We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“tranquil and relaxing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Seahorse Cottages

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sanibel Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Seahorse Cottages
Save Saved
You added Seahorse Cottages to your Saves list
1223 Buttonwood Lane, Sanibel Island, FL 33957   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 27 Hotels in Sanibel Island
florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“tranquil and relaxing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Our stay at that seahorse cottages was very relaxing. Our cottage was clean and very well kept, the kitchen was perfect and it had all the necessary pots, utensils and electric item for your use. They have bikes, buggy for you personal use.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sblinnkeeper, Owner at Seahorse Cottages, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
We want to thank you for taking the time to let us and others know that we accomplished our goals and provided you with a peaceful, relaxing getaway at Seahorse Cottages on Sanibel Island. We try to make sure we provide our guests with all they need to enjoy themselves while on our property. We are happy you found the bikes and wagons (buggy) helpful while spending time on the beach, and the kitchen fully equipped to meet your needs. We look forward to your return visit soon! Best wishes and thank you for choosing Seahorse Cottages. Peggy and Keith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    29
    8
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
70
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We just returned home from our first time in Florida, celebrating our 25th anniversary. We are so happy with our experience at Seahorse, we are already planning our trip next year with our family. We loved our visit and Peggy and Keith were the perfect hostesses. Our stay in 1A was extraordinary! It was the perfect size for the two of us. We rarely have good luck with hotel beds....the bed in 1A was as comfortable as our bed at home, even the pillows were great. The pool was the best for cooling off and we were within walking distance of two beautiful beaches and The Lighthouse. Their complimentary bicycles afforded us the ability to traverse the island quite easily, as we had no car. We were impressed with the hospitality of the islanders in regard to bicyclists, everyone is friendly and respectable.

When you choose to stay at Seahorse Cottages, you will not regret it!! It was hands down our best vacation ever.

Marty and Dolores Murphy

Room Tip: We believe that all the rooms are great rooms!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sblinnkeeper, Owner at Seahorse Cottages, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at Seahorse Cottages. We are very happy that you chose Sanibel and Seahorse Cottages for your first trip to Florida. We never tire of hearing that we succeeded in our goals to provide all our guests with a relaxing retreat on an island we consider paradise....and home! We look forward to calling you repeat guests as our repeat guests make up the heart of our business and we love welcoming people back again and again. Best wishes and thank you for spending your vacation with us. Peggy and Keith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

My wife and I truly enjoyed the stay there. Never saw the folks that own the cottages but extremely well run would be an understatement. Immaculately clean it was a pleasure to use the kitchen and find any and all utensils that were needed. The grill worked like a charm. Pure pleasure to hang out in the pool and sip a few cocktails.

You may or may not meet the owners but it is obvious these folks are experienced at what they do all the while staying in the background. Sanibel may be a bit too quite for us but if we head back there we'll certainly be staying at the Cottages again!

Room Tip: “We stayed in room 2 and were perfectly content. A/C worked excellent which is rather important in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sblinnkeeper, Owner at Seahorse Cottages, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Thanks so much for taking the time to let others know you had a wonderful vacation at Seahorse Cottages. I appreciate the time you took away from your own life to help us be successful with our small business. We are so happy to know that you appreciate all our hard work and the hard work of the cleaners we have employed for many years. We have always been extremely happy with their work and they have become like family! We especially loved the appreciation you had for the effort we put out to stay in the background and let you enjoy your vacation. We really do work hard at that and we are so happy you noticed! While on the property we are always available to help, advise or just chat....but we are also aware that this is YOUR vacation and we want to stay as unobtrusive as possible so you can enjoy it. We hope to see you back at Seahorse another time. Thanks again! Peggy and Keith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Albany, Indiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

I would diffinitly recommend the Seahorse Cottages. Perfect location, access to both sides of the island within a couple of minutes walk. Very comfortable. Even the bed to our surprise was very comfortable. Had a good nights sleep after wearing our selves out walking the beach.A little small but perfect for the time we spent in it. Loved that they Had a grill available right outside your door to use. Swimming pool if wanted, offered nets to use for shelling, bikes, wagon, really anything you would need. It was great. The only compliant I have is the shower is very, very small. Kind of hard to shower but other than that it was great. We really enjoyed the piece and quite. Really had a wonderful time. Would love to go back.

