We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious dinner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gramma Dot's Seaside Saloon

Gramma Dot's Seaside Saloon
634 North Yachtsman Drive, Sanibel Island, FL 33957-3912
(239)472-8138
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $1 - $25
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Dessert
haines city, fl
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Delicious dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Good fresh seafood, pretty view of the marina, we enjoyed our dinner very much. The dinners come with a large potato croquette as a side. Yum! And a chocolate shell with fruit. Always a fan of chocolate. I enjoyed the coconut shrimp, and my husband liked his fried oyster sandwich.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

643 reviews from our community

75% Recommend
    278
    209
    86
    41
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wayne, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Pretty Spot by the Water”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed lunch and then took a walk around the marina afterwards. Would have preferred eating outside on the patio but there were no tables available and we were too hungry to wait! Always enjoy being by the water!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pella, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lousy with flies”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We tried Grandma Dot's at Sanibel Marina. It is an old-time diner, complete with flies! We had to shoo them away from our food. We will not return.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Cove Springs
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Truly disappointed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Since we knew we were a large group (18), we called ahead to check for seating accomodations. Upon talking to the staff, we were advised that we could not make reservations, but that we would be able to come, as long it is was betwee 5-6:00. Eager to reunite with our family for a fun night out at dinner, we were met by the resturant staff with very rude treatment. As we tried to choose the best way to set up the tables so that our party would all be together, they staff argue.d every arrangement we attemtped to make. After several rude comments, crossed arms and dirty stares, we felt that we truly were not wanted as patrons in Gramma Dot's resturant. We finally decided that there are plenty of resturants on the island that would be able to accommodate our party. We were grateful that we found one who went above and beyond to meet our seating needs and provided excellent service, food, atmosphere and amazing prices! It was quite disappointing to deal with this experience on such a pleasant island vacation. While we will never return to Gramma Dots, we are thankful that our bad experience there led us to a new family favorite for years to come

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarkesville, Georgia
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Excellent meal and wonderful views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We selected our seats outside on the patio under an umbrella. We had a nice breeze and they also had a large fan cooling the tables. The food was excellent and the views were better. We had wonderful grouper sandwiches - one fried and one mesquite blackened. It was a truly memorable lunch. Great service too!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gramma Dot's Seaside Saloon also viewed

Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Gramma Dot's Seaside Saloon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gramma Dot's Seaside Saloon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.