We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Standard breakfast favorites with super friendly service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lighthouse Cafe

Lighthouse Cafe
362 Periwinkle Way, Sanibel Island, FL 33957-7436
239-472-0303
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $15 - $15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout
Boston
Top Contributor
234 reviews 234 reviews
179 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
“Standard breakfast favorites with super friendly service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

Lighthouse Cafe is like an old friend. You can rely on the service and the food to be just as good as you remember. You're not going to get any surprises in either direction here -- really tasty pancakes, nicely cooked omelets, really friendly service. The coffee is not too good. Since our last visit, they started taking credit cards.

Two other really nice parts of going to the Lighthouse Cafe. You can walk to and from this restaurant by way of the beach. Love that. And while you wait (and you will wait -- this place is popular with visitors and locals), there's a string and hook game that occupies a lot of time, and a kitschy gift shop for browsing.

I can't imagine a visit to Sanibel without breakfast at the Lighthouse Cafe.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

704 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    319
    214
    104
    43
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Littleton, Colorado
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good food, Great Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

Lighthouse Café Thanksgiving morning before a stroll on the beach started off the perfect holiday. Not sure I can support the "Worlds Best Breakfast" quote but the food was pretty good. Solid breakfast café fare with an extensive menu offering a wide variety of breakfast and lunch options.
The best part of the experience was the service. With guests patiently filling the parking lot, the staff did a great job of getting everyone in and served efficiently. When the menu looked so good I could not decide the server offered to do a half order of each, to satisfy my curiosity. The kids/teens love the pancakes. The manager was personable and positive. Overall a great family café experience.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inland Northwest, Us
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Ocean frittata to die for!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

We ate here last time we were on Sanibel and decided to try it again. It was packed with a waiting list, but surprisingly we were called sooner than expected. The menu choices are many! I decided on the ocean frittata and was not disappointed. It was great. My husband loved his French toast. Very satisfactory meal.
The staff is amazingly well organized, considering the volume this restaurant does. Friendly and fast! Highly recommend this place for breakfast. It is noisy when it is packed but still a very enjoyable dining experience.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, AZ
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Key Lime Should Be Reserved for Pie”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

Came across this restaurant on a recent visit to friends in Sanibel Island. Boasting “The World’s Best Breakfast,” I had high hopes, and had to try it. It was very busy and quite crowded. We were on a waiting list, but that allowed me to check out the little shop next door. Our name was called, we were greeted with a smile and seated promptly. After a quick perusal of the menu, we decided on the Eggs Benedict, a favorite of mine. The menu did state it had homemade key lime hollandaise sauce, which piqued my curiosity. I mentioned we were going to share it, and the server made sure it was already put on two separate plates, which we appreciated. The potatoes served with it were tasty, albeit a bit greasy. The eggs Benedict looked great. However, that darned key lime hollandaise sauce ruined it in our opinion. The hollandaise on eggs Benedict make or break this dish in my opinion, and sad to say it had a sour, biting taste to it. Look, I like key lime pie. I just don’t think it should have been used in the hollandaise. And so for hubby and me, The Lighthouse Café fell short of having the “World’s Best Breakfast.”

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt Pleasant SC
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A must do!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

Each time we visit Sanibel, The Lighthouse Cafe is a must do! The atmosphere is warm and inviting, the staff is happy and friendly, and the food...delicious! I have my favorites from the menus, but always try something new. Have never been disappointed. For the children, there are many choices. Can't wait till next year!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lighthouse Cafe also viewed

Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Lighthouse Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lighthouse Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.