We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Surprise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Turtle's Beach & Pool Bar

Turtle's Beach & Pool Bar
1451 Middle Gulf Drive, Sanibel Island, FL 33957 (Formerly Turtles Cafe & Patio)
877-736-4320
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $8 - $32
Cuisines: American, Bar, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating, Scenic view
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Situated on the main pool deck just steps from the beach, Turtle's welcomes you with a laid-back tropical Florida atmosphere. Open 11 am till 7 pm daily, guests enjoy a variety of delicious dishes paired with a tasty selection of tropical drinks, imported and domestic beers and an array of popular wines. Happy Hour specials are offered 3 pm till 5 pm daily with live entertainment on select nights.
Fernandina Beach, Florida, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Pleasant Surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

My co-workers and I went to a conference at the Sundial at the end of June. On the last day of the conference we decided to sit outside and enjoy the view of the water and pool. It was so relaxing before our long drive home to Jacksonville. We each got something different. I got the special which was chicken with vegetables and it was excellent. One of my co-workers got the fish tacos and the other got chicken wings. All of our dishes were excellent. In fact, I spoke with manager Paul Cuppy to let him know that it was a pleasant surprise to have such great food at a resort restaurant. He then told me that they had been serving our lunches each day of the conference. Everyone at the conference raved about our meals at lunch.

The facilities are beautiful. Our two bedroom suite overlooked the gulf and the screened in porch was so nice. Marina and the other staff were very helpful in resolving any issues we had with booking/receipts. We go to this conference every year and next year we will eat at the restaurant more often.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    5
    13
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great Views Food OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Go for the drinks and the view. Keep the eating light and you should be happy at the new Sundial on Sanibel. This is just about the best place to see the water and have a happy hour.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Captiva
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“First visit was a really nice experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We dined at the new Sea Breeze Café in the newly remodeled Sundial Resort on Sunday night. The outdoor seating on the second floor level is covered and gives a full view of the Gulf of Mexico. Our waiter, Joey, greeted us with a very warm welcome and smile - a great way to start. Service all around was well done.

Although this was a light dinner for us, we found the dishes to be prepared well, especially the salmon and mahi mahi that were both grilled to perfection. The salmon topped a really crisp and clean Caesar salad, while the mahi was accompanied by very nicely grilled vegetables. And the pricing was very reasonable - a pleasant surprise for the rare restaurant on Sanibel with a truly direct Gulf view.

The new owners of the Sundial still are in process of the updates, but what has been completed is very nicely done, including the new lobby, bar, and the indoor Waterside Restaurant - offering the same view as the outside diners. Understand, our 5 star review is considering this to be a café style outdoor service. Our next visit to the Waterside dining room will be rated upon a different scale.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanibel
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Bad service terrible food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Worst food and service, save your money and eat at island pizza restaurant. Also eat at jjacarada restaurant, with a great happy hour

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanibel
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“What a nice re-do!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

New ownership has totally refurbished this great resort, starting with the restaurants. The Sea Breeze and Waterview are on the second floor, and the Sea Breeze has a new outdoor patio. This is the only restaurant on the island with a full view of the Gulf. Menu has been totally re-done, and the food is outstanding. You can order off any menu in any restaurant. We went back several times, and have not had a bad meal or experience.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Turtle's Beach & Pool Bar also viewed

Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Turtle's Beach & Pool Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Turtle's Beach & Pool Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.