We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Experience at Sea Shells” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Shells of Sanibel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Sea Shells of Sanibel to your Saves list
Sea Shells of Sanibel
2840 W. Gulf Dr., Sanibel Island, FL 33957   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Special Sale!
Ripley, WV
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience at Sea Shells”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

Our family stayed here at Sea Shells in May 2011. The pool, shuffleboard, and tennis courts were well maintained--the whole property was in perfect order. When we came in, the screen door to the unit was broken. Management had someone down within the hour to fix it and we had no other problems the rest of the time we were there.
We stayed in Unit #2, which is a ground floor unit, closest to West Gulf Drive. The unit was well apportioned as we never lacked for utensils, plates, towels, etc. Of all the units it has one of the shortest walks to the beach. The only draw back to the place was, as we have two small children, the glass coffee tables, glass dining room table, and folding doors which aren't good for little fingers. Although we worried some, we had no troubles with them. Additionally, the wireless internet seemed to have weak signals in random spots in the condo. The screened in porches were perfect places to keep beach toys, towels, etc. in a safe place (away from wind and the like). The covered parking space was much appreciated in the late afternoon.
As the property is not gulf front, one must take a short stroll up West Gulf and walk across the street to a private path. This path is tree covered and during the early morning and late evening it was a haven for bugs. We remedied this by using some bug spray--but be careful!
The location of Sea Shells is nearly perfect. You are away from "downtown" (if there is such a thing) and yet just a quick drive or bike ride away from everything on the West end of Periwinkle. The beach in this area was largely deserted and provided some nice shelling (although, you'll find the best shells at Blind Pass). The weather in May was perfect as well--nice and warm, but not to hot, during the day, quick shower each night--very comfortable.
We are very likely to stay at Sea Shells again. Although we are beach people, the walk wasn't that bad and certainly the prices can't be beat.

Room Tip: lower numbered units are closest to the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    18
    8
    1
    6
See reviews for
28
12
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2011

For us Sea Shells was a mixed bag. First the good--the unit, pool and grounds were impeccably clean. The pool was clean and the water a perfect temperature. The unit's kitchen was stocked better than any place we've ever stayed--plenty of glassware, baking dishes, blender, pans, etc. All the applicances worked well. Would have been nice to have a stopper for the kitchen sink. There were plenty of beach toys and chairs. My kids were delighted by a huge dragon kite. Lots of books, games puzzles and movies. We arrived early evening on a Saturday and had to let ourselves in. The sliding door in the unit was broken so that we didn't feel very secure and the screen porch facing north had dingy worn screen making a poor first impression. Bathrooms were clean, but worn looking without shelving to store toiletries--there were wire shelves but the wire not close enough together to hold anything. The bed in the master bedroom was so soft we woke with backaches every morning. The rollaway was not a standard size--only appropriate for a small child, we intentially picked that unit for the rollaway--planning that our adult son could use it--much too small and the poor guy got stuck with the thin mattress on the sofa bed. We prepared all our dinners in our unit and were sad that there was not a deck or screened area that we could enjoy outdoor eatting. Management says you can rent bikes, but they are not open on Sundays (most people seem to arrive later on Saturday) Thank goodness for the very charming guests that were so helpful in orientating us to the island. I was surprised that staff never checked during the week if we needed anything. We NEVER had any contact with management. Unfortunately we left a library book in the unit. I called when we returned home because we have friends that live in condos across the street that would have picked up the book. We were told that they couldn't check until the current guests checked out. We looked at the calendar and several groups checked in and out and management couldn't seem to look for the book until three weeks later when they were reminded again--then they just went in and checked the bookshelf and said they couldn't do more looking because there were guests in the unit--wow, thanks, it wouldn't have been in the bookshelf of owner books AND there was plenty of opportunity to check after guests had checked out. . So thanks to the management, I have to pay both for the book and the overdue fines. I should have realized that management wouldn't give the issue much attention. I had sent three emails requesting information on the unit before our arrival, the only response I ever got back was that payment was due.

