We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful location - wonderful property...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tortuga Beach Club Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Tortuga Beach Club Resort to your Saves list
Tortuga Beach Club Resort
959 E. Gulf Dr., Sanibel Island, FL 33957   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in Sanibel Island
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Wonderful location - wonderful property...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Got this as an exchange....it was great....totally relaxing.....we love Sanibel Island and its lowkey vibe...came week of 11/30, it was slow season which was perfect....the folks who
manage this property are very friendly and helpful - upper unit was a 2 story - bedrooms and bathrooms and Laundry are on 2nd floor - balcony off master BR and screened lanai off living room which had a 4 top table plus another chair/ottoman..we ate all of our meals in
'the lanai and only quibble is size of table - it is small and although this unit is 6 person capacity, table fit maybe 5..... Bathrooms are not large but perfectly functional (only odd thing is that master BR bathroom has one sink). BRs are large with plenty of storage space.

Kitchen again is a bit smallish but full size fridge, electric stove/oven and dishwasher..Most things are available in kitchen but if you need additional items, you can contact office and they have additional items (pizza pans, etc) BBQ grills are convenient to unit.

Pool and hot tubs were very nice - plenty of chairs..My granddaughter loved the shuffleboard and the ping pong (paddles are free but balls are available at office for .50 each)
Unit came with 2 beach chairs (no beach towels) but we rented chairs and umbrella from office ($1/chair/day - chairs were not in the best of shape but still worked) and they had tennis rackets/balls available as well)...there are also a couple of hammocks available...hubby and I laid in one, one evening and enjoyed some wonderful stargazing and
even saw a couple shooting stars....lighting on the island is pretty limited which allows for
spectacular views of the night time skies...

Beach is a short walk past the pool and the natural vegetation which runs along the beach....you can enjoy both sunrise and sunset from the beach due to the configuration of the island...try to get a few sunrises in...definitely worth it...

We rented bikes from Finnimores (there is also Billy's Rentals) as well as a couple of standup paddleboards...which were delivered when we arrived...we basically left our car
parked for the duration of our visit except for a trip to Captiva) Island is very bike friendly and with the baskets were able to run to Jerry's Foods for any mid-week necessities (did most of our grocery shopping at Super Walmart and Public off island on the way from the airport in order to avoid "on island" pricing.

If you like rest and relaxation, come here....my son and his daughter were both bummed on the flight back to chilly Chicago and she was asking if they were turn the plane around to go back to Sanibel and she is only 7 years old...smart little girl....

Room Tip: Upper units are preferrable as they allow a better view of the gulf (lower units however have views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    24
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
115
53
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

My Parents got a condo time share here back in 1986 and have been going every summer since. I was born in 1988 so I grew up going to Tortuga Beach Club every summer for vacation. My family and I absolutely love it! We look forward to our summer family vacation every year. Its so much apart of me now that I can not wait to bring my family here when I have children. The condos have improved and have been updated through the years and so has the resort. The staff is like family as we see the same people every year. The beach is a stone throw away and they provide everything we could need. I cant wait till we can get down there this summer!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco Island
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Great place for familys or just walking the beach and laying about the pool and hot tub. Rent a bike, the island has bike lanes every where along with great eateries, pubs, and shopping. Rental includes reduced golf fees at one of the two courses on the island. Light lunches are offered for less than $10, ice cream, and adult frozen drinks at the pool for $3-4, afternoons. A small fee is charged for kids activities each morning and are supervised.

