We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy food, great atmoshere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Island Cow

The Island Cow
2163 Periwinkle Way, Sanibel Island, FL 33957
239-472-0606
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Belleville, Illinois
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Yummy food, great atmoshere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

It's a fun and unique little place to eat with fast service. They give you free chocolate chip muffins while you wait for your food. They were delish!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,790 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,213
    928
    400
    154
    95
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South Saint Paul, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

We always dine at The Island Cow when on Sanibel and always enjoy it! , my only issue is such a large menu we never know what to try !!!!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodboro Maryland
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“A "Cow" atmosphere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Kind of like some of the other places on Sanibel, there was nothing wrong with the Island Cow, but, as far as we could tell, there wasn't anything really special either. We went for breakfast, it was good.

It's hard for me to get excited about breakfast, maybe I should keep my lack of enthusiasm to myself.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfort, KY
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great fun and fantastic food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Island Cow is an eclectic, family oriented restaurant. Wide variety of foods in different styles. I ordered a "cow patty." It's IC's take on shepherd's pie. The brown sauce, the roux, which covered the ground beef, was very earthy and had a nice blend of herbs. I suspect at least in part, a mushroom gravy was incorporated. The peas and carrots were flavorful and not mushy. The mashed potatoes were encased in a blend of cheeses, including a slightly sharp cheddar cheese. Now, I like to eat, but I took half of the serving back to the room. And it was still piping hot when we left the Island Cow!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Canaveral
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“A tried and true favorite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

We've been going to Sanibel for 20 years. Island cow has never let us down. On the most recent visit, I tried their Sanibel Cheese Steak. Don't let the pineapple throw you off. There is just enough in there to let itself known, but compliment and not overpower the sandwich. The other ingredients (peppers, onions) were all fresh and great quality. This is one of the best cheese steak sandwiches in recent memory. The Cow is a must visit when on the island. Be prepared for a small wait if you arrive during peak hours, but then that speaks for itself.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Island Cow also viewed

Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to The Island Cow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Island Cow, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.