We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Secluded Beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bowman's Beach

Bowman's Beach
Sanibel Island, FL
Improve this listing
Attraction details
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Secluded Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We stayed at Blind Pass Condos right at Bowman's beach. Very private, secluded, clean location. Shelling was outstanding...great get away from the crowds.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,084 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    595
    331
    121
    22
    15
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Coral, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Our favorite beach on Sanibel.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

It is a bit further of a drive than the lighthouse, but the shelling here is excellent, restrooms were clean. We have not been here for sunset, but since it is western most point on island it is probably very nice. We also like it because it is located in a secluded nature area with no visible housing/hotels around. Be careful going on the weekend in season, as the traffic on Sanibel is horrendous and it could take you hours to get on or off the island, also, all the beaches have paid parking, think it was about 2$ an hour or so, not to bad.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hartford, Ct
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Visited on March 1 and spent a couple hours shelling - while trying to avoid the dead fish that littered the beach. Did find some shells, but none of the more unique ones we were hoping to find. The smell (from the fish?) was very unpleasant. Traffic leaving the island was horrid, and we sat in stop and go traffic for quite a while before we were able to gett off island.

Plan on paying for parking $2/hour, which is firmly monitored.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kommern Germany
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“worth the walk”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

worth the short trek to get there. beautiful setting in nature preserve, didn't wait for sunset, but it must be the perfect spot. very far west on the island, just before reaching Captiva.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Seashells, seashells!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

My husband and I visited the end of February. It wasn't a hot day, but excellent for a drive and explore. It was packed with tourists on the drive in and out, so count on that adding to any travel time if you are needing to be somewhere else at a certain time. We decided on Bowman's Beach because of the very helpful advice from the lady at the information center. We like to have a few seashells from any beach we visit. This beach is loaded. Literally. Plan for the parking fee of $2/hr. We could only spend an hour and it is monitored, violators being fined. I will also add that just the drive out is totally awesome along the causeway. You also have the option of parking in areas along there to fish or enjoy the sandy beach areas.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bowman's Beach also viewed

Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Bowman's Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bowman's Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.