We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine as long as you know what you are getting ahead of time” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Castaways Beach and Bay Cottages

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Castaways Beach and Bay Cottages to your Saves list
Castaways Beach and Bay Cottages
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   6460 Sanibel-Captiva Rd., Sanibel Island, FL 33957   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 27 Hotels in Sanibel Island
GreenLeadersSilver level
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
509 helpful votes 509 helpful votes
“Fine as long as you know what you are getting ahead of time”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2011

We were only here one night (most guests seem to be here for an extended time frame). Rented cabin #27. Small and cozy but definately dated and not 100% clean (dog hair all over everything and very dated old furniture). But it was nice for the price we paid considering that everything else on the island is super expensive.
Pros: nice location, right next to general store and a couple of great restaurants (try the Mad Hatter across the street, best restaurant on the island.) Beach is perfect to watch sunset, pool area small but clean. Very quiet, we found that most people there were quiet and older and made it very comfortable to enjoy the setting. Hosts are gracious and are there if you need anything during business hours. Sister property Tween waters is available for you to enjoy the pool and activities at, which was nice.
Cons: Dated and old rooms. Furniture has seen better days, and needs to be replaced. Many of our windows didn't open even when we tried. Cabin was worn and dirty and had a old cigarette smell in it.
Overall, I would probably stay here again, for the price we paid it was worth it, and we knew that it wasn't going to be the Ritz going in. As long as you can look beyond and take in the beauty of the island, you will be fine.
Helpful hints: I wolud reccomend that if you do rent a cottage, do not get the one next to the restaurant. Also, if you rent the cottageson the gulf side, know that the road is right out your front door, and people are walking around your cabin getting to/from beach, so there is no privacy. We had the bay side and found it much more quiet, even though we had to cross the road to get to the beach. Parking is a JOKE on the entire island, and if I were to do this trip all over, I would probably have spent the $$ for a room at the South Seas in Captiva, then walked around that town (because you can't drive there and park anywhere for an extended period of time). Then taken a trolley or shuttle to Sanibel to see that town. I know that I will get flack for saying this, but in my opinion, Sanibel and Captiva are too crowded and have very poor planning. There were many cars on the road at all times and no place to park. I can't help to think along with the hundreds of other cars turning around on the road in Captiva that the stores and restaurants are missing an opportunity to take in business because of this problem. Sure you can drive into Captiva and park in the lot of the store, but once you are done at that store, they are clear that you must take your car 20 ft to the next store parking area while you shop there. This is completely absurd. Overall, I don't think we will return to Sanibel, in my opinion Gasparilla Island has this place beat by a mile.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    80
    24
    12
    15
See reviews for
78
88
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Saint Augustine, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2011

I just got back from a 4 night stay in a one bedroom with a kitchen cottage (#19). I was disappointed by the cleanliness of the cottage and the overall upkeep of the hotel. I am not all that squemish, but I wouldn't sit on the sofa without a blanket on it (really dingy) and the shower was small and dark. We met some people who go there every year, and that would be the plus about this place, you actually talk to your neighbors. It was nice, but for the price you pay, I'd stay down at 'tween waters. We spent a lot of time there anyways because of the relationship between the two properties, but we said next time we will just stay there instead. The beach across from Castaways is awesome for shelling. Also, no wifi in room and the "hot spots" don't work.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaftesbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2011

Yes it is a bit rustic but right on the beach. My son bought himself a rod at the general store and immediately caught two catfish. We loved watching the sunset and the pelicans flying across the sun. All of Castaways came out and watched it with us and introduced themselves, so friendly.
We liked eating on Captiva at the Key Lime Bistro and my daughtered liked this beach with the Wave Runners. It was like Rock in Cornwall but with sunshine and friendly people.
The back bedroom was a little noisy but the children were so tired from the sea they just slept through

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wesley Chapel, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2010

If you can tolerate a little rust and a the floors not being spotless, you'll be find. They were charming old one room cottages that had a room added on in the later years. So one room has the kitchen and sitting area and then the bedroom is the addition. We did not stay in the cottage much so it was tolerated. Perfect location between Sanibel and Captiva right at blind pass. The pictures on the internet make them look really cute but they have had some wear on them. The marina is not fully functional so don't be fooled. The pool has been recently been renovated but it was might chilly to go swimming.

