We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lighthouse Cafe

Lighthouse Cafe
362 Periwinkle Way, Sanibel Island, FL 33957-7436
239-472-0303
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $15 - $15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

Though we didn't try them all, we thought this was the best breakfast place on the island. Service was great, very friendly and efficient, and we didn't feel rushed. Good menu. the Eggs Benedict were perfect. The atmosphere was nice and conducive to chatting and relaxing, unlike some other places that were noisy, crowded and rushed us. I'd have no hesitation to recommending this place.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

704 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    319
    214
    104
    43
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“WOW FOOD!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

It took 30 min to be seated but it was worth ever second of the wait. A tiny hole in the wall cafe that advertises the best breakfast in Sanibel. That is right! We had Eggs Benedict "lighthouse style" on a croissant, a mixed berry pancake, and a bloody Mary. The Bloody mary's are made with Sake instead of vodka and are so delicious!! I will eat there again if I ever get the chance.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Expensive and Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

We went to Lighthouse Cafe during a previous trip to Sanibel, and it was OK enough that we thought we'd give it another try. It is not the best breakfast in the world; we agree that it is average. Pretty expensive and long wait for not that great of food.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Charles, Virginia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“A Sanibel tradition”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

We returned to Sanibel after a 7 year hiatus. Prior to that we went every year for about 8 years. The Lighthouse Café was a go-to place for breakfast especially since we stayed nearby. Be prepared for a wait in season. The staff is extremely efficient and the food comes quickly. The food is consistently good and the servers are attentive. Coffee cups seldom were empty. You will hear some interesting conversations as tables and booths are close together.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Homestyle Breakfast Out of this World”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

My family and I ate breakfast at this restaurant 3 seperate times on our 5 day trip. The greek scramble was the best thing I have ever had for breakfast and I went home and instantly bought all the ingredients to duplicate this dish. Egg, spinach, mushroom and feta all scrambled together!? Delicious. Most dishes are served with homestyle potatoes and a meat of some sort. The breakfasts remind me of my grandmas homemade breakfasts which certainly wins me over any day of the week, breakfast, lunch OR dinner. Go!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lighthouse Cafe also viewed

Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Lighthouse Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lighthouse Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.