We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yucatan Shrimp” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Doc Ford's Rum Bar & Grille

Doc Ford's Rum Bar & Grille
975 Rabbit Rd, Sanibel Island, FL 33957-3037
239-472-8311
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: Caribbean, Seafood, Grill, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Doc Ford's Rum Bar & Grille is the place to find the best Caribbean flavors on Sanibel Island and surrounding areas! It is named after the character from author Randy Wayne White's best-selling book series and is a favorite dining spot for travelers from all over the world as well as a favorite for the locals looking for great food and atmosphere!
NORTH LIBERTY
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Yucatan Shrimp”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Being a big Randy Wayne White fan, I couldn't visit Sanibel without eating at Doc Ford's. The folks who run the motel I was at said i had to try the Yucatan Shrimp, and it is fabulous. Was there at the beginning of Stone Crab season, so got a 1/4 lb of the shrimp. and a stone crab dinner- both fabulous. But the shrimp was so good, I went back the next night for more!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,072 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,030
    702
    232
    70
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockbridge, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“A very well run landing spot that make you feel like family.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We love this place. Every time we get to Sanibel we visit at least 2 or 3 times during
our stay. The restrooms are immaculate as is the restaurant. There are multiple tv's for sporting events and news.
The staff is engaging, helpful, and friendly. The food is excellent and the soups are out of this world. They should produce a cookbook just for the soups alone.
The tomato basil, chicken sausage gumbo, and clam chowder are just fantastic.
Their signature cocktails are great also.
The staff treats our grandchildren really well. They like the fish tank and the crayons and activity
placemats provided.
This is a very well run landing spot that make you feel like family.
There are ample Doc Ford souvenirs to purchase as well.
See you again next year.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nj
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“doc fords”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

very long wait, food on three occasions, average at best. great place to watch sporting events on various big screens.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton Bays, New York, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Excellent Food..Very nice place the waitress & staff were very attentive and very nice.The food is full of flavor..We had visited three restaurants at our stay on Sanibel Island..Doc Ford's is by far the best food on the island..Excellent!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ri
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Loved the fish sandwich”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Finally made it to Doc Ford's over Columbus Day weekend. It was everything we had heard about. The fish sandwich was the best I have ever tasted and I am from New England. Service was great, loved the sports bar atmosphere, and can't wait to return to Doc Ford's next trip.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Doc Ford's Rum Bar & Grille also viewed

Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Doc Ford's Rum Bar & Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doc Ford's Rum Bar & Grille, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.