We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holy Cow! Come early, stay late....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Island Cow

The Island Cow
2163 Periwinkle Way, Sanibel Island, FL 33957
239-472-0606
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Florida
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Holy Cow! Come early, stay late....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

What a gem right in the heart of an island paradise! The Island Cow has "attitude" -- an island attitude, that is, and a great one! Ambiance is superb and there's something for everyone. Don't pass up the conch fritters or the freshly-prepared crabcakes if you love seafood. It will take you some time to get through the menu --- LOTS of choices and beautifully served. Seating inside or outside and then relax awhile in the shade out back. Island drinks, island food, island time.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,455 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,064
    805
    356
    141
    89
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Clarion, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“cute place!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We have eaten at the Island Cow several times over the years while vacationing on Sanibel and Captiva Islands. The Cow offers an extensive choice of menu items, and we've never had a bad meal here. Plenty of seafood options, burgers, breakfasts, etc. The staff has always been friendly, and they have often had live local music in the restaurant in the evenings. Cute island-y place! And the prices are quite reasonable for the islands.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keene, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“The Wait is Worth It !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Great place for good food and fun. Certainly not a quiet restaurant and although there was only two of us, lots of families and couples. Food quality overrules the noise. Fun entertainment in the evening. We visit here each time we visit Sanibel.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We tried conch fritters for the first time, and they were delicious! I made my husband go first, and when he didn't die I gave them a whirl. So glad I did! Fun atmosphere! Stay away from the cold wildberry bisque unless you want a smoothie in a bowl. I didn't have their breakfast, but my mother-in-law says they have the best on Sanibel!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acme, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“We come here every year”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We never miss eating here while we're on vacation. You can always tell if the food is good by the number of cars in the parking lot and this place is always full. The wait is never to long and the food is really good. Love the coconut grouper. My mouth is watering. Can't wait till next year.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Island Cow also viewed

Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to The Island Cow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Island Cow, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.