We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Island Inn

Save Saved
You added Island Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Island Inn
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   3111 West Gulf Drive, Sanibel Island, FL 33957   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
BOOK DIRECT & SAVE!!!
Ranked #6 of 27 hotels in Sanibel Island
GreenLeadersSilver level
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Quite by accident Orbitz booked us at the Island Inn from Nov. 10 - 18 and I can't say enough good things about it. The staff was friendly and helpful and the location was perfect. Our room was great and housekeeping did a good job of cleaning it every day. We stayed in the Matthews Lodge with a king size bed which was a good size room and nice bathroom. The sunsets were amazing and the beach was never crowded. The Inn provided lounge chairs and a continental breakfast. My only complaint was the breakfast as it had too many sweets and could have been replaced with some bagels. The onsite restaurant was very good as we love music and dancing so we didn't have to go far for enjoyable evenings. We are planning to return next year and hope to make it an annual trip.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishingflats, Manager at Island Inn, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Thank you for staying at the Island Inn and for leaving a review of your experience. I’m glad Orbitz booked you in our resort with an accommodation to your liking, but many times these 3rd party online travel agencies (Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, etc.) do not book the accommodation option that best fits the guest’s needs and expectations. We always suggest to book directly with the Inn so our knowledgeable staff can ensure the accommodation option you choose is the best fit for your needs.

Again, thank you for your stay and comments. I hope your travels home to Mass were safe (go Sox!!!) and you will be able to visit the Island Inn again soon. :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

757 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    423
    226
    68
    27
    13
See reviews for
198
349
23
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jupiter
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

My family has been staying at the Island Inn on Sanibel Island for vacations for about thirty years. It is a good hotel for a couple, for a family with small kids or for a senior couple. It is always clean and the staff is friendly. We usually visit on Labor Day weekend for four days or so. The breakfasts used to be more substantial but are OK. The price, of course, has increased significantly over the past few years. We stay in Starky Lodge which is a large room with two double beds. Wish they had queens or kings. There is also a fold out couch, so it is possible to sleep five. Expect to pay $160+ for Starky in the off season. Kimball lodge is a bit smaller and cheaper but not much. Forget about going in season, January, February, March, super expensive, super crowded and not much fun. Just too many people. Sanibel itself is great, quiet, unchanged, beautiful beaches, good restaurants, very relaxing place to visit. Will likely return to the Island Inn even with the higher prices.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishingflats, Manager at Island Inn, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and for being such a loyal patron of the Island Inn. Please allow me to clarify some of the points you’ve made, so others will have accurate information.

The Inn never used to serve breakfast during off season (Labor Day), so our Complimentary Light Continental breakfast is an added value we’ve implemented in the last 2 years.

Starky Lodge rooms (Gulfview Studios) DO have 2 queen beds and a queen pullout sofa. Also, off season rates for these accommodations can be as low as $109 per night.

The Inn’s pricing during season is very competitive and the Inn is never crowded, having just 49 total accommodations on 10 Gulf front acres with 550 feet of pristine beach. Many people believe that Christmas through Easter is the best time of year to visit Sanibel.

Again, thank you for your loyalty and comments. I hope you have a pleasant winter season and we will look forward to your return next Labor Day. :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
168 helpful votes 168 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Upon arriving to the Island Inn, I was a little concerned because many of the buildings looked like they were circa the 1960s,but once we entered our room, we were pleasantly surprised with an updated room that had a comfortable bed. (We were in room 268) and added amenities including two flat screen tvs, kitchen, screened balcony and sofa bed. A continental breakfast was included in the rate which provided coffee/tea, pastries, yoghurt, hardboiled eggs and scones. While others have complained, the price was right-free and though it wasn't a hot breakfast, it was adequate.
The service at the hotel was great with friendly employees who were helpful in answering our questions and the proximity to the beach can't be beat. The pool is small, but most go to Sanibel for the beach anyway. We would definitely stay there again.
The only suggestion I would make, though just my personal preference is upgrade the sheets and provide a small mat by the sides of the bed.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishingflats, Manager at Island Inn, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you for your review and stay at the Island Inn. It sounds like our Gulfview Kitchen Suite accommodation in our Kimball Lodge was a nice fit to your needs. I hope you have a nice holiday season and you are able to make a trip to Sanibel from Miami again soon! :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Island Inn in Sanbel should be your 1st choice for the best island retreat. The website is well done and provides true info and good photos. I called the office to check and chat about the
reservations - very helpful with info and kindness.
The Inn is well done, clean, very efficient and friendly staff. The rooms are a step away from the fabulous beach. The restaurant is an added plus for breakfast and dinner - no need to drive away for a meal. Music and dance were on certain nights....
Of course the Island bar offers wonderful refreshments with a skilled bar attendant.

