We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jackaranda” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Jacaranda

The Jacaranda
1223 Periwinkle Way, Sanibel Island, FL 33957-4720
+1 239-472-1771
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $22 - $40
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Sanibel Island, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Jackaranda”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Consistent quality. Service can be spotty, but usually pretty good. They do a nice job on most fish and seafood. A little pricy for the quality, but not out of line. Good atmosphere. Don't sit near the bar if you want a quiet meal.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

632 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    284
    186
    69
    48
    45
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bluffton, South Carolina
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Surprise surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

First of all this restaurant is LARGE; doesn't look that big from street. Oysters Rockafeller and fresh catch are fabulous. Steve was our waiter and extremely attentive in spite of being busy.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Nice Atmosphere, Great Service, Good Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

My husband & I decided to have a little alone time and sent the kids elsewhere to eat while we enjoyed a quiet dinner for two at Jacaranda. We made reservations, which is always a good idea on Sanibel in March/April. I ordered the Sanibel Oscar, which is a steak covered in lump crab meat, asparagus and hollandaise sauce. My husband had the sea scallops. We both enjoyed our meal. Dinner prices are in the mid-20's which is about average for Sanibel. We had a very nice and efficient waitress. We would eat here again. They also offer an early bird menu if you can get there before 6 pm.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanibel Island, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Poor service, and poor service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Let me warn you, the Early Bird Specials food is great, but the wait staff treats you like your homeless looking for a handout. They were rude and inattentive would be all but too kind.

As I said, great food, but the service was so bad we will not be back. I did email the manager about our experience and did not get a reply.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Fort Myers, Florida
Top Contributor
283 reviews 283 reviews
219 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Excellent Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We had a group of 55 dine and were very pleased with the foods & service. We were in & out within 90 minutes. We arrived about 5:20 and left before 7 PM. The group was there last year and received the same service. So they are consistent! We had salmon which was hot, moist & delicious as the Chickem Marsala. The breads were hot & tasty. The server woiuld bring out as much bread as you need. The salad was crisp & fresh. The Turtle pie was out of this world. Would definitely return! There are several dining rooms as well as an outdoor screened bar area. There is a dance floor in a small room way in the rear pass the bar.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Jacaranda also viewed

Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to The Jacaranda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Jacaranda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.