We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sand Pointe Condominiums

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sanibel Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sand Pointe Condominiums
Save
You added Sand Pointe Condominiums to your Saves list
2737 West Gulf Drive, Sanibel Island, FL 33957   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 27 Hotels in Sanibel Island
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

We had a great time exploring Sanibel Island and the condo made it feel just like home. We loved having a kitchen to cook meals in so we didn't need to go out every day. Our condo faced the ocean and it was absolutely beautiful. The owners of our unit allowed us to use their home along with their belongings like beach chairs and floaties. We loved walking on the beach although it was very shelly and you had to watch your step. The water was beautiful, blue, warm and clear. We watched many people fishing right from shore and it was exciting to see people catching such large salt water fish! It was a great, relaxing vacation and I can't wait to go back :)

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dover NH
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

The most recent trip to Sanibel Island included a return stay at Sand Pointe. This reservation for a third floor end unit #131 was secured through VRBO and administered by Royal Shell. The rate for a Saturday to Saturday stay was more than fair considering it was Easter week. It's easy to use Royal Shell's reservation site and they do provide competitive rates and great service, but there are times when direct contact with the owners through VRBO result in significant savings. The average rate for a rental of this quality during Easter week was in the low to mid $2K range. Sand Pointe #131's total cost through VRBO, with Florida tax, was under $1300 for a high season week stay...an absolute bargain.
This Sanibel trip was our 11th and have never been disappointed in any prior accommodations. I always look to reserve the best value, Gulf front only. There's loyalty to certain hotels and vacation rentals but second to location, price is so important.
Sand Pointe is one my preferred properties and I'll always check the availability and rates for our annual April visit to the Island. I highly recommend this complex, this unit.

On the downside, there has been a notable slip of quality with the bikes that are available for rent. The expensive hybrid bikes are no exception. The single speed cruisers are an embarrassment. Sanibel is ripe for a new bicycle rental agency that feature quality, top-end rides.

Room Tip: Look for top floor end units, usually more quiet, more window light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunbarton, New Hampshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

As someone previously mentioned - it's all about which unit you get. This is out 4th time at Sand Pointe (SP) and our first stay in Unit #113. Some owners just love to make their units very warm, cozy and colorful, Others are just very clean and basic (as is #113). The unit had sparse amenities compared to what we were used to w other units we've rented at SP. Let me start with the good: very clean, newer living room furniture, comfortable master bedroom bed, lots of extra towels!! Wish it would have: had a screen door, better utensils, better kitchen ware, a TV in the second bedroom, use of beach chairs, umbrella (we had to rent these at Billy's), cooler, pool toys. Also, this is the first time I had to call the rental agency about some issues in the unit: loose handle on front door, loose cabinet front on trash cabinet, some missing light bulbs in living room and bedroom lamps (I had to purchase bulbs), broken vertical blinds in living room, bedroom fan was un-usable since it was missing a screw and was grinding (ugh). I felt I had to call about these issues since I did not want to be responsible for problems that were there when we arrived. The rental agency was great - they sent someone out within a couple hours and all repairs were made and no questions asked. Overall, it's what you make of it. It's not like we spend a lot of time in the room when we are in Sanibel. The room was clean, basic, color-free - but it served it's purpose and we were grateful to have found a room at SP.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

We enjoyed a week at Sand Pointe. We stayed in a third floor unit in the back building that faces straight out at the ocean. We like the vaulted ceilings available with the top floor. We were hesitant to be set back but were pleasantly surprised with the view. The only night we couldn't hear the ocean was our first evening when the bullfrogs in the lagoon were in full chorus. Thankfully they only were loud the first night, don't know if an alligator came along and had some cuisses de grenouille but we enjoyed the sounds of the surf the rest of the week. Our unit had been entirely renovated and was well stocked with beach gear, towels, kitchen utensils and was very clean. We enjoyed a big storm one day with huge winds and rains and the grounds crew had everything clean up and straighten first thing the next morning. A family friendly environment, the pool was just big enough for the kids to play. Plenty of beach area for everyone, parking in the shade under the buildings and bike racks. Sanibel is a very special place and this was a good home base to enjoy the island. Bring or rent bikes it is the best way to get around the island.

Room Tip: Go for the 3rd floor, our unit had vaulted ceilings giving a nice open feel. We used VRBO to find ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aiken, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

Sand Pointe unit 117 was a last minute rental for us. I was worried the online pictures wouldn't accurately portray the place, and we had never been to Sanibel before. We were pleasantly surprised at what a perfect place this is!! Condo is clean with many updates! Decor is tasteful. Condo is in the best location.......oceanfront, so you can sit on the screened porch/lanai? And relax, or the steps to go down to parking are right there. Also at the bottom of the steps is the pool, and walkway to the beach. Location is superb! Condo property is very nice, clean and quiet. There seemed to be a good mix of adult couples and families with children. Everyone was very friendly. Pool is small and busy, but no problems getting chairs or swimming. Nice restaurant , The Sand Bar, next door. Lots of shells on the beach, great views on the beach at sunset, and location on the island seems very central. Beach in front was never crowded. Condo itself was had a well stocked kitchen, linens, beach chairs, pool toys, games, movies, books, etc.! Condo sleeps 6, and was very spacious for 4. Highly recommend!!

Room Tip: Unit 117 is ocean view, convenient to pool, parking, and beach access!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

The condos are located just past the busy part of the road and beach. There is a good restaurant right next door (SandBar). The quality of the rooms vary a great deal. This was our third time staying here and our condo has not been updated or renovated for some time. However, the previous times we stayed, we had a much better condo that was more up to date. The pool is nice and the beach is beautiful. We will stay here again but be more wary of the room we rent. We noticed that different companies represent the owners and the company we used before had access to better condos. I don't think I can mention the firm here though.

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

I stayed in unit 226 was very clean! Two room condo queen room faced the ocean the other bedroom was a double single two full baths full kit. Dining family room also had beach view deck faced the beach had queen Fam room entry

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sand Pointe Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sand Pointe Condominiums

Address: 2737 West Gulf Drive, Sanibel Island, FL 33957
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 27 Hotels in Sanibel Island
Number of rooms: 308
Also Known As:
Sand Pointe Condominiums Hotel Sanibel Island
Sand Pointe Condominiums Sanibel Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sand Pointe Condominiums, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.