We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute and colorful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Beachview Cottages

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sanibel Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Beachview Cottages
Save Saved
You added Beachview Cottages to your Saves list
3325 W. Gulf Dr., Sanibel Island, FL 33957   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 27 hotels in Sanibel Island
Vashon, Washington
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Cute and colorful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

I love the tropical colored cottages! Each one has it's own personality. Great screened porches, mid century feel, and steps to the best beach on Sanibel (in front of West Gulf Drive). A great pet-friendly place to vacation. And very reasonable by Sanibel standards

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    124
    60
    15
    10
    8
See reviews for
63
101
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lake Mary, Florida
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

This place is a slice of old Florida Heaven. The cottages are well equipped and steps from the beach. We come because they are dog friendly and everyone has them. Each unit has a charcoal grill and screened porch. The staff is nice, no maids, but you leave dirty towels on the porch and the replace with a bag of fresh ones each morning. Great location close to everything and really good fishing and shelling. Every morning we saw dolphins on our beach walk, then I would spend most of the day floating in the calm water.
Remember nothing is flashy, but everything is good. This is my favorite place on the island.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Well managed and maintained. Exceptionally competitive rates. Personable, efficient staff: kudos to Bob, Lisa, and Dilya! Clean and quite cottages with basic household amenities. It's on the beach with shells, shells, shells galore in both directions. Stayed in Unit 20 and will request it when we return. Comfortable queen bed. A 3 - 5 minute, quick bike ride to restaurants and shops if you want/need some variety. Free bikes and absolutely superb bike trails through various nature areas. Excellent, high speed wireless internet. Pet friendly. A large percentage of guests return frequently and are greeted as old friends.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plantation, Florida, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

I had an amazing time at Beachview Cottages! This was hopefully the first of many return trips to this location. The cottage is simple and has everything you would need. (Just bring papertowels, bug spray, charcoal/lighter fluid) I stayed in cottage #7 and the bed was comfortable. We stopped at Jerry's Supermarket and got all of our food/alcohol on the way to check-in.
You are walking distance from the beach and the beautiful sunsets in the evening. Unit #7 was on the second level which gives a nice view of the property. There are charcoal grills in front of each cottage and a propane gas grill by the office that is shared. They are pet friendly and there were many different dogs enjoying a dip in the ocean and hanging out on the screened in patios. You can put out your towels by the front door in the morning and they will be replaced with fresh towels, daily. I loved going onto the dock at night and looking at the thousands of stars you cannot see in the city. Amazing!
I go to Sanibel to disconnect from the hustle and bustle of South Florida, so I am not looking for luxury. I want simple and serene and this fits the bill, perfectly!
I even had a Fedex package delivered to Beachview and Lisa kindly signed for it and left it on my patio while I was at the beach. Everyone was very friendly and I look forward to coming back!

Room Tip: Cottage #7 has an elevated room view and is perfect for a couple!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

My husband, 2 cats, & I have been coming here for years. It is absolute paradise! As native Floridians, we love to see Florida in its beautiful, natural setting while staying in an "old Florida" (translation: not a slick high-rise) setting. The cottages are well maintained and nicely appointed. The staff is always friendly and helpful, and our cottage is always very clean and welcoming when we arrive. The grounds are clean and charming. We have seen several different types of woodpeckers on the property, as well as a few gopher tortoises crossing the sands. We look forward to returning again & again & love seeing Lisa, Bob, and Dilya! We have stayed at a few other places in Sanibel (prior to finding Beachview Cottages & also once when there were no rooms available at Beachview) and there is simply no comparison in terms of location, amenities, charm, and service.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goodland, Florida, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

My husband & I have been staying @ Beachview Cottages for over 20 years- way before Tween Waters bought them, and it is still our very favorite place to vacation after all these years! No hassles- just beautiful beach and sun. The staff is always friendly and outgoing, wanting to please. The cottages are just that- cottages- and a few household ammenities are provided- pots, pans, dishes,etc. Bring your own food and any special utensils you "just have to have" from home. Grills are provided. Bikes are available, and there are wonderful places to bike to- Ding Darling wildlife areas, beaches,-the whole island is bike friendly with wide bike paths everywhere. Beachview is "dog friendly" and it was quite the show the 2 weeks we were there! A Bloodhound, doxies, Corgis,beagle, ShiTzu,and labradors along with Chihuahuas and
pomeranians!! Loove this place, the convenience,and the BEACH just minutes away! We will be back!!

Room Tip: Book early for a good selection of rooms,
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Spent 5 days here awhile back, was originally booked for 3 days but had such a good time extended it. When you think beach cottage this is exactly it!! Why stay in a condo and be isolated when you can have a true beach experience. Our cottage was about a 1 minute walk to the beach tops from door to sand. Great kitchen and all utensils provided, needed an extra frying pan and they brought it right down. We too brought all our food and drink with us before getting on the island and never left the property no need to. Our 2 chihuas loved the screened in porch and the fact they could also be on the beach legally, Sanibel is very dog friendly. While some of the cottages could use a little updating, that is part of the beach cottage charm. Lovely quiet part of the island. A vacation that will be hard to top and will be back again soon..

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beachview Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachview Cottages

Address: 3325 W. Gulf Dr., Sanibel Island, FL 33957
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Sanibel Island
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Sanibel Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Also Known As:
Beachview Cottages Hotel Sanibel Island
Beachview Hotel Sanibel Island
Beachview Resort Sanibel Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beachview Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.