We do love Sanibel. It is very family friendly. We also found the mix of people at Seashells to be delightful. All generations talking, enjoying and sharing information. Children could have fun and make a little noise and all was good.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2011

My husband and I traveled to Sanibel Island with our 5-year-old granddaughter and stayed in Unit 11. We found the condo to be clean and perfect for our needs from the screened balcony, full kitchen, comfortable furniture, flat screen TV's to the child-friendly board games. The condo community was quiet and in a more secluded part of the island. It was only about a 4 or 5-minute walk from the beach. The owners had a wagon full of kids toys along with beach chairs and a beach umbrella to take back and forth to the beach. There are larger and smaller units and we rented a smaller unit but never felt cramped. We rented bicycles which were delivered to the condo and rarely drove anywhere. The pool was sparkling and warm. We definitely plan to go back again and recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2010

We are a family of 5 and were surprised by this little community in Sanibel. From the time we got in to the condo we felt as we do at home, the unit had new flat screen tvs, a full kitchen with more than enough table ware as well as tupperware and pots and pans. The linen closet was packed with beach towels and bath towels, we had beach chairs, umbrellas, beach toys and even a rolling cooler. We literally could have gotten away with just bring our clothes, the unit it self was very clean and newly decorated, no sign of rust or stains anywhere. If there was a negative, it was the fact that we didn't have a BBQ utensil set, no biggie.
It is a short walk (approx 10 mins) to the beach, that is door to sand well worth the money we paid. Sanibel Island on the other hand was a little boring for our taste, the island was beautiful but not enough to do, if you are looking to only go to the beach then this is your place, other than that you can get around in bikes or get a bite to eat at many restaurants by the property. Food was a little over-priced every where, both at restaurants as well as at the local super market. We took a dolphin cruise which was fun and inexpensive, we got to see about a dozen dolphin in this hour and a half trip, we also went to the sea shell museum, which was fun for the kids. We also went one afternoon to the light house and enjoyed the evening with the kids walking in the surf. Overall the Sanibel was alright but its more for a long weekend than for a week long trip.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2010

WOW!
we stayed nov 2009- dec 2009 (over thanksgiving) in the seashells condos of sanibel

We stayed in unit#40 and had an amazing time.

The unit was superbly furnished and kitted out. Laura and I had such an amazing time that we got engaged on the beach on just the 3rd day of our stay. Thankyou so much.

We would love to stay again.

Samuel and Laura x

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2010

We had a wonderful stay in Unit 14 at Sea Shells of Sanibel. The condo was very comfortable, clean and had every thing we could have needed. The complex is across the street from the beach, but it is a very easy short walk. I'd rather have the short walk and pay less money at Sea Shells than pay more money for "beach front property" and still have to walk to the beach! The pool is absolutely wonderful - large and warm. The pool deck is new and beautiful - that is why the pool was closed in Sept. 2009 for two weeks. (One of the following reviews complains about the pool being closed.)
Some of the condos at this complex are managed by the individual owners and are not kept up like the units that are under the rental association. I dealt with an individual owner for all the details and pricing and when I actually made my reservation, I was told to call the rental agent. Just be sure that when you are talking to an owner that they have the rental office actually manage their condo.
Sea Shells of Sanibel is a very good value for the money and I recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2009

This would be our 3rd year at Sea Shells of Sanibel. We stayed in Unit 2 the last 2 years and decided against that for the reasons in my last review of this complex. We made a relatively last-minute reservation (in August) for Unit #1 this time with extended family. Upon our arrival, we discovered the pool was closed 'until further notice' which, frankly, really made me angry considering we chose this over another place without a pool. We were later told we could use a pool elsewhere but it was too far of a walk with a child so we passed.

The unit itself was well stocked with the necessities. The upstairs, unfortunately, was unbearably hot. It was so bad the first night we considered leaving and going elsewhere. The owners did have a really great notebook left in the condo with suggestions for everything from restaurants to how to deal wtih the upstairs temperatures. Their suggestions helped somewhat, but it was still very warm. MY suggestion would be for some thermal drapes in those windows where the sun beats all day long. it would have helped tremendously.

It is a nice complex with a short walk to the beach for a nice price. It is, unfortunately, not as nice to get unpleasant surprises like a closed pool or the kind we got last year upon departing the other unit.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sea Shells of Sanibel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Shells of Sanibel

Address: 2840 W. Gulf Dr., Sanibel Island, FL 33957
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Sanibel Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Sea Shells of Sanibel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Shells Of Sanibel Hotel Sanibel Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea Shells of Sanibel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.