We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The PalmView

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sanibel Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The PalmView
706 Donax, Sanibel Island, FL 33957   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 10 Sanibel Island B&B and Inns
Des Moines area
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

We have stayed at this Inn several times in the past few years. The manager always makes us feel welcomed in this relaxed, peaceful enviroment. The rooms are always exceptionally clean and cozy, and has everything we need to feel comfortable. Bikes are available to ride, fully equipped kitchen, outdoor seating to sit and visit with friends or read a book, new barb-b-que grill to use, they even have movies that you can borrow. The rooms have recently been painted and updated. Just grab the beach chairs, beach towels, and umbrella that the Inn provides and take a 5 minute walk to the white sandy beach filled with shells. Enjoy the warmth of the Florida sunshine and treat yourself to a true vacation. We always enjoy our stay at the Palm View. It provides us with the amenities that we need in a price range we can affford, and we hope they never change that. Big plus, Laura the manager, adds to the charm of this place we call our home away from home.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
941cjy, Owner at The PalmView, responded to this review, February 3, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time out to write such a kind review. We appreciate you being a return guest, and that our Manager has always made you feel so at home. We are new owners, so you noticing our improvements is wonderful.
Thank you again for taking the time to write a review, and we hope to see you next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    30
    18
    4
    4
    1
See reviews for
10
31
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
new york
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

I had the pleasure of visiting Sanibel Island for the first time,going over the bridge was like leaving all your cares behind, the Biking, seashell beaches,the wild lives, the sunsets,and the people being so friendly take your breath away,but most outstanding event was staying in the Calossa room at the palm-view Inn I loved the colors, it was spacious, clean and equip with modern amenities,from Flatscreem Televsion with all the channels, i loved theSpeakman showerhead that gives you a complete shower. The grounds are also ready for laundry,and Grilling
What a home away from home, i love it.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
941cjy, Owner at The PalmView, responded to this review, January 25, 2012
Thank you so much for your lovely review. I am so glad you had such a relaxing vacation and that the Palmview Inn could be part of that.
Sanibel is certainly special.
Thank you again, and we hope you visit us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2011

We are nature photographers and so much in love with the Island's character, its people, its quaint small town atmosphere and the Island's emphasis on preservation awareness of its natural resources. We would not consider staying anywhere else while visiting this unique barrier island! The nature trails, the bird life and preservation efforts that Sanibel has enacted to preserve this unique coastal destination have no comparison in our book. The Palm View offers comfortable accommodations and cleanliness while remaining a stone's throw from all activities on the island. You can spend a lot more for all the frills of upscale accommodations or enjoy Palm View's humble accommodations and enjoy the island's amenities more. We have been coming regularly for over 5 years and would not consider staying anywhere else as our activities and time is spent enjoying the island and its resources vs. staying at a resort, which you will pay for, and miss out on one of the most beautiful and naturally maintained coastal destinations. The manager has been instrumental in our coming back time and time again. It is because of her making us feel as if we are family that we continue our patronage and it sets this resort apart from the rest. With biking, beach walks, shell collecting, dolphin watching and Ding Darling National Wildlife refuge within minutes of the Palm View, this centrally located small unit accommodation could not be better suited for our needs and the needs of other nature lovers would want to be out enjoying what Sanibel is truly all about!

Room Tip: If you are a family you would want the two bedroom suite. Other than that, all the other suites are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
941cjy, Owner at The PalmView, responded to this review, December 27, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review regarding the Palmview Inn and our Manager. We appreciate that you have continued to stay at the Palmview, and that our Manager has been instrumental in this.

As you have said the Islands are so special, and as Nature Lovers you really understand the character of Sanibel and Captiva Islands.

Thank you again for your kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2011

We loved these cozy cottages just a short 5 minute walk to the beach. The owner was there everyday and answered all our questions with very friendly suggestions.

We have found our new Sanibel home.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
941cjy, Owner at The PalmView, responded to this review, December 21, 2011
Thank you for your kind review regarding your stay at the Palmview Inn. We are happy our Manager was able to answer your questions, and be so helpful.
We are new owners, so we are pleased you enjoyed one of our newly decorated units.
Thank you again for your review, and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

The location is perfect, a short walk to the beach and a short bike ride to shops and restaurants. What I really loved was having so much space, our own little house to relax at after exploring the island. It was so clean and complete with a kitchen and living room. There is even onsite laundry offered, a grill and bikes to use for a quick trip to the store or lunch. The beds are very comfortable and super clean. We had plenty of towels and appreciated knowing that we could contact the owner if we needed anything but would not be disturbed otherwise. The owner is super friendly and down to earth. She was in and out of the common area during the day and a pleasure to talk with. I would definitely stay there again and again when I get the opportunity. The price is excellent, too.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
941cjy, Owner at The PalmView, responded to this review, December 21, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review regarding your stay at the Palmview Inn.
We are happy you enjoyed your accomodations, and that our Manager was so helpful to you.
We hope to see you again soon at the Palmview, and thank you so much for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ft lauderdale
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

My family and dogs stay here a few times a year for the past 5 years. It is clean, quiet inexpensive and best of all dog friendly. It is a short walk to the beach on donax rd to a great central part of Sanibel island beach. It is never crowded. It is very close to the central business area on periwinkle drive.
It is not a fancy place, if you need a concierge, valet, help desk, pool boys or must be right on the beach then this is not the place for you. If you need a clean, comfortable dog friendly place to stay then the Palm View is the place for you.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2011

My husband and I stay at the Palmview whenever we go to Sanibel, which is 2-3 times/year. We have been coming here for years.

It is DOG FRIENDLY!!! We take our 3 dachshunds, and they love it. Sanibel is one of the few beaches in Florida that allows dogs on the beach. There are only a few places you can stay with dogs on Sanibel, and most of them have a 2-dog limit. The Palmview is the only place we know of that allows more than 2 dogs.

There are only 6 cottages, so it is a small resort. Over the years, we've stayed in all of them. The rooms are basic, but clean and comfortable. If you're looking for fancy or luxurious, this is not the place. But if you want a nice and comfortable place to stay at a great price, this is an excellent value.

All rooms have a small kitchenette for use, so if you want to buy your own food and cook, even in the efficiency units, there is space. There are also grills outside and some tables and lounges.

Rooms are self-serviced, so there is no housekeeping, but this is typical for Sanibel accommodations.

There is free wi-fi as well. Also, an outdoor jacuzzi.

The Palmview provides bicycles for guest use. They are from a bike rental place, so the bikes are always well-maintained. There are lots of great biking trails on Sanibel.

Lori, the owner, is always friendly and can give advice on places to eat and things to do, as she is a resident of the island. Sometimes she brings her dog, Emmett, a golden retriever mix (with one blue eye - very cute!) who is being trained as a therapy dog.

The location is 1/4 mile (measured on my Garmin!) from the beach, so just a short, 5-minute walk.

It is clean, quiet and comfortable. A perfect place to stay with your dogs!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The PalmView? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The PalmView

Address: 706 Donax, Sanibel Island, FL 33957
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Sanibel Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
The Palmview Hotel Sanibel Island
Palmview Hotel Sanibel Island
Palmview Sanibel Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The PalmView, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The PalmView to your Saves list