We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Going here for 26+ years” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tortuga Beach Club Resort

Save Saved
You added Tortuga Beach Club Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tortuga Beach Club Resort
959 E. Gulf Dr., Sanibel Island, FL 33957   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 27 hotels in Sanibel Island
Hamilton
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Going here for 26+ years”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

My Parents got a condo time share here back in 1986 and have been going every summer since. I was born in 1988 so I grew up going to Tortuga Beach Club every summer for vacation. My family and I absolutely love it! We look forward to our summer family vacation every year. Its so much apart of me now that I can not wait to bring my family here when I have children. The condos have improved and have been updated through the years and so has the resort. The staff is like family as we see the same people every year. The beach is a stone throw away and they provide everything we could need. I cant wait till we can get down there this summer!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    140
    23
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
74
40
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Marco Island
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Great place for familys or just walking the beach and laying about the pool and hot tub. Rent a bike, the island has bike lanes every where along with great eateries, pubs, and shopping. Rental includes reduced golf fees at one of the two courses on the island. Light lunches are offered for less than $10, ice cream, and adult frozen drinks at the pool for $3-4, afternoons. A small fee is charged for kids activities each morning and are supervised.

Room Tip: All units face southwest toward the Gulf of Mexico. The lower units have easy access to the pool an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Connecticut
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Wow! Consistent and wonderful. Tortuga Beach Club is the best place to stay on Sanibel Island. There are 7 buildings with 8 units in each building. Units in Building F have access to an elevator. I prefer the end units with a rear stairway to the pool and gas grills. As the environmentally sensitive area has grown up over the years one can no longer see the water from the lower units but they are much better if you have small children. From the upper units you get a great view of the water but you must exit from the rear and head to the pool though the parking area or around the unit. Not a big deal but perhaps important if you have small children.
The units are continually refreshed and updated. If you have an interior lower unit the MBR has a window/ slider that is exposed to the back walkway though there is almost no foot traffic there. The upper units have tiny porches with water views that are very lovely.
The pool and hot tub remain in great repair. There are many chairs and chaises. On one end there is an area you can sit under for shade. There is a shuffleboard area, hammocks, and volleyball.The small clubhouse has a pingpong table, tables and chairs, an ice machine and soda machine. There are noodles and a small number of plastic toys that children may borrow. There are multiple tennis courts and you can borrow equipment from the office.
Joan runs daily activities Saturday through Thursday. Examples are 9 AM coffee/ cappuccino, 10 AM arts and crafts ($3-10), noon meals (cheeseburgers, hot OVS/brats, pulled park, grouper sandwiches, etc for $4-10 dollars). Very casual and convenient. At 2 PM frozen drinks begin ($4). There is an afternoon snack (usually ice cream :) ).
The beach is bout a 120 yard walk. Each unit has two beach chairs. The shelling is spectacular. One can also walk bout 100 yards towards the next business ( Sea Star) and sit at their small bar and order drinks.
Management is friendly, cordial, and always helpful. Betsy has been there 25 years and Cindi nearly as long. Janeen fixes all your little problems and is very helpful.
The units easily sleep 4 adults, you can have 6 but two will be on a pull- out couch in the living room.
The kitchen is fully equipped if you want cook all week and the office has extra items if needed. The office also has books, toys, DVDs, magazines, etc. that you may borrow.

AND!!!!!! You have FREE green fees ( for 4 all week) at The Dunes, pay for your cart and go! An amazing perk!

Room Tip: Upper units for a water view. Lower units if you have children. Building F if you need an elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

The property is nice, though further towards the end of Sanibel Island. All of Sanibel is lovely!
The staff was very responsive - a leaky kitchen faucet (twice), instructions to access the wifi, checking cables for TV when we couldn't change channels, bringing egg crate foam to improve a poor sleeper sofa matress. And, we liked being able to borrow additional kitchen things (pizza pans, cake pan) from the front office and pool/beach toys for the kids. But overall, the impression was average. We were in a unit which had not yet been updated (Nov 2012) and we could tell - old mattresses, dated appointments, cosmetic damage (marks on floors, walls, appliances), and the leaky faucet. The message in the unit about treating everything nicely/preserving what existed in the units did not diminish the ho-hum feeling and certainly didn't make us feel that we had entered a "resort." None-the-less, the vacation was really about family and fun. Tortuga Beach Club served as a nice home base for biking (bikes rented outside, not a resort ammenity) to the sights, restaurants, wonderful library, and excellent playgrounds as well as the needed grocery shopping.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tenn
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

HAd a GrEAt TIME WE WERE THERE WEEKS 37---38---39. CANT WAIT TILL NEXT YEAR..GREAT STAFF WORKS WITH YOU AND HELPS YOU IN ANY WAY Thanks BETSY,,, CINDY AND ALL THE STAFF. Tortuga has a great pool, tennis, court, golf, shuffleboard ,and also has a food bar at the pool . also has great view of the ocean...Lot and Lots of seashells.

Room Tip: Higher floors have greater view of ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Hampton, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This facility is expertly maintained (grounds & condos). The condos are spacious and well equipped. The staff is top notch, being very friendly and accommodating. We met many wonderful people and made new friendships. When it was time to leave we wished we had booked another week. We will look forward to returning to Tortuga beach Club.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharpsburg, Maryland
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We just got back from another fantastic week at Tortuga Beach Club. This place hits it out of the park on multiple levels. The units are large, well-kept. The grounds are immaculate. The staff is unparalleled. There is nothing too large or too small they won't tackle and make right. They are all friendly.

Things you must do while there:
1. Say hello to the staff.
2. Take a dip in the crystal clear pool.
3. Relax in the hot tub.
4. Walk along the beach looking for shells "Do the Sanibel Shuffle".
5. Leave your cares and woes behind you.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tortuga Beach Club Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tortuga Beach Club Resort

Address: 959 E. Gulf Dr., Sanibel Island, FL 33957
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Sanibel Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels so you can book your Tortuga Beach Club Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tortuga Beach Club Hotel Sanibel Island
Tortuga Beach Resort
Tortuga Beach Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tortuga Beach Club Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.