We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cuban Sandwich - good but don't add Italian herbs” 3 of 5 stars
Review of East End Deli

East End Deli
359 Periwinkle Way, Unit 3, Sanibel Island, FL 33957-7407
(239) 472-9622
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $3 - $9
Cuisines: Ice Cream
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch
Bennington, Nebraska
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Cuban Sandwich - good but don't add Italian herbs”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

I've always enjoyed the Cuban sandwich at the East End Deli. It's a little pricey but the portion is big and the quality is good. This time the recipe seems to have changed. The sandwich would have been great if not for an overwhelming taste of Italian seasoning. I think it was oregano, but it is something usually in spaghetti sauce and usually doesn't overpower the sauce. I took the sandwich apart and sure enough, some sort of green flakes are all over it inside. It would have been a great sandwich it I could have tasted the roast pork, ham, cheese, etc. instead of it tasting like an over-spiced Italian sub. Hold the Italian seasoning, it doesn't belong on a Cuban, please.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    25
    8
    3
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sanibel
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great Cuban sandwich!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Nice surprise on the east end of the island. The. Cuban sandwich was very tasty, and hit the spot for a good lunch on the go. The deli is combined with a general store offering a nice variety of island "stuff." Definitely worth a stop!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta Gorda, Florida
Top Contributor
197 reviews 197 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 103 cities Reviews in 103 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
“Loved the black beans.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012 via mobile

We chose to walk over from Seahorse Cottages to pick up a Sunday evening meal. Leaning on the recommendations of others we chose the black beans on saffron rice. We split one order back on our patio deck enjoying the light breeze and setting sun. A great end to our first day on the island.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grosse Pointe, Michigan
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“What Happened?!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

We used to love this place and would come here twice a year when we vacation. Just got our usual and it was horrible. Apparently its under new ownership...so sad to see this little gem change.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenn P, Manager at East End Deli, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Sara,
Change is often difficult and we have greatly expanded our offerings of wine and types of other beverages for our customers, we strive to continually improve.
Unfortunately without any indication of what the problem was, it is impossible for us to correct unless it is brought to our attention. I apologize for whatever was the issue and hope that you will provide me with more information in the future so your experience will be better. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Connecticut
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Large Portions, not a lot of Taste....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012 via mobile

We stopped by on a Thursday when all was pretty slow. The man who waited on us was very friendly. The chicken salad wrap was OK, not much flavor, a few grapes, not much bleu cheese, but fresh and a reasonable portion. The sandwich with roast beef, ham, turkey and Bacon was huge but did not have much flavor. We may try it again and ask for more spices and condiments.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenn P, Manager at East End Deli, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Bill,
Thanks for the feedback, the wrap is our "Crazy Bob" and is actually under review for deletion from the menu as we use the same base mix for our Curried chicken salad. The "Works" sandwich is another item that seems to not have a direction and your viewpoint is appreciated. We keep the Works for those that are really hungry as it contains 3/4 of a pound of meat. I would suggest our Cuban if you truly like flavors in a sandwich.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed East End Deli also viewed

Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to East End Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage East End Deli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.