We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sanibel Cafe

Sanibel Cafe
2007 Periwinkle Way, Sanibel Island, FL 33957-4100
239-472-5323
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Dessert
CLAY
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Start your day off right, have breakfast here. You receive a nice greeting and most times you are seated right away. The two waitress work as a team and have been here the past two years, weither you are a regular or this is first time you are treated great. They have a great breakfast sandwich, hash is execellant and the pancakes and french toast, will not let you down. If you have toast, they give you homemade jelly, that is really a nice surprise. Good food and service, what a way to start your day.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    202
    166
    54
    24
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Port Charlotte, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best breakfast on the Island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Great breakfast. We ate here 4 out of 8 days. It was so good we had to keep coming back. We tried 4 other places (Wont mention any names) and no one else compared when you put it all together. Service, portion size, food quality, cleanliness, price value, retail ie Home Made Jelly, shirts hats, coffee mugs & management. Buy the way, who is this Ken guy?

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wernersville, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Best Breakfast on Sanibel Island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

This is the only place on Sanibel Island we ate at twice. The breakfast here was excellent, everything was cooked exactly how it should be, the portions were very generous, and the tastes were fantastic! Service was fast and friendly and the prices were very reasonable. Everything is clean, atmosphere is comfortable and quiet, and the breakfast menu has everything you want.

I would consider this the best breakfast on Sanibel Island.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great place for breakfast or lunch!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

This was our 2nd time on the island, and we were anxious to return to Sanibel Café again--it did not disappoint. We had breakfast one day and lunch another. We found the food to be excellent for both, and the prices could not be beat. I had their shrimp salad for lunch, and was very surprised and pleased to see that it was made with whole shrimp and served with fresh fruit all around--very yummy!!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acushnet, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Nice breakfast in nice atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

My husband and I had breakfast here on a recent trip to Sanibel. We went late on a Sunday morning. It was pretty busy, but we got a table right away. I had the almond french toast and my husband had the breakfast quesadilla. Both are recommended. The portions were good size and the prices were reasonable. We liked the atmosphere. We also liked that they took our order on an iPad, thought that was innovative. Everyone seemed happy. I loved the tables and how they were decorated with shells, as well as the little sign on the table with things to do in Sanibel. It is located in a nice shopping area with stores and plenty of parking.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sanibel Cafe also viewed

Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Sanibel Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sanibel Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.