We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous Views” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sanibel Causeway

Sanibel Causeway
Causeway Drive, Sanibel Island, FL
Improve this listing
Type: Scenic Drives, Landmarks
Attraction details
Orange park
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Gorgeous Views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Was a delight to go over, friendly toll booth staff, clean roadway. has a lovely walkway. Cost was a little high

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    179
    80
    23
    7
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooksville, Florida
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
44 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Drive to your beach spot, beautiful views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

Went to one of the island beaches on the Gulf side of the causeway about half way to Sanibel. No charge for parking, like at our Sanibel beaches. Plus you can pull right up to the spot you are going to claim as your base camp. Weekends are crowded. There is a lot going on - fishing, swimming, sailboarding, picnicing and lots of hanging out. Mostly locals. Our dogs love to swim so it was perfect for them. Bridge toll is $6 that is paid when driving onto the causeway. No charge returning.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendall, Florida, United States
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Nice View”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

i always enjoy the view of the water. This was particularly nice - in light of the weather and the location.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Misty Eyes Over Sanibel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

My Husband, my Parents and I have bright eyes as we finally get to the toll booth that is symbol of making our pilgrimage to our annual vacation. We pay our $6 before crossing the Majestic Span A over San Carlos Bay of the three bridges that we have between us and the spectacular 7 nights of bliss that is our respite on Sanibel Island each year. When we hit Span B, we start remembering previous excursions that have occurred at that exact spot. Then Span C (which is really not a Span, but a small bridge) brings us to sheer bliss... we have arrived... to Sanibel. The most wonderful place that our well traveled life has led us to. Fine food, fun, fishing and let's not forget the best part... shelling and an absolute relaxation that we have found nowhere else in the world. Tight lines and good times. And the Misty Eyes show up when we reverse the trip and start with Span C to take us back. That is what Sanibel Island means to us.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Really...$6for one mile?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

The ripoff of toll roads. $2. Is more Fair...... Why can't you can afford to fix your transportation systems, in a fair reasonable government. Small rise in gas tax is how your run a state transportation system. Can you imagine, what it would be like to put toll roads everywhere? Disturbing, organized crime, running everything??
Limits wanting to see more of the area.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sanibel Causeway also viewed

Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Sanibel Causeway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sanibel Causeway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.