We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for families” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Island Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Island Inn to your Saves list
Island Inn
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   3111 West Gulf Drive, Sanibel Island, FL 33957   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
BOOK DIRECT & SAVE!!!
Ranked #6 of 26 Hotels in Sanibel Island
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great place for families”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

The hotel is located directly on the uncrowded beach.
The room had all amenities (room 268, $ 480 for 3 nights), you can cook in it and sit outside on the mosquito protected balcony. It is a little small, but we didnt mind.
The pool is great, the staff is friendly, the breakfast is ok, not the best. (i missed my european breakfast)
the only thing we disliked was the bed, it was so soft, that our back was arched like the letter "U".
I complained and reception said, some guests like it soft. Yes, but this matrass was just old and used too may times.

Other than that, great place! Recommended.
We have seen a lot of places on Sanibel and there are a lot of run-down places out there, even if you pay $ 140 a night.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishingflats, Manager at Island Inn, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Thank you for staying at the Island Inn and leaving a review of your experience.

I’m sorry your mattress was not to your liking and the answer you were given from our front desk staff was partly true. It is true that some folks prefer hard mattresses, while others prefer soft. However, the front desk agent should have addressed this issue and had a hard mattress installed in your room. I will address this with the front desk staff and use this as a coaching tool to reiterate our policy.

As for our Complimentary light Continental breakfast, which no other Inn on Sanibel offers, it is true that it is not a full European breakfast. The Complimentary light Continental breakfast consists of fresh baked pastries, fresh cut fruit, assorted yogurts, hardboiled eggs, fresh squeezed juices, coffee and tea. We hope this Complimentary amenity adds value to our guest’s stay, but all of our rooms have a small refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker and many have full kitchens, so guests can prepare their own breakfast selection if our Complimentary items do not satisfy. There are also several restaurants on the island that specialize in breakfast, which we will happily direct guests to.

Otherwise, I’m glad you appreciated the value the Inn provides and the upgrades the Inn has performed. I hope you have a pleasant holiday season in the Netherlands and you are able to visit Sanibel Island again soon. :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

947 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    562
    265
    76
    33
    11
See reviews for
253
470
26
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (307)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Englewood, Florida
Level Contributor
49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Our older age group of 10 wanted a late Fall '3 day get-away' to have fun at a slower pace.
Two couples stayed in Pfister Cottage & the rest had rooms in Matthews or Kimball Lodges.
We ate several meals on the enclosed porch of Pfister . Weather was warm & delicious.
Water was unusually calm & beautiful We grilled steaks on the outdoor grill & had brought the remaining food. What a delightful meal at 7:30 PM on the porch ! Management was very helpful in doing this & provided extra plates & silverware. A kitchen redo had all new appliances, large frig & dishwasher. Bedrooms were private & comfy. Their continental breakfast was refreshing. So many island activities kept us busy; guess we will just have to return for more relaxation !

Room Tip: Kimball has several very private views of gulf without anything but sea grass in your view. Matthew...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishingflats, Manager at Island Inn, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Thank you for staying at the Island Inn and taking the time to share your experience. The staff at the Inn remembers your group and the pleasure was truly ours.

I’m glad our newly remodeled Phister Gulfview Cottage suited your party’s needs and you were able to enjoy each other’s time in our low density, 10 acre, Gulf front setting.

I hope you all have a pleasant holiday season and you are able to make it back down to Sanibel Island from Englewood soon! :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler, Texas
Level Contributor
68 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Steps from the Gulf with shelling as good as any of the other beaches, we enjoyed a studio room with an ocean view, a full kitchen (minus dishwasher), and, thank goodness, NO carpet. The unit (in Starkey Lodge) had all wood and tile flooring, new furniture, cabinets, TV and bathroom. The continental breakfast included fresh fruit, boiled eggs, pastries, juice, yogurt and coffee. We did not eat at the on-site restaurant, Traditions, but the menu looked very good. The photos on their web site are very accurate. I would recommend this new old inn to anyone. We stayed on the 2nd floor which offered a great view of the ocean, but there are no elevators.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishingflats, Manager at Island Inn, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Thank you for staying at the Island Inn and sharing your experience.

