We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and oodles of shells” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blind Pass Beach

Blind Pass Beach
San-Cap Road, Sanibel Island, FL 34223
Improve this listing
Attraction details
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Beautiful and oodles of shells”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

The beach is beautiful with its white soft sand and there were layers of shells for miles. We rode our bikes since that is the easiest way to get around and park. You just lock your bike to the bike rack and head to the beach. The water was perfect- 85 degrees and light waves. As with any beach, watch for sand flies and jelly fish. This beach is great for shelling. We gathered several bags worth of many varieties. The best time is low tide.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    159
    84
    32
    11
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Port Orange, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

All beaches on Sanibel are wonderful, just be prepared to pay for parking and be sure to put in enough because you will want to stay longer than you might think and it is a long walk back to add money to the pay and display machine.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurel, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Top Notch Shelling This Year”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

My wife and I are on Sanibel and Captiva once per Summer. The shelling near Redfish Pass, on Upper Captiva, and on Cayo Costa was poor this year (2013). The shelling at Blind Pass, however, was phenomenal. The beach at Blind Pass is beautiful white sand, rarely gets waves above two feet, and the water is warm in June. It's an hour drive from Fort Myers across the causeway ($6) and past the Ding Darling bird sanctuary. There are two parking lots; I don't use them but I think there's usually space.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irwin, Pennsylvania
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great Shelling”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We went to Blind Pass on a tip from our server at one of the restaurants. It didn't disappoint. I have never seen so many shells. There were literally piles of them

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

You can find LOTS of sharks teeth here. To find them it's beat to go to the right side of beach once you get onto sand. The left side was only tiny baby shard teeth and hard to find. On right side if you dig a little into sand and go through the shells you will find so many!!!!!!! Great beach.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blind Pass Beach also viewed

Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Blind Pass Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blind Pass Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.