Having been to Sanbel on other occassions, the Island Inn is the only place I would consider to return to. Bikes for a nice trip around the island, easy access to Captiva drives, don't forget the Shell Museum and spots you may find with the various literature.

We stayed 5 days and hated to leave.....the quality and attention by the staff is superior!!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are centrally located, depends on the # in your party.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishingflats, Manager at Island Inn, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you for staying at the Island Inn and for leaving a review of your experience.

I appreciate you mentioning the accuracy of our website, as ensuring guest’s expectations are in line with reality is something the Inn takes great pride in. I’m also glad you found our staff to be helpful and our onsite restaurant to be to your liking. I agree that being able to have a wonderful dinner and then walk back to your beachfront accommodation is a great amenity.

Thank you again for your stay and comments. The fact that you have stayed at other accommodations on Sanibel and choose to return to ours is a wonderful compliment. I hope your travels back to the panhandle were safe and you are able to return to the Island Inn soon! :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

A charming and very nice hotel at the beach in Sanibel. Perfect location at the beach. Nice rooms and good service. Breakfast was not so good. Quite small pool area, but ok. But overall very nice hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishingflats, Manager at Island Inn, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you for your review and stay at the Island Inn. I hope your travels back to Stockholm were safe and you are able to visit Sanibel Island again soon! :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlands Ranch, Colorado
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

My wife & I spent 3 nights at the Island Inn while visiting family in Florida in late October. We came here to see how the Inn and Sanibel Island in general had changed since I was there as a child 40+ years ago. Island Inn is basically the same as it has always been, i.e. a classic resort on a large property at a great south shore Sanibel location. The island has been hugely developed over the years but the Inn still maintains it's old Florida charm. Unlike the neighboring resorts which all appear to be built right on top of each other, Island Inn has tons of space including lots of beachfront to spread out and there are still plenty of seashells to be found, especially after the recent full moon extra-high tides. We enjoyed our Gulfview deluxe room with a small screened in porch. Also liked the daily continental breakfast included which we typically took out onto the beach. Dinner in the Traditions restaurant was very good too. Overall it is a great place to stay and I hope it won't be so long before we return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishingflats, Manager at Island Inn, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you for leaving a review of your stay at the Island Inn and coming back to visit after all these years!

It’s so nice to hear that folks appreciate the Inn for its competitive differences; the lowest density on Sanibel, unparalleled beach proximity and old Florida charm with modern accommodations/amenities.

Thanks for your lovely review and beautiful pictures… please don’t wait another 40 years to return to the Island Inn! :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

This is a lovely place with an interesting history. All rooms have a beach view. We were in Matthews Lodge with full kitchen and screened balcony. Nothing special about room but adequately appointed and very clean. The grounds are lovely with old trees and well tended flower beds. Tennis court, shuffle board, pool....but best of all is the lovely CLEAN beach which stretches for miles. We spent every day "shelling" and swimming in the gulf, and evenings on the beach at night star-gazing. The staff of the Island Inn are all friendly and accomodating....from email information to in-person at the resort. Very relaxing atmosphere; not fro-fro; sweet and peaceful. Bikes for rent. Yes, there are "no-seeums" on all the beaches: early morning and evening: take deet spray. "Traditions" restaurant on beach (check it out under its own review). Enjoyed cocktails and "rocking it out" dancing for birthday: what fun! ONLY suggestion I would make is one that others have mentioned: the continental breakfasts really could easily be better. It's a little buffet with coffee/tea, juices, hard-boiled eggs,mixed bowl of fruit and a bunch of pastries. It would be easy to have a varety of cereals, fresh fruits, a toaster with good breads, etc. Also a tacky for there to be a "tip box" for the breakfast staff. Really?!? I have to say that I DO have high and appropriate standards for my lodging and have enjoyed many different types of accomodations (from hostels to 5 star).......if you appreciate history, nature, quiet, and peace this is the place for you. It may be that some 20-30 year olds might find Island Inn too quiet--expecially if they prefer a late night more upbeat atmosphere. Fortunately, there are plenty of those places on this beautiful island for them as well!

Room Tip: Depends on what you want. There are cottages and rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishingflats, Manager at Island Inn, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you for your review and stay at the Island Inn. I’m glad you enjoyed the accommodations, surroundings and amenities and hope you are able to return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Island Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Inn

Address: 3111 West Gulf Drive, Sanibel Island, FL 33957
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Sanibel Island
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Sanibel Island
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Sanibel Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Island Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted "Best Inn on the Island," the Island Inn, with its combination of old Florida cottages and modern lodges, sits on 10 beautiful Gulf front acres, offering 550 feet of beach with some of the best shelling in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Island Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Hotel Sanibel Island
Island Sanibel
Island Resort Sanibel
Is Sanibel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Island Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.