We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent as always” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Doc Ford's Rum Bar & Grille

Doc Ford's Rum Bar & Grille
975 Rabbit Rd, Sanibel Island, FL 33957-3037
239-472-8311
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: Caribbean, Seafood, Grill, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Doc Ford's Rum Bar & Grille is the place to find the best Caribbean flavors on Sanibel Island and surrounding areas! It is named after the character from author Randy Wayne White's best-selling book series and is a favorite dining spot for travelers from all over the world as well as a favorite for the locals looking for great food and atmosphere!
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent as always”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

Waitress outside on night we were there was great.My husband had the Tuesday scallop special and said it was the best meal he's ever had. Every time we go, we have a great meal. (Great author and marketing genius too)

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,067 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,028
    699
    232
    70
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alger, Michigan
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Ended eating here 3 times”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

Great Mahi Mahi, Shrimp and grits, ribeye, and paella also the fish sandwiches. We really liked this restaurant and if you are a fan of the author who invented the character the restaurant is named after it makes it even better.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indiana
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“gourmet food casual atmosphere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

This was our second trip to Doc Fords in Sanibel and it didn't disappoint. All four of our meals were wonderful. In fact, my friend who is a professional chef stated that her seared mahi in prickly pear sauce was one of the best dishes she's ever had. The service was friendly and fast, the outside seating great and the rum drinks-yum!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Wonderful Salad”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

This is a low key restaurant, with very good food. I had the cobb salad which was enough for three. Even though were were biking, I took a to go package and enjoyed the rest of my salad the next day. My husband had the grouper sandwich and said it was also very good.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgewater,NJ
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Grouper Sandwich better than Fish Tacos”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Went for lunch on two consecutive days. Had the grouper sandwich day one and it was outstanding. Day two tried the fish tacos and the fish was a bit soggy and not all the flavorful. The conch chowder was very good and saved the lunch on day 2.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Doc Ford's Rum Bar & Grille also viewed

Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Doc Ford's Rum Bar & Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doc Ford's Rum Bar & Grille, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.