We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A RETURN VISITER---BOB S” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The PalmView

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sanibel Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The PalmView
Save Saved
You added The PalmView to your Saves list
706 Donax, Sanibel Island, FL 33957   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 10 Sanibel Island B&B and Inns
Nags Head, North Carolina
1 review
“A RETURN VISITER---BOB S”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

I visited Sanibel staying at the Palm View Inn in 2005.Since than I've visited a dozen times all at the Palm View.The rooms are CLEAN spacious and quiet.Conveniently located to all actives on Sanibel,and a 6 minute walk to the beach with no parking fees.Umbrellas,beach chairs,beach towels and bikes are provided no charge.The rates are reasonable which can be hard to find on Sanibel.The only bad part is when its time to leave,I,m all ready planing my next trip.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at The PalmView, responded to this review, July 4, 2012
Thank you such much for returning to the Palmview Inn so many times, and for taking the time to write a nice review. The beaches are so wonderful on Sanibel, and we are happy we could supply you with what you needed for relaxing at the beach.
Thank you again, and we hope to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    30
    18
    4
    4
    1
See reviews for
10
31
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cedarburg, Wisconsin
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

Chrisitine Lemmon who is an author on Sanibel Island encourages everyone that they should have their "Portion of the Sea." Saniblel Island and staying at the PalmView is our "portion of the sea." The island brings us such peace, and being return visitors as well we cannot imagine staying anywhere but the PalmView. It is cozy, welcoming, quiet, and quaint. The rooms and grounds provide everything you need. We love to walk the beach, or hop on the bikes that are provided and explore the island. It is a perfect location, a great price, and very updated and clean. We enjoy and appreciate Laurie very much and the great job she does as the manager. We also enjoy her warm welcome! There is nothing we would change, and we are so glad that aside from a few updates PalmView remains as it did when we first discovered it.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
941cjy, Owner at The PalmView, responded to this review, April 2, 2012
Thank you so much for such a lovely review. Sanibel Island is certainly special, and we are glad you enjoyed the Island while staying at the Palmview. Your description of your stay is what Sanibel is about, and descibes what we hope all of our guests feel about the Palmview.
Thank you also for mentioning how helpful Laurie, our Manager ,was. We hope to see you next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

I stayed at The Palm View for 2 weeks. It's like renting a little cottage; guests take care of their own housekeeping (the staff provides fresh linens weekly). It's clean, quiet and comfortable. This little complex has its own laundry for guests and provides bikes, beach chairs and umbrella. Just a short walk to the beach; a bit longer to Jerry's grocery and nice little shopping mall. For other activities, you will need a car on Sanibel. Manager Laurie was terrific.

Room Tip: The website gives good explanations of the rooms, and read the Trip Advisor reviews.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
941cjy, Owner at The PalmView, responded to this review, March 16, 2012
Thank you for visiting the Palmview Inn, and taking the time to write such a nice review.
We very much appreciate this. We are also so glad you enjoyed your stay, and that Laurie was so terrific. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

I have lost track of how many years we have been staying here. The manager is great. I look forward to seeing her as much as I do my stay.
The rooms are always clean. The place is off the main drive so you don't have all the traffic. The walk to the beach is about 5 minutes - maybe.. This is nice because you get rid of most of the sand by the time you get back.
We have stayed at places right on the beach and by the time we left, the sand was absolutely everywhere. Including in the bed~ yuck!
This place is great. It is quiet, and the manager can not be beat. And hopefully you get to meat Emmitt!!

Room Tip: All the rooms are great. Talk to the manager and she can help you decide what is best for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
941cjy, Owner at The PalmView, responded to this review, March 5, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review regarding the Palmview Inn. We appreciate that you are a repeat guest, and you have enjoyed your visits so much. We are happy our Manager has been so helpful, and that you also enjoyed seeing her dog when he visits.
We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines area
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

We have stayed at this Inn several times in the past few years. The manager always makes us feel welcomed in this relaxed, peaceful enviroment. The rooms are always exceptionally clean and cozy, and has everything we need to feel comfortable. Bikes are available to ride, fully equipped kitchen, outdoor seating to sit and visit with friends or read a book, new barb-b-que grill to use, they even have movies that you can borrow. The rooms have recently been painted and updated. Just grab the beach chairs, beach towels, and umbrella that the Inn provides and take a 5 minute walk to the white sandy beach filled with shells. Enjoy the warmth of the Florida sunshine and treat yourself to a true vacation. We always enjoy our stay at the Palm View. It provides us with the amenities that we need in a price range we can affford, and we hope they never change that. Big plus, Laura the manager, adds to the charm of this place we call our home away from home.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
941cjy, Owner at The PalmView, responded to this review, February 3, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time out to write such a kind review. We appreciate you being a return guest, and that our Manager has always made you feel so at home. We are new owners, so you noticing our improvements is wonderful.
Thank you again for taking the time to write a review, and we hope to see you next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

I had the pleasure of visiting Sanibel Island for the first time,going over the bridge was like leaving all your cares behind, the Biking, seashell beaches,the wild lives, the sunsets,and the people being so friendly take your breath away,but most outstanding event was staying in the Calossa room at the palm-view Inn I loved the colors, it was spacious, clean and equip with modern amenities,from Flatscreem Televsion with all the channels, i loved theSpeakman showerhead that gives you a complete shower. The grounds are also ready for laundry,and Grilling
What a home away from home, i love it.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
941cjy, Owner at The PalmView, responded to this review, January 25, 2012
Thank you so much for your lovely review. I am so glad you had such a relaxing vacation and that the Palmview Inn could be part of that.
Sanibel is certainly special.
Thank you again, and we hope you visit us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2011

We are nature photographers and so much in love with the Island's character, its people, its quaint small town atmosphere and the Island's emphasis on preservation awareness of its natural resources. We would not consider staying anywhere else while visiting this unique barrier island! The nature trails, the bird life and preservation efforts that Sanibel has enacted to preserve this unique coastal destination have no comparison in our book. The Palm View offers comfortable accommodations and cleanliness while remaining a stone's throw from all activities on the island. You can spend a lot more for all the frills of upscale accommodations or enjoy Palm View's humble accommodations and enjoy the island's amenities more. We have been coming regularly for over 5 years and would not consider staying anywhere else as our activities and time is spent enjoying the island and its resources vs. staying at a resort, which you will pay for, and miss out on one of the most beautiful and naturally maintained coastal destinations. The manager has been instrumental in our coming back time and time again. It is because of her making us feel as if we are family that we continue our patronage and it sets this resort apart from the rest. With biking, beach walks, shell collecting, dolphin watching and Ding Darling National Wildlife refuge within minutes of the Palm View, this centrally located small unit accommodation could not be better suited for our needs and the needs of other nature lovers would want to be out enjoying what Sanibel is truly all about!

Room Tip: If you are a family you would want the two bedroom suite. Other than that, all the other suites are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
941cjy, Owner at The PalmView, responded to this review, December 27, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review regarding the Palmview Inn and our Manager. We appreciate that you have continued to stay at the Palmview, and that our Manager has been instrumental in this.

As you have said the Islands are so special, and as Nature Lovers you really understand the character of Sanibel and Captiva Islands.

Thank you again for your kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The PalmView? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The PalmView

Address: 706 Donax, Sanibel Island, FL 33957
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Sanibel Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
The Palmview Hotel Sanibel Island
Palmview Hotel Sanibel Island
Palmview Sanibel Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The PalmView, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.