We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect in Every Way” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The PalmView

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sanibel Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The PalmView
Save Saved
You added The PalmView to your Saves list
706 Donax, Sanibel Island, FL 33957   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 10 Sanibel Island B&B and Inns
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect in Every Way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

My girlfriend and I stayed here while visiting family on the island for four days. Most importantly, everything was exceptionally clean and quiet. We were able to walk to the beach (barely a block away) and several restauarants and businesses on the island. We used the free bikes the inn provided (they were very new) to enjoy the warm weather and get to places further away. The flat screen TV's in both the living room and bedroom as well as the DVD player were great at night, and the even have free movies available in the office, including new releases. We couldn't be happier with our stay at The PalmView and our trip to Sanibel, and we plan on being regular customers in the years to come.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    30
    18
    4
    4
    1
See reviews for
10
31
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Thornwood, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

On our 5th stay at Palmview we look forward to our 6th. It was clean, quiet, and pleasant. We used the new bikes and cooked when we wanted. We walked the 3 blocks from our door to the ocean's edge. Our English friends have stayed there 13 times so everyone thinks its something special. We updated to larger quarters which makes it extra special. We give it a 99 percent perfect rating. Hope to meet new friends there January and Feburary.

Room Tip: Give a call if any questions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Top Contributor
524 reviews 524 reviews
95 hotel reviews
Reviews in 153 cities Reviews in 153 cities
360 helpful votes 360 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

It was what we were looking for. It's an 8 minute walk to the beach which was doable. One of the cleanest places we stayed at. Owners/managers are off site, but in the office during business hours. Bikes are provided complimentary, along with beach chairs.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsborough, NC
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

I had a great experience staying at the Palm View Inn, all of my needs were met with a full, spacious kitchen, beach access, and access to beach chairs, and towels. Bike access allows easy and fun travel to the beach as well as all of Sanibel's shops and restaurants. I plan on visiting Sanibel again, and will certainly stay at the Palm View Inn.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

Loved the location-the staff(yes the dog too)-and the room, the colors in Pirates Cove were my favorite, room sizes are wonderful and large and you have bikes, tables and grill to use. Walk to beach is 5 minutes along with a few places to eat. But still off the beaten path a bit. Prices were good and the ability to bring two small dogs was great. We will return. Only thing I did not like was that the water heater kept tripping the breaker because of storm so water was not hot when "I" needed it-but staff was made aware and are working on that issue. So its fine, we were good since it was so hot out anyway. Oh, and best part-was rooms were VERY clean.

Room Tip: All were nice as in a U shape.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nags Head, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

I visited Sanibel staying at the Palm View Inn in 2005.Since than I've visited a dozen times all at the Palm View.The rooms are CLEAN spacious and quiet.Conveniently located to all actives on Sanibel,and a 6 minute walk to the beach with no parking fees.Umbrellas,beach chairs,beach towels and bikes are provided no charge.The rates are reasonable which can be hard to find on Sanibel.The only bad part is when its time to leave,I,m all ready planing my next trip.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at The PalmView, responded to this review, July 4, 2012
Thank you such much for returning to the Palmview Inn so many times, and for taking the time to write a nice review. The beaches are so wonderful on Sanibel, and we are happy we could supply you with what you needed for relaxing at the beach.
Thank you again, and we hope to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedarburg, Wisconsin
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

Chrisitine Lemmon who is an author on Sanibel Island encourages everyone that they should have their "Portion of the Sea." Saniblel Island and staying at the PalmView is our "portion of the sea." The island brings us such peace, and being return visitors as well we cannot imagine staying anywhere but the PalmView. It is cozy, welcoming, quiet, and quaint. The rooms and grounds provide everything you need. We love to walk the beach, or hop on the bikes that are provided and explore the island. It is a perfect location, a great price, and very updated and clean. We enjoy and appreciate Laurie very much and the great job she does as the manager. We also enjoy her warm welcome! There is nothing we would change, and we are so glad that aside from a few updates PalmView remains as it did when we first discovered it.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
941cjy, Owner at The PalmView, responded to this review, April 2, 2012
Thank you so much for such a lovely review. Sanibel Island is certainly special, and we are glad you enjoyed the Island while staying at the Palmview. Your description of your stay is what Sanibel is about, and descibes what we hope all of our guests feel about the Palmview.
Thank you also for mentioning how helpful Laurie, our Manager ,was. We hope to see you next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The PalmView? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The PalmView

Address: 706 Donax, Sanibel Island, FL 33957
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Sanibel Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
The Palmview Hotel Sanibel Island
Palmview Hotel Sanibel Island
Palmview Sanibel Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The PalmView, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.