We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, good food and lots of it!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Island Cow

The Island Cow
2163 Periwinkle Way, Sanibel Island, FL 33957
239-472-0606
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Dessert, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
stewwwie1
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Great service, good food and lots of it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

First time here and it was very good. Server was on the ball,made some good suggestions, fresh mango sangria and interesting appetizers. Food was ordered and appeared very quickly. Everything was cooked very well and very tasty. weird was bus boys stand over you. Mkaes you feel rushed!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,785 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,211
    925
    400
    154
    95
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Layton, Utah
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Fun, Kitchy and Tasty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We ventured over to Sanibel Island (my best friend and I) just so she could have some of their fried gator and hush puppies. It's directly on Periwinkle way (but really, isn't everything?) and the menu is truly inspired! We had to ask what "Ping Wings" were. I won't spoil it by telling you here.

Anyway, she gushed over the gator and I cheered for my chicken salad. The dressing was their house, island vinaigrette. It was divine! I couldn't eat it all because I could taste the sugar (low-carbing) but definitely recommend it if you're having a salad. My best friend said the gator was as good as any she's had and the hush puppies were southern style.

Instead of bread to nibble on before your meal, how about funfetti muffins? Again, Inspired! Give it a try if ever you're on the island.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Fun Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

This is a fun restaurant with a cow theme and a tropical feeling. The service was very good and we enjoyed our food. We were there in September which is the slow season and we had an early dinner so it was not at all crowded.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Love this place!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We went with a large group (4 adults & 4 kids). We called ahead & they took a reservation. When we arrived we were seated immediately. The food was great, the atmosphere is great and our server was attentive and very personable. Great place for families!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DUNNELLON
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice dinners and great breakfasts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Nothing bad to say about this place...It's very busy and now I know why...it's very good. They give you a complimentary muffin and their prices aren't too bad for what you get. I know my new favorite island restaurant...glad a local nudged us in their direction.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Island Cow also viewed

Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to The Island Cow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Island Cow, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.