We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxation at its best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beachview Cottages

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Beachview Cottages to your Saves list
Beachview Cottages
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   3325 W. Gulf Dr., Sanibel Island, FL 33957   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 27 Hotels in Sanibel Island
Certificate of Excellence 2014
FORT WORTH, TEXAS
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Relaxation at its best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We stayed 5 nights in the Sea Urchin cabin #14, it was wonderful, no elevators or building to enter just walk off the beach and your home. The beach had great shells and we even visited all the other beaches on the island and came back to ours as it was the best. Every cabin had a peek at the ocean from your screened porch. The office staff and maintenance guy were very friendly which makes your vacation so much better. We found that the grocery stores on the island were just as expensive as any grocery store, so get your groceries when you get there. They rent bikes at the cottages for 6$ an hour so if you just want to ride a little this is the way to go. We met so many people that had been staying at Beachview for years and they keep coming back, A very important note is to bring your bug spray the "no see ums" are very bad, a couple of people said to get Skin so soft by Avon as it works the best. We bought a beach umbrella to use but discovered the cottages have chairs and umbrellas you can borrow, we left ours there for others to use. It was a truly wonderful, quaint piece of paradise and we can't wait to return someday.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    68
    17
    12
    8
See reviews for
71
113
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We stayed 2 nights in cottage #14. Even though it was the middle unit in a tri-plex, it was very quiet. The screened in porch was a nice bonus, as well as the full kitchen. Sanibel is already very expensive, so this property seemed like a good value for the amenities. Great beach walking and shelling just a few seconds from your front door! You have to like dogs though, they were at most of the units.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

From the first step of making our reservation with Bill, a charming accommodating employee, to the warm welcome as soon as we step into our cottage. it was a home away from home steps from the beach- which we enjoyed beautiful horizons and relaxing by the calm waters during the day. I recommend a visit. What a great spot:)Thank you Bill for making this trip so Perfect:)

Room Tip: Book early:)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

My wife and I have stayed in quite a few "beach" places and we also live in the Fort Myers area. The cottages at Beachview are what I call old Florida. Quaint, clean and always a little sand on the floor. This is for the person(s) who's looking for a quiet getaway with a beach in the backyard. Admittedly, our last stay there was almost a year ago but going back is always on our minds. I love to fish, and the beach there is teaming with things to bend a rod. We also loved the small screened in porch for viewing the sunset and the grill was lit almost every night. Hoping to get back to the "little yellow cottage" soon.

Room Tip: There are stand alone cottages and "duplex" units. Go for a stand alone if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

This was our first time in Sanibel and we enjoyed it so much. Quiet, laid-back and plenty to do to entertain yourself. We were close to everything and you could ride a bike anywhere you wanted to go. No hills. We will definitely return but may fly this time as the trip was long from TX.

Room Tip: We were in cabin 2 which was freshly painted and furniture redone. We had a nice view of the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kissimmee, Florida, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

this was our second trip here and we just love it. stayed in cottage one right on the beach it was great we will be returning love the laid back no frills style.... only con this time...a few unfriendly guests. but others were great !

Room Tip: just a laid back no frills places place if your looking for perfection stay at the other resorts on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

We have visited Beachview off and on for over 40 years. It was not new when we started, and even though the owners have tried to make improvements, it is still a worn out property. The cottages have been updated, but still have a shabby feel to them. We have stayed in almost all of the rooms at one time or another. Some are better than others but none are great. Kitchen ware is sparse at best, and what's there is usually in only fair condition. The bathroom fixtures are dated. In recent visits, the air conditioning and heating units have been upgraded. In some units, the heat never worked and the cooling units were extremely noisy and ran 24 hours a day just to keep the inside at 78 to 80 degrees.

The management staff, however, are top notch. Lisa and Bob go out of their way to make guests feel at home. New top level management has recently changed and seem to think that the rooms are worth more than they actually are and are charging rates that are equal to much better places on the island.

The "on-the-beach" location is nice, but not good enough to warrant nearly $300 per day - even on Sanibel! We won't be returning.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Beachview Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachview Cottages

Address: 3325 W. Gulf Dr., Sanibel Island, FL 33957
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Sanibel Island
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Sanibel Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Beachview Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Beachview Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beachview Cottages Hotel Sanibel Island
Beachview Hotel Sanibel Island
Beachview Resort Sanibel Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beachview Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.