We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great anniversary getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Island Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Island Inn to your Saves list
Island Inn
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   3111 West Gulf Drive, Sanibel Island, FL 33957   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
BOOK DIRECT & SAVE!!!
Ranked #5 of 27 Hotels in Sanibel Island
GreenLeadersSilver level
Wilmington, North Carolina
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great anniversary getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

My husband and I came for a long weekend to celebrate our anniversary. The Island Inn has that old Florida feel- it is low key and relatively quiet. We stayed in the Kimball King kitchen suite which was perfect for 2. We rented bikes from the hotel and rode everywhere. The beach in front of the hotel was lovely with lots of great seashells. We used the small heated pool and appreciated the beach and pool towels available. The staff was very friendly and helpful at all times. Overall a lovely stay.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishingflats, Manager at Island Inn, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Thank you for choosing the Island Inn to celebrate such a special occasion! We are so glad the Inn served as the perfect backdrop for your anniversary and hope you will return to celebrate many more! :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

820 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    486
    229
    67
    29
    9
See reviews for
224
400
23
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

We stayed at the Kimbal Lodge on the Island Inn property. Our 2 bedroom unit was immaculate, and well furnished. I have stayed at the Sundial Resort in previous visits. The difference between the two resorts are night and day. At the Island Inn you are further down on the island, A much more relaxed feeling, better shelling, old world florida charm ( think of the flipper TV Show). The staff was fantastic, we meet Marco and he helped us out a lot. There is a restaurant on site, and you are about 1/1.5 miles from a grocery store (Bailey's). If you are looking to relax, enjoy and escape then the Island Inn (Kimbal Lodge) is the place to be. If you are looking for a pool bar, music and a larger complex then you want the Sundial. Both places are fantastic, but for shelling and relaxing Island Inn is better.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishingflats, Manager at Island Inn, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Thank you for choosing the Island Inn for your Sanibel stay and for writing such a well-thought review. We are so glad our historic, beachfront, low density property combined with our updated accommodations and amenities were a good fit for your needs and expectations. We hope you can return to Sanibel Island and the Island Inn again soon! :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haslett, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

We enjoyed a wonderful visit, especially our stay in the Kimball Lodge. I only wish they would diversify the breakfast menu a bit. It has to be the best hotel on the Island. Clean, quiet and totally comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishingflats, Manager at Island Inn, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Thank you for staying at the Inn and for leaving a review of your experience. We hope your travels home to Michigan were safe and you are able to return to the Island Inn again soon! :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

If you are thinking about staying at the Island Inn… lucky you! You have some fun times coming up! The Island Inn is really fabulous… amazing access to the beach, a beautiful beach full of sun, beautiful waters, lines of seashells, and not many people! It's quiet, beautiful, fun for people who love just walking and shelling on the beach, and fun for people who love to be in the water. The Resort itself has many activities on their property, shuffle board, tennis, sand volleyball, etc. It would be lovely to stay here for at least 5 days to take advantage of it all. But save your money for a few months, 5 days will cost you! By the time we booked our little flat there, most of the rooms were taken. We are a family of 4, mom, dad and 2 boys. We booked a recently renovated unit with a kitchenette, bathroom, queen bed and pull out couch. After talking to the ladies at Island Inn for advice, they said that is what we would want, it would give us more room and be lovely. Well…. more room as compared to what? It was tight with the pull out couch pulled out and the bed there was barely any walking room to get through the place from the back porch to the bathroom. I would not normally have a gripe with this, but the cost was nearly $470 a night, and that's pricey. Was it worth it? I'd say yes. The property is meticulously maintained, the beach is practically private. Breakfast was on the lower end of average. Hard boiled eggs are the only protein other than a small selection of yogurts. The rest are pastries and a bowl of cut fruits (melons, grapes, oranges and a small bit of pineapple). I would go back for longer, but I'll need to save for a while! The whole island is pricey. If you can, stop at a grocery store before you get to the island. We went to Jerry's (one of the few grocery stores on the island) and wow the prices. We live in a resort town in Colorado, so we are used to resort grocery store prices, this store was honestly double what a normal resort grocery store charges. If it's normally $2 in your local store, expect $5 or $6 here. The restaurants on the island fill up quickly, getting there early is a great way to avoid an hour or so wait time for dinner. We couldn't wait for over an hour so we opted for Sanibel Deli & Coffee Factory who is said to have good pizza and sandwiches. They do, but the owner does not really like people, and he definitely does not like kids, at all. Did I mention he doesn't like kids?? So much so that it was almost comical. Have fun and if you see a group of people gathered around someone on the beach it is probably the sea shell lady giving tips on the shells…. stop by and listen, it was fascinating!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishingflats, Manager at Island Inn, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Thank you for staying at the Island Inn and we are so glad you enjoyed your time on Sanibel Island. We hope your travels home to Colorado were safe and you are able to visit the Island again soon! :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart, FL
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Admittedly, we booked an overnight room on our day of arrival during the high season, but, nevertheless, we expected a bit more effort from the folks at this "motel" on the water. Upon arrival the front desk clerk skipped the formalities of welcome and instead went directly for asking for our credit card. She then whizzed through our arrival briefing - including instructing us to return their beach chairs from the beach if we chose to take them there in the first place (oddly for a beach-front hotel, they have no chairs pre-positioned on the beach - it's a "u-drag-'em" process at the Island Inn). The room at $299. per night was underwhelming. The Inn's grounds are worse. The room's king sized bed was too tight for its space (one-half of the motel sized divided room) which prevented any side tables and necessitated crawling into bed from its lower end. The adjacent seating area was tight and hardly comfortable. The unit had a decent porch looking out onto a partial Gulf view and the Inn's scrubby neglected grounds. All in all, we thought the Inn had potential but it is suffering from underinvestment and careless oversight. The Inn's beach is narrow and less desirable than other stretches along Sanibel's coast. We'll not stay at the Inn again and hope that Trip Advisor's ratings start to show the true condition of this place. One final note - I found a cockroach on the bed of our kitchen-equipped "suite." When checking out, when told of this, the front desk clerk apologized and stated the rooms are regularly inspected and exterminated. She also suggested that I should be accustomed to such creatures since I'm from Florida. Perhaps that is so in some homes in the semi-tropics, but not in ours, and conscientious Floridians will tell you, a good exterminator and careful cleaning of kitchen surfaces can keep the bugs at bay. No points for that clerk's "bonding"! We stayed at the Island Inn overnight on April 26, 2014. We suggest you go somewhere else.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishingflats, Manager at Island Inn, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Thank you for staying at the Island Inn and for taking the time to share your experience. We're sorry you did not enjoy your time on Sanibel Island and hope you find a more satisfying vacation experience in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schenectady, New York
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

