We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect spot!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Island Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Island Inn to your Saves list
Island Inn
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   3111 West Gulf Drive, Sanibel Island, FL 33957   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
BOOK DIRECT & SAVE!!!
Ranked #6 of 27 Hotels in Sanibel Island
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
New London, CT
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Perfect spot!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

I was taking a vacation entirely on my own for the first time. The Island Inn was in a perfect location for access to activities on Sanibel with the convenience of its own beach, etc. The inn is small enough so you can enjoy the quiet, listen to the waves and enjoy the spectacular sunsets. My room was just what I needed (jr. suite - Kimball), and I found it to be immaculate. Carpet had stains, but was recently cleaned. I understand renovations are in order. Staff was friendly and helpful. A small room repair (hook on bathroom door) was fixed in a timely and friendly manner. I found the bed to be very comfortable, but they could use plumper pillows. Free continental breakfast was typical, but there are plenty of options in the area. I enjoyed the variety of birds feeding on the beach and seeing the protected turtle nests. I felt like I was staying in a nature sanctuary, which I guess I was! I would go back.

Room Tip: Book directly with the inn to tell them what your needs/wants are.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishingflats, Manager at Island Inn, responded to this review, August 31, 2011
Thank you for your review of the Island Inn and we are honored you chose our resort to host your maiden voyage. Your Room Tip is the absolute best advise that can be offered to prospective guests! Although we are a smaller/boutique resort, we have many different accommodation types. Allowing one of our friendly and knowledgeable staff to assist with accommodation choices will ensure your expectations are met.

As you mentioned, all the carpet in our accommodations will be replaced with tile and hardwoods during the month of September, along with many other upgrades throughout the property.

I’m glad you embraced the pristine natural surrounding of Sanibel and the Inn…. there truly is no other place like it!!! Thank you again for your review and we hope to see you again in the near future. :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

887 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    518
    253
    74
    32
    10
See reviews for
234
445
23
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winter Haven
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

The Island Inn is a unique place with lots of gulffront acreage and low density.
The hotel was in full capacity, but you would never know it! If you like the laid back
old Island feel, you will love the Island Inn. Always great shelling right at your
doorstep practically. They offer a superb complimentary breakfast buffet as well.
The staff is always friendly and super helpful.

Room Tip: Most all rooms and cottages have a gulf view, but my favorite is the Kimbal Lodge, full Gulf view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishingflats, Manager at Island Inn, responded to this review, August 25, 2011
Thank you so much for leaving a review of your stay at the Island Inn. The staff at the Inn remembers you and the pleasure was truly ours. Your review brings up some great points and highlights why the Island Inn is a special and markedly different resort then most others on Sanibel/Captiva. We appreciate you being such a loyal member of the Island Inn family and hope to see you again very soon! :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, Florida
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

Pros: free continental breakfast with great service, private beach, grills, shelling, horseshoes, volleyball, big balcony, and great location.
Cons: outdated and overpriced menu (bar & restaurant)
Come with the mindset that is not a fancy hotel, but it is convenient and layback.
Tip: make reservations 4-6 months in advance for a great rate.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishingflats, Manager at Island Inn, responded to this review, August 23, 2011
Thank you for leaving a review of the Island Inn. It sounds like your stay at the hotel was very satisfying. We hope to see you return and, remember, all of our accommodations are set to be upgraded in September of this year, so check back on our website or give us a call directly to see what room/cottage best fits your needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rantoul, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

The service we received during our trip was amazing. I want to send a big THANK YOU to Diane, Marguerite, and Nikki. My only suggestion would be to have an additional person assisting at breakfast or putting out the bagels/bread and an industrial toaster so the guest could serve themselves.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishingflats, Manager at Island Inn, responded to this review, August 30, 2011
Thank you for staying with us and leaving a review. We appreciate you recognizing our dedicated staff and will take your suggestion in order to better our guest services. Again, thank you for staying at the Island Inn. :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