I’m so glad our newly remodeled Gulfview Studio in our Starky Lodge fit your needs and expectations. Also, thank you for mentioning the accuracy of our photos on our website. The Inn goes to great lengths to make sure our photos are accurate and “not photo shopped”, in an effort to insure guest’s expectations are realistic and met to the best of our ability.

It sounds like our modern accommodations and updated amenities in our pristine, historic Gulf front setting were a perfect fit for your group. Cherished memories – modern comforts… I’m glad you enjoyed it all at the Island Inn. :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eden Prairie, Minnesota
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Great place to stay, right on the gulf with beautiful views and quiet beaches! Traditions restaurant onsite serves excellent fare (despite our poor waitress) that we thoroughly enjoyed. Music during our meal was a fun two person show that enhanced the dining experience. We are planning our return trip already! Don't forget to avail yourself of the beachcam to "rub it in a little" to those back home.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishingflats, Manager at Island Inn, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you for staying at the Island Inn and leaving a review. I’m glad the Inn’s accommodations, location and facilities were a good match for your needs and you are already planning a return trip. Your tip about the webcam is spot on…. we have a streaming live HD beach cam, so folks can check out our pristine beach while away or wave hello to friends and family back home. Check it out on our website! :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

My daughter and I stayed here for her 11th birthday. The staff was very friendly and helpful on the phone and also when we checked in. We stayed at the Kimball lodge. Our room was very clean, modern and a very short walk to the beach. Two traveler tips: Make sure to go to the Mucky Duck on Captiva Island to watch the sunset (a locals tradition) and check out the amazing sunrise at the old Sanibel lighthouse where we saw lots of starfish and other live sea creatures making their morning commute from the beach back into the Gulf.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishingflats, Manager at Island Inn, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you for staying at the Island Inn and for taking the time to leave a review of your experience.

It sounds like you and your daughter had a nice Sanibel stay… what a great birthday treat! Your two traveler tips are excellent advice and our front desk staff will be very happy to direct folks to these locations upon check in.

Again, thank you for your stay and comments. I hope you are able to return to the Island Inn and Sanibel Island again soon! :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verona, Italy
Level Contributor
166 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We had a room with kitchen, first floor (not friendly with big luggages), room very spacious, in good conditions, great view from the window. Just beside a beautiful beach. Romantic, Relaxing, wish to come back again. The breakfats starts late (8am), the choice of food and quality was quite good.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishingflats, Manager at Island Inn, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Thank you for choosing the Island Inn for your Sanibel Island stay. I’m glad you enjoyed your time at the Inn and took advantage of our pristine, 550 feet of beach. I hope your travels home to Italy were safe and you are able to make it back to the Island Inn again soon! :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishkill, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

we recently stayed here with our two young children and had a wonderful time. The staff was helpful and extremely friendly. The room in the kimball lodge was clean and spacious with an area to eat and a full kitchen. The bathroom was beautiful too! In fact all the modern appliances were nicer than in my house! The kids loved the pool and beach and I enjoyed the terrific shelling. The location of the hotel was perfect- right on the beach. We will definitely come back here for our next vacation to Sanibel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishingflats, Manager at Island Inn, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Thank you for staying at the Island Inn and for taking the time to leave a review of your experience. I’m glad the modern amenities in your room fit you well, as we’ve recently made substantial upgrades to our facilities, accommodations and amenities. We will look forward to your return for your next Sanibel Island stay! :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanibel Island hotels
4.4 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#13 of 26 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 stars 495 reviews
2.8 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#14 of 26 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 stars 922 reviews
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Sanibel Island
Holiday Inn Sanibel Island
#21 of 26 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 stars 913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Sanibel Siesta on the Beach
Sanibel Siesta on the Beach
#3 of 26 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 stars 220 reviews
3.8 mi away
Sanibel Inn
Sanibel Inn
#18 of 26 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 stars 985 reviews
0.4 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#19 of 26 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 stars 721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Inn

Address: 3111 West Gulf Drive, Sanibel Island, FL 33957
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Sanibel Island
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Sanibel Island
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Sanibel Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Island Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted "Best Inn on the Island," the Island Inn, with its combination of old Florida cottages and modern lodges, sits on 10 beautiful Gulf front acres, offering 550 feet of beach with some of the best shelling in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your Island Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Hotel Sanibel Island
Island Sanibel
Island Resort Sanibel
Is Sanibel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Island Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.