The noseeums were a major problem even in the cottage. No bed bugs at this point though.

If you go to Sanibel, don't miss the Ding Darling Wildlife Refugee.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2010

We went this past weekend with another family. Together we had three teenagers. The front staff, Carol, lea and Joan were all very nice, they upgraded us since they had a vacancy and basically made our weekend! I thought the two bedroom was clean and well kept. We brought our own Kayaks and could go right off the beach. Good fishing, they were catching lots of fish right from the beach. It is on the north end of Sanibel so we could ride bikes either north to Captiva or south on Sanibel and it was a lot of fun. Pool was nice and clean, we had a great stay over all! Thanks Carol!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2010

We stayed in cabin #7 which must have been the worst cabin. They said it was "Newly Remodeled", but if this is newly remodeled, I would have hated to see it before! I've seen cleaner walls and doors in an Auto Repair Shop! I can't even describe the smell, you just would have had to have been there. Our first stop was a general store of a can of Lysol & Lysol wipes. The Mad Hatter restaurant was right next door and their dumpster full of garbage was within 10 ft. of the cabin. The window A/C looked like it was ready to fall out of the window and barely kept the cabin at a lukewarm level. The tub/shower was about ready to fall through the floor, you could even see the ground where the caulking was suppose to be! They claim to be a "Green Hotel", but most of their palms were dead or dying and there was trash everywhere (i.e., bottle caps, fish hooks, cigarettes butts, candy wrappers, etc. all over the ground) As much as we love Sanibel, this place was a HUGE disappointment...

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, NE
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2010

A girlfriend and I decided to go for the weekend and stayed one night in cottage #7. Good thing about this cottage was it is right on the beach and you can easily walk to the ocean. However, it is right on the street too, so we listened to cars all night and bottles being dumped in the dumpster from the bar/restaurant next door instead of the ocean waves. The accomodations were very nice, two bedrooms, comfortable beds, full kitchen including blender for mixed drinks, screened porch and nice sandy picnic area behind - so great for kids to run around there and play. But, like I said the noise at night was not appealing. Also, this place was more expensive than the Beachview Cottages taht we stayed at which are owned by the same company. We enjoyed Beachview more. However, I'm sure sunsets at Castaways would be much better than at Beachview because of their location (north). The only reason I wouldn't recommend this hotel to a friend is because I'm there are so many other nice choices (and better). We just stayed here because we booked at last minute and they had one available. The lady in the next cottage though has been going there for 12 years and keeps coming back every year, but she admitted that she never tried anywhere else.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Castaways Beach and Bay Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castaways Beach and Bay Cottages

Address: 6460 Sanibel-Captiva Rd., Sanibel Island, FL 33957
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Sanibel Island
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Sanibel Island
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Sanibel Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Castaways Beach and Bay Cottages 2.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterview cottages, efficiencies, or motel units are surrounded by the Gulf of Mexico and beautiful Sunset Bay. Discover miles of sandy beaches, shelling, fishing, swimming, or just relaxing Island style. The Castaways is a touch of paradise you're sure to remember. World-class shelling and bird-watching. Great fishing from our private docks or in the Gulf of Mexico.Marina with canoe,kayak and bicycle rentals, charter captains, bait and other sundry items.Three restaurants and general store within walking distance. Heated swimming pool. Pet-friendly units available for guests who want their 4-footed friends to enjoy a true family vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Venere, T4B and Odigeo so you can book your Castaways Beach and Bay Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castaways Beach And Bay Cottages Hotel Sanibel Island
Castaways Beach And Bay Hotel
Castaways Beach And Bay Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castaways Beach and Bay Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.