We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Sandbar

The Sandbar
2761 West Gulf Drive, Sanibel Island, FL 33957
+1 239-472-0305
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $5 - $39
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Steakhouse, Oyster Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Since opening in 2013, The Sandbar has become known for its incredibly fresh seafood and choice cuts of beef and pork. We take great pride in having the best service staff on the islands, which has kept us a top 10 TripAdvisor restaurant for 18 consecutive months.
Wolfville, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Location Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

We had a wonderful family celebration here and Rod took great care of us. The food was great although I would not recommend the sirloin steak. The tuna was done to perfection! Of course the main attraction is being able to watch the sunset and enjoy the beach. It was a great show and we took lots of pictures! Thanks for ending our vacation in Florida so well.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    255
    116
    36
    13
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moline, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Best dinner on Sanibel Island this year!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

My salmon was perfectly cooked, and delicious. My husband's shrimp scampi was wonderful, and his caesar salad was crisp and fresh. Service was friendly and prompt. The veggies were also perfectly cooked and seasoned. It was the best dinner we've had on Sanibel this season. It's DEFINITELY worth a visit.
It's also a great value--slightly less costly than some of the larger restaurants.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florahome, FL
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Something different and very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

When we visited, The Sandbar was #3 on tripadvisor for Sanibel Island, so we were expecting something special. It was good, but not spectacular. Quiet, warm and welcoming atmosphere. Service very good. Bisque and chowder both excellent. Boom Boom shrimp a take off on a big chain (Bonefish Grill) appetizer, but very well done and with fresh shrimp instead of farm raised; so I liked it better than the inspiration. Pan seared scallops were not seared enough, just too underdone for my taste (and I like my seafood barely cooked) and the grouper, while tasty, was overdone.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanibel Island
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Okay but not great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

We read all the positive reviews of The Sandbar and decided to try it ourselves. The ambiance was nice but we were disappointed by the food, which is always most important to us. While the bread was terrific - crusty and chewy, service with a dip of olive oil and balsamic vinegar, everything else was a letdown. The cranberry salad was perfectly edible, but the greens were mostly chopped iceberg lettuce and the dressing had too much vinegar.. My wife's spareribs tasted okay, but were overwhelmed by the sauce. Her green beans were overcooked, and the mashed potatoes were over-salted and tasted like they might have come out of a box, with no texture. My seafood stew tasted okay, but it was overcooked and overwhelmed by the mussels, with one small scallop, a few shrimp and not enough rice or broth. We usually take food home but decided to skip it.
'

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best Sandbar to be beached at!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

From the moment the bartender, Laurie/Lori? greeted us, we were at home. From the fabulous Cosmopolitans to the superb and eye-appealing oysters on the half shell and a bowl of the incredible seafood bisque, to the Key Lime Pie…this restaurant was top notch and not only was a pleasant surprise but was a very welcomed unexpected pleasure. The owners were eating at the bar as well and I loved their proud sense of anonymity.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Sandbar also viewed

Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to The Sandbar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sandbar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.