My husband and I stayed for a weekend for our 20th wedding anniversary. Upon our arrival we found a beautiful hand-written card from the staff congratulating us on our anniversary, along with two champagne glasses and a bottle of champagne in the fridge! Our room was clean and charming, with a screened balcony and table /chairs, and overlooking the gulf. We had easy access to our car which we loaded up with our bikes and kayaks and enjoyed all of Sanibel and Captiva. A beautiful and low-key inn, with attentive and knowledgable staff. Great location for biking the island. We had a wonderful anniversary at the Island Inn and will certainly be back!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishingflats, Manager at Island Inn, responded to this review, August 16, 2011
Thank you for your stay and review of the Island Inn. It sounds like you folks embraced the charm off the Inn and took advantage of what Sanibel has to offer. We hope you return for your 21st Anniversary and for any other reason in between! :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

With three of us, one sleeping on a rollaway, we were charged over $300 per night. The room was okay, but obviously old - bathroom door needed replacing. The dining room seemed formal, and appeared to be used by the "old families - in crowd" who keep returning for generations. Breakfast, included, was not much better than the cheap motels that offer a continental buffet, and the service was terrible - we resented the suggestion that we should tip $3 per person for it. When one of us left a day early, they refused to credit us the $18 breakfast charge. Dinners were very good, but also very pricey. I wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishingflats, Manager at Island Inn, responded to this review, August 16, 2011
Thank you for your review of your stay 6 months ago. All of our room types are similarly priced, but have very different configurations. In the future, I would suggest choosing a room type that has bedding to fit your needs (i.e. – Gulfview Studio – 2 double beds, double pullout sofa). There may have been some confusion concerning the $18 charge. All rates are double occupancy and, during the time period you stayed, extra adults are $18 per day and extra children are $15 per day. Breakfast is FREE. We’re glad you enjoyed dinner at Traditions on the Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

This dump was in the perfect spot in Sanibel but really needs to do some renovating and upgrading to match other resorts. For the price (145 a night) we should have had a better room as ours was run down, sliding glass door was broken, water pressure messed up, roads were nasty and needing holes filled. It was just a mess compared to the other cute little resorts in the area. To top it all off we have come home with bed bugs. During checkout we alerted them to the issue to which staff started defending themselves and looking at us like we were crazy instead of wanting to take care of the issue. I feel bad for the next couple that gets our room if they don't take care of it. KEEP LOOKING. there are other really cute places in the same area as this.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishingflats, Manager at Island Inn, responded to this review, August 11, 2011
Thank you for your review. WE HAVE NEVER HAD ANY INSTANCE OF BED BUGS and, because of our extremely proactive measures, can say with confidence that we never will. We thoroughly checked your room and did not find any evidence. Regardless, the room was heat-treated, just to error on the side of caution. As explained to you upon check out, most often folks fall victim to no-see-ums, which are sand flees native to the beaches and mangroves of the islands. They can be ferocious and, if not prevented with spray, can leave quite a mark on there victims. We sell a locally produced spray at our front desk that is made with all natural products and prevents these critters from affecting your stay.

From the price you quoted I see that you stayed in our Gulfside Guest Room, which is our smallest accommodation (1 double bed, no view, no porch). I would suggest looking at our Gulfview Rooms next time, as they are much more spacious with larger bedding and screened porches overlooking the Gulf. These rooms are priced $14-$34 more per night. I’m sorry to hear of your maintenance woes and dissatisfaction with the roads on Sanibel. Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Island Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Inn

Address: 3111 West Gulf Drive, Sanibel Island, FL 33957
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Sanibel Island
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Sanibel Island
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Sanibel Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Island Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted "Best Inn on the Island," the Island Inn, with its combination of old Florida cottages and modern lodges, sits on 10 beautiful Gulf front acres, offering 550 feet of beach with some of the best shelling in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Island Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Hotel Sanibel Island
Island Sanibel
Island Resort Sanibel
Is Sanibel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Island Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.