Room Tip: All units face southwest toward the Gulf of Mexico. The lower units have easy access to the pool an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
170 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Wow! Consistent and wonderful. Tortuga Beach Club is the best place to stay on Sanibel Island. There are 7 buildings with 8 units in each building. Units in Building F have access to an elevator. I prefer the end units with a rear stairway to the pool and gas grills. As the environmentally sensitive area has grown up over the years one can no longer see the water from the lower units but they are much better if you have small children. From the upper units you get a great view of the water but you must exit from the rear and head to the pool though the parking area or around the unit. Not a big deal but perhaps important if you have small children.
The units are continually refreshed and updated. If you have an interior lower unit the MBR has a window/ slider that is exposed to the back walkway though there is almost no foot traffic there. The upper units have tiny porches with water views that are very lovely.
The pool and hot tub remain in great repair. There are many chairs and chaises. On one end there is an area you can sit under for shade. There is a shuffleboard area, hammocks, and volleyball.The small clubhouse has a pingpong table, tables and chairs, an ice machine and soda machine. There are noodles and a small number of plastic toys that children may borrow. There are multiple tennis courts and you can borrow equipment from the office.
Joan runs daily activities Saturday through Thursday. Examples are 9 AM coffee/ cappuccino, 10 AM arts and crafts ($3-10), noon meals (cheeseburgers, hot OVS/brats, pulled park, grouper sandwiches, etc for $4-10 dollars). Very casual and convenient. At 2 PM frozen drinks begin ($4). There is an afternoon snack (usually ice cream :) ).
The beach is bout a 120 yard walk. Each unit has two beach chairs. The shelling is spectacular. One can also walk bout 100 yards towards the next business ( Sea Star) and sit at their small bar and order drinks.
Management is friendly, cordial, and always helpful. Betsy has been there 25 years and Cindi nearly as long. Janeen fixes all your little problems and is very helpful.
The units easily sleep 4 adults, you can have 6 but two will be on a pull- out couch in the living room.
The kitchen is fully equipped if you want cook all week and the office has extra items if needed. The office also has books, toys, DVDs, magazines, etc. that you may borrow.

AND!!!!!! You have FREE green fees ( for 4 all week) at The Dunes, pay for your cart and go! An amazing perk!

Room Tip: Upper units for a water view. Lower units if you have children. Building F if you need an elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

The property is nice, though further towards the end of Sanibel Island. All of Sanibel is lovely!
The staff was very responsive - a leaky kitchen faucet (twice), instructions to access the wifi, checking cables for TV when we couldn't change channels, bringing egg crate foam to improve a poor sleeper sofa matress. And, we liked being able to borrow additional kitchen things (pizza pans, cake pan) from the front office and pool/beach toys for the kids. But overall, the impression was average. We were in a unit which had not yet been updated (Nov 2012) and we could tell - old mattresses, dated appointments, cosmetic damage (marks on floors, walls, appliances), and the leaky faucet. The message in the unit about treating everything nicely/preserving what existed in the units did not diminish the ho-hum feeling and certainly didn't make us feel that we had entered a "resort." None-the-less, the vacation was really about family and fun. Tortuga Beach Club served as a nice home base for biking (bikes rented outside, not a resort ammenity) to the sights, restaurants, wonderful library, and excellent playgrounds as well as the needed grocery shopping.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tenn
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

HAd a GrEAt TIME WE WERE THERE WEEKS 37---38---39. CANT WAIT TILL NEXT YEAR..GREAT STAFF WORKS WITH YOU AND HELPS YOU IN ANY WAY Thanks BETSY,,, CINDY AND ALL THE STAFF. Tortuga has a great pool, tennis, court, golf, shuffleboard ,and also has a food bar at the pool . also has great view of the ocean...Lot and Lots of seashells.

Room Tip: Higher floors have greater view of ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Hampton, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This facility is expertly maintained (grounds & condos). The condos are spacious and well equipped. The staff is top notch, being very friendly and accommodating. We met many wonderful people and made new friendships. When it was time to leave we wished we had booked another week. We will look forward to returning to Tortuga beach Club.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sanibel Island
0.8 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#13 of 26 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 stars 495 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#14 of 26 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 stars 920 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Sanibel Island
Holiday Inn Sanibel Island
#21 of 26 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 stars 914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sanibel Siesta on the Beach
Sanibel Siesta on the Beach
#3 of 26 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 stars 220 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sanibel Moorings
Sanibel Moorings
#2 of 26 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 stars 373 reviews
4.0 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#19 of 26 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 stars 721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tortuga Beach Club Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tortuga Beach Club Resort

Address: 959 E. Gulf Dr., Sanibel Island, FL 33957
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Sanibel Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels so you can book your Tortuga Beach Club Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tortuga Beach Club Hotel Sanibel Island
Tortuga Beach Resort
Tortuga Beach Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tortuga Beach Club Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.