We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a delight to cross” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sanibel Causeway

Sanibel Causeway
Causeway Drive, Sanibel Island, FL
Improve this listing
Type: Scenic Drives
Attraction Details
Plano, Texas
Top Contributor
210 reviews 210 reviews
63 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“a delight to cross”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Each time that we drove onto or off of the island, I got the wonderful feeling that we were in a tropical paradise. There is picnicing, fishing and a beach beside the road and overall a beautiful experience.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    64
    15
    7
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
wiltshire
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
59 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Lovely views but expensive toll”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

This is the only way to get to Sanibel and Captiva and will cost you a $6 toll, rather expensive when you consider it was free to cross the seven mile bridge on our way through the Keys!
The views were lovely and the beaches beyond were superb.........

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston, Georgia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Place to picnic and fish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

FREE PARKING makes this a popular place to be on weekends and during the busy season. In the off season you can almost have the place to yourself. The causeway islands are a great place to picnic, shell, fish, or swim. Picnic tables and public restrooms are an added bonus. Hang out and be friendly you might make some new friends.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, NJ
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful View...But Expensive to Cross”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed on Sanibel to be close to our family in Ft. Myers. The $6.00 each time bridge toll was excessive. It's just a causeway bridge. In most places these are free or nominal ($2.00 would be fare). Also, they should offer a weekly pass or something to travelers. I think this fee kind of discourages people from going back & forth which must have an impact on tourism in both locations.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SW Florida
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“I always catch my breath when I reach the top of the causeway bridge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

I have lived in the area now for 18 years and still get a thrill driving the causeway. The panorama from the bridge top is spectacular with the boats, water, little islands, white sand and palm trees. Driving across this causeway, you know you are going somewhere truly different.

Locals often don't go any further than the causeway, packing a picnic and fishing, reading and relaxing on the spoil islands that make the chain to the island. There can be great fishing on these spoil islands and often you can stand under the lower bridges to fish. Lots of Sheepshead, sometimes redfish. I have had a small shark take my line any number of times.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sanibel Causeway also viewed

Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Sanibel Causeway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sanibel Causeway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Sanibel Causeway to your Saves list