We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best vacation place.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tortuga Beach Club Resort

Save Saved
You added Tortuga Beach Club Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tortuga Beach Club Resort
959 E. Gulf Dr., Sanibel Island, FL 33957   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 27 Hotels in Sanibel Island
Greenwood, Indiana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“The best vacation place.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Our family has been coming to Sanibel Island for 38 years. We have been staying at Tortuga Beach Club for 29 years. Staff members know you by name and the condo's are great! Now our children and grandchildren come. A wonderful pool area and of course the beach is the best! A great place to enjoy the beautiful island of Sanibel.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    23
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
77
41
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sanibel Island, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

I have loved being at Tortuga Beach Club as guest. It's even better as an owner. The condos are spacious and well equipped. The land scaping is wonderful; it offers privacy as well as beautiful views. The staff is here to please. The Board maintains high standards. It makes coming here special. I plan to be here for many years to come.

Room Tip: All the condos are 2 bedrooms and 2 baths. All have washers and dryers in the units. All have beauti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

The resort is right on the beach on beautiful Sanibel Island Florida. The grounds are landscaped beautifully, it is like someone takes away dead leaves at night because you never see any. The arts and crafts programs for the children are fun and always enjoyable, sign up for lunch, Kids night out, or enjoy frozen beverages in the afternoon poolside. There is always something going on. The management and staff are always there to help. My family has added two additional weeks since we started coming here 30 years ago and we keep coming back. It's out piece of paradise. Enjoy!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newburgh, Indiana
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We have been coming to Sanibel Island for over 20 years and Tortuga is by far our favorite place to stay on the island. It is a smaller complex that offers the best stretch of uncrowned beach. The units have been updated again and are very large. The pool and spa are always in great condition and the grounds are kept up very well. The Kids activities are excellent and the staff is super friendly. Can't say enough good about Tortuga!
-Jon

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, Florida
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

My wife and I have been coming to Tortuga Beach Club for 25 years and every visit gets better. The management and staff always find ways of improving the experience. It is clean, well maintained, and responsive to every need. If there is something amiss with your unit, even as simple as a burned out light bulb, they'll have someone there to take care of it immediately. All units are two-bedroom, two bath condos which sleep up to six (not really a hotel). The pool is immaculate. The beach is just a short stroll across the boardwalk. Sanibel is a great place to vacation, and Tortuga is fantastic for families. There are many grills if you want stay "home" and cook out, and the full kitchen offers that opportunity as well. If you want to eat out, there are restaurants aplenty. I have been coming to Sanibel for more than 50 years, and this is the place to stay.

Room Tip: Building F has an elevator; others do not.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strasburg, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

very enjoyable week, staff is top notch, minor problems that were fixed immediately. They even have activities for all ages, lunch, ice cream for nominal fee. Movie & pizza night for kids!
Built in 1980's but looks great, staff really keeps up with everything. So clean!!

Room Tip: first floor building b faces pool and gulf, great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Tortuga Beach Club is my favorite place to stay when visiting Sanibel Island! My husband's family has been vacationing there for over thirty years, and we just purchased a week at Tortuga last year. The pool and hot tub are so clean and the units are beautiful. They all have been redone and the Beach is just a minute walk from the condos. They have planned activities for the kids, and the grounds are beautiful. It is my favorite place to vacation! Our daughter would rather stay at Tortuga then Disney World, lol...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tortuga Beach Club Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tortuga Beach Club Resort

Address: 959 E. Gulf Dr., Sanibel Island, FL 33957
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Sanibel Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels so you can book your Tortuga Beach Club Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tortuga Beach Club Hotel Sanibel Island
Tortuga Beach Resort
Tortuga Beach Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tortuga Beach Club Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.