Room Tip: A little on the small size but very comfortable and in a good area were it is quite and excellent be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sblinnkeeper, Owner at Seahorse Cottages, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Thanks so much for taking the time to let us and others know you enjoyed your stay at Seahorse Cottages on Sanibel. We are so happy you took advantage of all the extras Seahorse Cottages offers like the grill and pool, and perhaps even the bikes. We are also extremely pleased that you noticed how comfortable the beds are. We replace our mattresses often, always with high end quality products and also work hard to make sure we provide high quality, high end, comfortable linens so you can sleep well after a day on the beach! Thanks for noticing and noting that! We hope to see you back at Seahorse Cottages soon. We are blessed with an extremely high return rate, and its then that "guests" turn into "family" at Seahorse Cottages! Best wishes, Peggy and Keith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W Mass
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Stayed in 1A for three nights late May 2014. I was thrilled with the unit. My first impression was that the property and unit were very clean, comfortable and well thought-out. I was expecting an efficiency unit and discovered a delightful and sizable one-bedroom! It was a perfect place for me as I'm self sufficient and just want a quiet and calm place as a retreat. The information about the property and sign-in process were very clear. My expectations were certainly exceeded! I enjoyed the using a bike, having easy proximity to bay and gulf beaches, time in the hammock by the pool, and the many thoughtful touches inside and out.

As I was leaving, I had a chance to speak in Spanish with the housekeeper. She has been with Seahorse Cottages for years and is very happy to work there. She said, without any guile, that the owners "are very well organized and so good to work for", which is a terrific reference in my view. Her positive work experience is evidenced in the care shown and cleanliness of the property.

It's the attention to details and how we treat others in small daily ways that matter. This is a family business that I'm pleased to support and recommend fully.

Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sblinnkeeper, Owner at Seahorse Cottages, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
Thanks so much for taking the time to let others know how much you enjoyed your stay with us at Seahorse Cottages on Sanibel. We never get tired of hearing that all our hard work is meaningful to others and provides them with the relaxing retreat in our tropical setting that we endeavor to provide. We are also glad that you got the chance to speak with our cleaner. She has been with us for many years and we are so happy to have her! Her company, like ours, is a family run business with her mother and sisters often helping out. We are confident in how good a job they do cleaning our units, and have come to treat it like their own! We are happy you enjoyed your stay on Sanibel, and were able to soak up our sun and warmth after the long winter up North. Thanks for recognizing what we do....we look forward to having you back again as our return guests, when you too become part of the Seahorse Family! Peggy and Keith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

Ok.....the first time we stayed here for 9 days.....the second time 11 days..its hard to imagine doing almost nothing for that long of time but its easy when you stay at the perfect place..clean...quiet...great location...bikes...wagons...chairs...umbrellas...beach towels...quiet patio with cool pool..shops and food right
next door....next year...14 days.....thanks Peggy and Keith

Room Tip: took an adventureinparadise sunset cruise...trolley picked us up a block from the Seahorse...beautif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sblinnkeeper, Owner at Seahorse Cottages, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
We always enjoy your visits, and we are so happy that this year you got to share part of your time with your extended family. That's what makes Sanibel, and Seahorse Cottages such a special place. It's a place to slow down, and unwind, and enjoy the company of loved ones...and yes do nothing. We think doing nothing is a lost art, and we are so glad that you enjoyed the peace and tranquility that we try to provide. We look forward to seeing you back next year. Call to reserve soon as we love having you here! Peggy and Keith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diamondhead, Mississippi
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

I've been remiss in my reviews. We stayed here last fall on a trip down to the Keys. I hadn't been on Sanibel in many years and didn't remember much about it, so we took a chance on the Seahorse. What a find ! Nice and quiet, clean and comfortable. Easy walk down to the beach or across to the Bay side. Peaceful neighborhood. We'll come back for an escape.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sblinnkeeper, Owner at Seahorse Cottages, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
We are so thankful that you took the time to let others know how much you enjoyed your stay at Seahorse Cottages. We are so happy that we met all your expectations and we look forward to seeing you back again for another vacation with us. We love having repeat guests come back to us....they become our family! Peggy and Keith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Seahorse Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seahorse Cottages

Address: 1223 Buttonwood Lane, Sanibel Island, FL 33957
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Sanibel Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seahorse Cottages is tranquil ground-level attached cottages nestled in a lush garden of tropical plants with a heated pool; located just 200 feet from the Bay beach and a block from the Gulf. All suites are comfortably furnished and include living area, bedroom, kitchen, bath and patio. Use of wireless Internet, bicycles and beach equipment is included. The peaceful setting and attention to detail makes Seahorse Cottages an ideal romantic destination. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Seahorse Cottages Hotel Sanibel Island
Seahorse Hotel Sanibel Island
Seahorse Motel Sanibel Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seahorse Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.