
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Caribe Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caribe Beach Resort

Address: 2669 W. Gulf Dr., Sanibel Island, FL 33957
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Beach Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Spa
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Sanibel Island
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Sanibel Island
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Sanibel Island
Number of rooms: 26
Also Known As:
Caribe Beach Hotel Sanibel Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caribe Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.