We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good find on Sanibel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Doc Ford's Rum Bar & Grille

Doc Ford's Rum Bar & Grille
975 Rabbit Rd, Sanibel Island, FL 33957-3037
239-472-8311
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: Caribbean, Seafood, Grill, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Doc Ford's Rum Bar & Grille is the place to find the best Caribbean flavors on Sanibel Island and surrounding areas! It is named after the character from author Randy Wayne White's best-selling book series and is a favorite dining spot for travelers from all over the world as well as a favorite for the locals looking for great food and atmosphere!
Indianapolis, Indiana
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“A good find on Sanibel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

We stumbled upon this eatery while bicycling the island. Saw that there was a bike rack out front, hopped off, locked the bikes up and in we went apologizing all the way to the staff for being sweat drenched. Took advantage of the outdoor seating option to be less offensive to other guests smell wise.(lol) We split a goodly proportioned fish sandwich that also included black beans and rice. Good Mojitos too! I'm embarrassed to say we had NO idea who "Doc Ford" was or is but now know it is a character in a Best Selling series of novels whose author is a co-owner of this restauarant, having begun his career selling freshly caught fish to the chef all the way back to the 70's. I am definitely going to search for the books but they DO sell them, even autographed, on the property. Anyway, for plenty of reasons, we thought this to be a good find!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,072 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,030
    702
    232
    70
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Cool atmosphere with great food and value!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

Went there for lunch. Service was great! Cool atmosphere and great for families with kids. Sweet chili wings and conch chowder were very flavorful! Pulled pork sandwich was yummy and so was the grouper sandwich- a nice thick grouper fillet. Sides were good too! Large portions and good value. Loved the atmosphere! Will go back!!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Not Awful, Just Not Worthy”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Tripadvisors you let me down on this one. The food isn't bad. Maybe I should give it three stars, but I was so depressed by the whole package that I just won't. This place isn't what it thinks it is. Hanging a kayak from your ceiling doesn't automatically make you a tropical island getaway. My "panko crusted" fish had not one flake of panko on it. My "mango margarita" had not one drop of alcohol in it, which is highly insulting. This place is a tired out chain restaurant without even being a chain restaurant.
Go eat somewhere on the island with a little bit of soul. Try the new Fresh Taqueria, for instance. At least there the crusted fish is crunchy and the margaritas actually have tequila in them.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great Food fun place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

I really like Doc Fords. The food is good and the atmosphere is nice. Good for dinner or lunch or just drinks with friends.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Good to average based on what you get”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

I am an avid Randy Wayne White reader, so I was eager to try Doc Ford's. My husband did not think the food was anything special and was overpriced, but my snapper wrapped in a banana leaf was excellent. We went here twice and I would go back for the snapper, yucatan shrimp and the key lime pie. Other choices we had were not near as good. The drinks were also too sweet and the mojito disappointed. If you get certain menu items, you will like it and it is worth a stop for the atmosphere and t-shirts.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Doc Ford's Rum Bar & Grille also viewed

Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Doc Ford's Rum Bar & Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doc Ford's Rum Bar & Grille, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.