We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful view excellent food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lighthouse Cafe

Lighthouse Cafe
362 Periwinkle Way, Sanibel Island, FL 33957-7436
239-472-0303
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $15 - $15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout
Buffalo, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful view excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We sat outside under a covered porch and enjoyed an excellent lunch watching the rain. I had tuna on grilled croissant and my husband had a burger . Service was top notch.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

704 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    319
    214
    104
    43
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hartville, Ohio
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Fantastic breakfast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Great for a delicious breakfast after a bike ride to the lighthouse.
Love their potatoes, some of the best I've ever had (crispy with carmelized onions, perfection!).
Prices aren't bad for Sanibel, about twice what you'd pay at a diner at home ;)

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great way too start the date”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

Excellent breakfast at a busy busy place. Owner at the door runs a smooth ship for a busy small place. Servers are always buzzing around getting you what you need. Must be an army in the kitchen because the food flies out. Always a stop for us when in sanibel or even fort Myers!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Not even close to world's best.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

We've been coming to Sanibel for years, but never tried this place. With its claim of "World's best breakfast" and its busy dining room, we decided to give it a shot. While there wasn't anything wrong with the food or the service, it just wasn't exceptional in any way. French toast was okay. Eggs Benedict was okay. Coffee was okay. No kids menu. The place was so crowded that it was hard not to bump into other diners ( still puzzled by its popularity), poorly lit and just looked...old and tired. The prices were high. Wouldn't go back...there are other places on Sanibel that offer much better food and a more enjoyable atmosphere.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Potatoes, Tomatoes or Grits”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

I hear that saying in my head every time I think of the Lighthouse Cafe and then I smile. What a cool place. Great food, nice waitresses, friendly owner and every breakfast come with either, you guessed it, potatoes, tomatoes or grits...heads up though, get there early. they open at 7 am. if you get there after 8 you're gonna wait. it's worth it but if you got to be somewhere you should know. oh, they don't have a slow day either. i know i stayed in a place close by. it's crowded every day and for good reason

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lighthouse Cafe also viewed

Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Lighthouse Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lighthouse Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.