Our room in the Kimball Building was spacious, well designed, had two sinks in the large bathroom, and we loved the screened-in porch that led onto the sand. I was surprised at how large the kitchen area was, too: long counter, microwave, refrigerator, and there were dishes, silverware, wine glasses, and even a corkscrew and dish soap. The breakfast was free and yes, the offerings were the same everyday (hard-boiled eggs, a wide variety of pastries, yogurt, and fruit salad) but we really appreciated that being free, plus it was fast and easy and tasted good. I would really like to give the hotel 5 circles, but 6-7 alarm beeps would go off late in the evening and at the crack of dawn which I thought was a smoke detector's batteries dying in some room which maintenance couldn't find the source of. The next day I ran out of the room at 6am trying to find it and realized it was coming from the alarm room next to us. Unfortunately, it would only perform late in the evening (every 15 minutes for a couple of hours) and then do the same thing from around 6am and that's when no employees were around. So, the front desk and maintenance were sympathetic and tried very hard but they just couldn't figure it out. It had me wide awake at 3am on our last morning there so I was a complete wreck and in tears when we checked out from sheer exhaustion, but I still recommend you stay at the hotel. (I never asked to change rooms because I kept thinking they must have found it, but I wouldn't know until too late at night that they didn't.) So, please do not get Room 243 Kimball (plus that room is furthest from the water). Since I had already paid through Expedia they couldn't reimburse me for the horrible sleep I had.

Room Tip: Do NOT get Room 243 Kimball (next to an alarm room and beeps kept emitting from there).
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishingflats, Manager at Island Inn, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Thank you for staying at the Island Inn and for leaving a review of your experience. We are so glad you enjoyed your overall time at the Inn, but fell terrible that you had this experience with an alarm.

We do remember your stay and have not heard anything further since then, so we're confident this was an isolated issue. Regardless, we are sorry that your stay was inconvenienced.

Again, thank you for your patronage and review. We hope your travels home to NY were safe and you are able to visit Sanibel Island again soon! :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maynard, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

Very, very clean rooms. Top rate maid service, right on the beach many unobstructed beach views from your room. Swim in the ocean or their well maintained swimming pool. Easy access to shelling just outside your door. The hotel restaurant is one of the finest on the island. Wait staff is uber professional. Rates are very fair for the location of this hotel with a very long tradition of excellence

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishingflats, Manager at Island Inn, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Thank you for staying at the Island Inn and for taking the time to share your feedback. It sounds like the Inn's accommodations and location were a great fit to your needs and expectations.

Concerning your experience with Traditions on the Beach, we apologize for your dissatisfaction and, although separately owned from the Inn, we'll be sure to share your feedback with restaurant ownership.

Again, thank you for your stay and we hope you can return to the Island Inn again soon! :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Island Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Inn

Address: 3111 West Gulf Drive, Sanibel Island, FL 33957
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Sanibel Island
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Sanibel Island
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Sanibel Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Island Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted "Best Inn on the Island," the Island Inn, with its combination of old Florida cottages and modern lodges, sits on 10 beautiful Gulf front acres, offering 550 feet of beach with some of the best shelling in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Island Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Hotel Sanibel Island
Island Sanibel
Island Resort Sanibel
Is Sanibel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Island Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.