We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most perfect spot on Sanibel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sandalfoot Condominium

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Sandalfoot Condominium to your Saves list
Sandalfoot Condominium
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   671 E Gulf Dr, Sanibel Island, FL 33957   |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“The most perfect spot on Sanibel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

This is the 13th time we have visited Sanibel - 12 times to Sandalfoot and this year we have had possibly the best weather in years. Sandalfoot is looking magnificent - Domingo does such a fantastic job with the grounds. all the staff are so friendly and helpful - nothing is too much trouble. We are very fortunate to rent one of the finest apartments here - 2D3 - ask for it or book it if you can. I am sitting here on the balcony enjoying an early evening glass of chilled white wine after what has been a perfect day watching the sun go down. We are very lucky and would highly recommend this condo.

Stayed January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    30
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
120
73
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Crofton MD
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Sandalfoot is affordable paradise. The grounds are always impeccably maintained so you can walk around anywhere barefoot (or sandal foot :)). The condo is perfectly situated on the island so that during peak season you can wake up in the morning and look to your left and watch the sunrise, and look to the right at night and watch the sunset. Amazing, nearly every day. If you can swing the extra few bucks, go for a gulf front, first floor unit (buildings 1 or 5). The ultimate in serenity is the outside corner unit on either of those buildings (1A1, e.g.). No one walks by your unit, or in front of it, you have front walk-out access to the beach, and a wonderful view all day long. I've been going to Sanibel/Captiva for nearly 40 years. Sandalfoot is a wonderful spot to be. You're off the beaten track (on East Gulf Drive), and yet you don't have to trudge up the always-crowded main road, so you can get to Sandalfoot quickly (especially useful as you first get on the island and are anxious to start vacation). The lighthouse is a pleasant 1 mi walk down the beach (or down the road) every morning, and the fantastic Lighthouse Cafe and next door ice cream spot are both a quick walk away. The beach is amazing (but that's true almost everywhere on Sanibel, so that's not a unique selling point). Sandalfoot is small enough complex so you don't feel like you're at a complex. Cook outside on the Weber grills. Swim in the pool. Play shuffleboard. Laze on the beach. The buildings aren't new, but not much on Sanibel that's affordable is. Many of the units are remodeled, some better than others. But, really, Sanibel isn't about the inside of your unit; it's about the beach, and the view. Hence my suggestion: get the gulf front view. 1st floor gets you walk out access. Upper floors are good too, but you don't get that same feel like you have your own beachhouse. One caveat about 1A1, where we've stayed twice, intentionally: The kitchen is the most moronic design, with barely room for a single person to move. As soon as you open the fridge or dishwasher, you block access to the entire kitchen. Nevertheless, I've cooked a full Christmas dinner with great success, so it's a fully functional kitchen, if a bit challenging. And I've been there twice, so you can tell it doesn't stop me from choosing 1A1 as one of the most exclusive units on the property. Great folks at the front office. Never had a hitch with my reservation or stay.

Room Tip: Gulf front, first floor, buildings 1 or 5. 4 rooms across in each building. 2BR units are on the out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Haven, Connecticut
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

I'm not sure where to even begin. From the ease and professionalism over the phone booking a condo at Sandalfoot to arriving and finding a beautiful paradise we were sold. The staff was accommodating, the grounds manicured perfectly, heated awesome pool, close proximity to soft white sandy shelled beaches and last but without a doubt not least an amazing comfortable condo. I would recommend anyone traveling to Sanibel staying here. The price is perfect and when I tell you that you won't be disappointed I promise that statement is true. Unit 4A1 is AWESOME!!!

Room Tip: bring your smiles with you, your gonna need them!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madison, nj
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012 via mobile

We loved our long weekend at Sandalfoot. Having bikes to rent right on the property was great. It is a fantastic quiet location with constant entertainment from the wildlife on the beach. The staff is friendly and helpful and the kitchen is well equipped. We would come back!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston lancs
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

I cannot think of a better way to spend two weeks. We stayed in unit 5A2 which was right on the gulf and there was nothing to restrict our wonderful view. Sunrise was magnificent, the dolphins could be seen most days and just listening to the sea lapping the shores was extremely relaxing. We settled into the unit immediately because it was very comfortable, well equipped and well maintained. Sandalfoot is a great complex with everything that you could possibly need. We would stay in this complex and this unit again.

Room Tip: Corner units gulf front are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Iowa, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

I have been spending 2 weeks, sometimes more, at Sandalfoot for over 13 years. It is a wonderful complex for so many reasons. It is small enough to be comfortable but large enough to provide all the amenities that I want. I have stayed in Buildings 1, 4 & 5 and all are great. 1A2 and 5C1 are both 2 bedroom units and 4B2 is a one bedroom. All units are well equipped and have great views of the Gulf. The staff is very friendly and the grounds are well maintained. I recommend it as a wonderful get-away for singles, girl friend retreats, and families!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Great home away from home at unit 3C1,all newly remodeled! Rooms and kitchen were just fabulous. Staff are all so sweet, landscape and scenery just beautiful. The family had such a wonderful time biking, swimming, shelling, and fishing all day.. Most of all its a "Total Paradise".Thanks

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sandalfoot Condominium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandalfoot Condominium

Address: 671 E Gulf Dr, Sanibel Island, FL 33957
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Sanibel Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandalfoot Condominium 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sandalfoot Beachfront Condominium is nestled on the East end of Sanibel, beachfront to the Gulf of Mexico and just 1 mile from the ''Historic Lighthouse'' on one of the best shelling beaches of the world. Your choice of either a 1-bedroom/1-bath or 2-bedroom/2-bath Beachfront or Gulf View condominium. Each beautifully and thoughtfully appointed. Enjoy many complimentary amenities such as Beach Chairs & Towels, Laundry Facilities, High-Speed WiFi, Swimming Pool, Parking & more! Our friendly and professional on-site Guest Relations Team members are here to welcome you and assist you during your stay, Mon-Sat, 9AM-5PM. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere and Despegar.com so you can book your Sandalfoot Condominium reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandalfoot Condominiums Hotel Sanibel Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandalfoot Condominium, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.