We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Casual dining great food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Island Cow

The Island Cow
2163 Periwinkle Way, Sanibel Island, FL 33957
239-472-0606
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Cutchogue, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Casual dining great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Island Cow is very casual and has great food, the monster burger was by far the yummiest burger on the island!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,455 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,065
    805
    355
    141
    89
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Average Food-Good Service-Fun atmosphere-Would return”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We had reservation for 16 and were seated right away when we arrived. We all agreed the food was average but would return. The service was friendly and fast but a few of our orders came out incorrect. They were however quickly made right. I had the Snapper with mango salsa and the fish was cooked to perfection. This dish was very good. Upon inquiring about everyone else's enjoyment of their meals they all said "it was alright". Good but nothing to get overly excited about. It was fun and the food was good enough to return.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“A Sanibel "must" for good eats”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

The busy-ness of the Island Cow is a testimony to the quality of the food as well as the friendliness of the staff and speed of service. My husband and I enjoy sharing the fish tacos for lunch because the amount of food allows ample for both of us. We usually go for lunch but the breakfasts and dinners are also very good. The menu offers a huge selection so everyone can find something to their liking. The portions are also huge. This isn't a quiet place for fine dining but rather a fun spot to enjoy the sense of community that helps to make Sanibel a special place.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Casual, Family Friendly, Fabulous Seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Had two meals at The Island Cow -- the best of my week in Sanibel. Huge menu with something to please everyone. Friendly waiters and the best fried oysters, hush puppies and cole slaw I have ever had. Wish I were there now!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noblesville, Indiana
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good family restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

There were quite a few children there which is fine and the food was good but not the best choice if you are looking for a more quiet, couples-oriented venue.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Island Cow also viewed

Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to The Island Cow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Island Cow, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.