We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Chips are Down” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Gramma Dot's Seaside Saloon

Gramma Dot's Seaside Saloon
634 North Yachtsman Drive, Sanibel Island, FL 33957-3912
(239)472-8138
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $1 - $25
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dessert, Dinner, Lunch, Takeout
SANIBEL
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“The Chips are Down”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

I thought I would try them again today; I used to eat here twice a month but stopped because the food quality dropped. Today the Grouper was good but the chips (that used to be the best of the island) were poor at best. A bag of Lays would have been better. The old secret spices for flavoring of those wonderful thin homemade chips is gone, replaced by overcooked thick chips without the secret spice. So sad.
The wait staff are great, the location is delightful GrammaDots is always busy and as I said today's Grouper was good but it will be a while before I go back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

856 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    370
    296
    105
    49
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bonita Springs, Florida, United States
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Try the curried lobster salad”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Small, on the docks and excellent food. The lobster roll and lobster salad were both excellent. The atmosphere surrounded by boats and water provide a great nautical setting for lunch.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest USA
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Pricey, but fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We go to Gramma's everytime we're in Sanibel (about once/year) just because it's fun to see the boats and eat in a fun restaurant with screened windows all around. Service great, food is better than average. You'll have fun.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“surprise find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We were looking for a place to eat and was recommended by someone in the office at out resort
to try Grandma Dot's. It is a small restaurant in the marina on Sanibel Island. We had outside
sitting overlooking the marina. The food was very good as was the service. We went before 4:00
and had the lunch menu. We were surprised to find out that if you came after 4:00 you could
still have the lunch menu by adding just $l.00. This was perfect for us since we like to eat lighter.
The portions were large. I had the coconut shrimp which was very good. We especially liked that
this restaurant was away from the busy main drag on Sanibel and was very relaxing. I would
definitely recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaSalle, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Grandma Dots Restaurant and Marina”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We went for lunch , had to wait but no big deal went around back and bought two beers from the marina store , sat down and watched the boats go by!
I had a chicken sandwich which was very tasty. My husband had the chowder and loved it ! He also had the fish sandwich and was impressed. My fussy daughter had the usual chicken strips but it came with and orchid - which , SHE ATE!!
The sun was shining , lots of activity - a god place to lunch.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gramma Dot's Seaside Saloon also viewed

Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Gramma Dot's Seaside Saloon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gramma Dot's Seaside Saloon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.