We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace & Quiet - Great for Shelling!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bowman's Beach

Bowman's Beach
Sanibel Island, FL
Improve this listing
Attraction details
Bellingham, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Peace & Quiet - Great for Shelling!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

I love this beach - it's hardly every crowded and is a great place for shelling in the morning. Got some great ones last time. Paid parking.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,083 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    595
    330
    121
    22
    15
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ephrata, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“great place for shelling”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

we loved this beach, shells galore and nice picnic area under shade trees. nice shower & bath house to wash your sand off before heading home.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Best shells we got on the island!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

We were staying at the Holiday Inn and didn't find many conch shells on that beach. We heard good things about Bowman's beach and tried it here. There were so many. You can't just look for them in the sand. You actually need to get into the water with a net and aqua shoes. I'm not saying go deep. When tide comes in you will get water up to your thighs. That's where all the shells are. We got so many but couldn't keep them all. Water was cold in January but you get used to it.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Dolphins playing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

We love this beach area. If you like to look at shells this is a great place for a walk. The beach is wide and sandy with lots of room for everyone. We sat and watched the dolphins swim back and forth in front of us while they ate their lunch. The water was too cool for swimming but enjoyable for dipping your toes in and feeling the ocean type breeze. Washrooms are close, parking is easy. Only issue is getting on and off the island. Allow for extra time. We went on Sunday just as people were going to church and got caught in traffic. Plan your trip on off peak travel times and you are good to go. $6 to get onto the island.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Nice Facilities - Not a lot of shells”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

We liked the ample parking and the walk to the beach. Great facilities for showering and changing clothes. Not many shells in the beach though.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bowman's Beach also viewed

Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Bowman's Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bowman's Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.