We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Shells of Sanibel

Save Saved
You added Sea Shells of Sanibel to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sea Shells of Sanibel
2840 W. Gulf Dr., Sanibel Island, FL 33957   |  
Hotel amenities
milwaukie
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Where to start....the walk to the beach from bldg 5 is way too long, much longer than site explains, its over 500 ft to road, where then its another 500ft down to the trail to the beach, which is another good 500 ft to the beach. That long trip to sand is way too much for a family with kids and all the stuff you take with you and they do not provide wagons etc for you to haul stuff with. The pool is very nice but not screened in and the bugs eat you alive in the late afternoon/evening. Our unit said updated but that must have meant the new television, because the guest room had wallpaper that was small floral and reminded me of a grandmothers room. The kitchen cabinets were 40 yrs old and the appliances were very old too and the dishwasher only worked part of the time. The fixtures in the bathroom were just plain old. The furniture was so uncomfortable that I had a back ache. The screened-in porch was a joke, it was long and narrow, if you sat on a chair, your knees hit the railing. I guess I should have known better, you get what you pay for. The lower price was not worth it, paying for a bit more at a beach side unit would have saved two trips a day in the car to get to a closer beach.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    22
    15
    6
    1
    3
See reviews for
20
10
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sicklerville Nj
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Sea Shells from 9/8/12 - 9/15/12 and stayed in Unit 22. THe condo was clean and stock with bed linens and towels.The kitchen although dated had new appliances. The plates, cutlery, and glassware were a bit mismatched but usable. The unit contained one Queen bed in the master bedroom and two twins in the other bedroom. There are no washer/dyers in the unit itself but are available in the office building.
The complex was clean, well marked with access to a computer and washers/dryers 24/7. We used the pool several times during our stays and it was great. If you want to go to the beach you will have about a 5 minute walk from the complex. It take a little looking to find the path that you are allowed to use but its not bad at all. There are two newer Weber grills available for everyones use behind the office complex. The grills were clean and full of gas and we used the grill three times during our stay. All in all a very nice place to stay and we will stay here again.

Room Tip: Unit 22 is the closest to the pool, grills, and office.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aldan, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

This unit must be infested with no see um bugs, each member in my family has over sixty bites on our entire bodies. we went to the everglades and didn't get bite once. Now we are home with bite marks all over our legs, arms, etc...

Also on the kitchen counter near the microwave you cannot place food down and leave the room for a minute, bugs will be on it when you return.

I'm thinking a good exterminator would help.

  • Liked — Beach
  • Disliked — The bugs
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONDON
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012 via mobile

We've been travelling around Florida for 3 weeks and this has been an amazing stay. We found this apartment (number 5) on Owners Direct. We'd tried various places but they were either booked or ridiculously expensive.

I thought we might have got a dodgy place but how wrong? Sea Shells doesnt look much from the outside but it is steps from the beach, has a tennis court, shuttle board, pool, bike rentals. Our unit #5 was beautifully decorated and well equipped with everything we could need.

I can't speak for the other places but here's the owners details so you can find out availability and pricing. jbfalvey@aol.com

If you do visit, go to Captiva and try the Captiva Cruise - we went this evening and saw manatees (mother and baby) in the marina and then had a family of dolphins swim alongside the boat. AMAZING!!

Also get sun cream with insect repellent as I've been bitten by mosquitoes and these noseeums (day and night).

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaconsfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights in April 2012. The condo had plenty of space but the whole layout was dated and tired. The carpet (advertised as new in 1999!) was shag pile and the colour (to be very kind) was 'brown'. In the bathroom the worn towels once removed from their rack brought the whole rack down with them leaving gaping holes in the stud wall where they were once fixed. The patio doors were so ancient that it required real physical effort to slide them open. When trying to lock them at night when you fixed one end the other burst open and vice versa. The communial pool was also dated and with insufficient shade and horrible plastic slatted sun loungers. This facility is overpriced and we would not stay here again although we love Sanibel and plan to return.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

My family of 4 stayed here for a week during spring break. The complex is on the inland side of West Gulf Dr, which is a quieter residential section of Sanibel. If you must be gulf-front you won't be happy here, but if you don't mind walking 5 minutes to the beach you can save $1,000 a week or more by staying here. Each unit is individually owned and decorated, so you'll want to check out the pictures of individual units if the decor matters to you. We rented directly through the owner on VRBO and had plenty of pictures to view. As others have noted, unit 1 is right off West Gulf and thus, closest walk to beach access. Our unit 43 is in the very last building. The walk through the complex is actually longer than the walk down the street to the access. It's not too far, and each unit seemed to come with a beach cart for hauling gear. The complex was nice and quiet, with a mix of retirees that lived there and families staying for a short while. There is a small pool (very clean) with umbrella tables, lounge chairs, and pool noodles, small clubhouse with books, magazines, laundry room, and baths next to the pool. there is also a patio with brand-new grills, shuffleboard, and more tables and chairs behind the pool area. The pool is located mid-way in the complex. Tennis courts are at the far end. Racquets and tennis balls are provided in the clubhouse. The staff we saw is there during day hours and was very pleasant. Each unit has a small screened balcony overlooking the parking lot. Both sides of the complex are surrounded by green space, trees, and tropical plants. It was a nice change of pace from the big condo resorts I've stayed at before, and much cheaper. We'll be back again next year.

Room Tip: Lower number units are closest walk to beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Ledge, Michigan
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

We stayed here during spring break and thought that the price was very reasonable given the time period. The rooms were somewhat small (we had five people in our group), but it's not like we spent a lot of time inside! The beds were comfortable, but the extra cot was not. It was very clean and had all of the amenities we needed. I loved how close it was to the beach. You do have a short walk (less than 5 minutes for an average person), but once you got there, the beach was not crowded. I suppose if you are travelling with young children and needed to carry more than a bag to the beach, it may not be as convenient. The staff was very nice and I enjoyed being able to rent bikes on the property. It's easy to find and easy to travel around the island (and Captiva, as well). This was my first trip to Sanibel and I would stay at Sea Shells again!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sea Shells of Sanibel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Shells of Sanibel

Address: 2840 W. Gulf Dr., Sanibel Island, FL 33957
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 30 Specialty lodging in Sanibel Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Sea Shells of Sanibel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Shells Of Sanibel Hotel Sanibel Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea Shells of Sanibel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;