We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of IL Cielo

IL Cielo
1244 Periwinkle Way, 1/10 mile east of Donax Street, Sanibel Island, FL 33957
+1 239-472-5555
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
IL Cielo is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Price range: $6 - $38
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Periwinkle
Description: Warm and Inviting dining areas with a separate bar/lounge. Piano music Thursday,Friday and Saturday evenings. Daily specials, 3 course Prix fixe available Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday until 6:30pm. Daily Happy Hour from 4:30-6:00pm
Cheshire England
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014 via mobile

Very good food, friendly service. More luxurious than other Sanibel restaurants, quite formal dining but easy going atmosphere. Highly recommended.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    207
    48
    20
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“A sleeper on Sanibel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

We have dined here many times but last year they changed management and what an improvement. We prefer to dine on the small porch as they have it decorated so one does not see the parking. The food and presentation are both superb. salads are definitely large enough to split. My favorite dinner is the small lamb chop serving of 2 chops for 22.00. The pork chop is large. The fish is delicious ,esp if it's local. Wait staff are knowledgable and pleasant. We have also attended private events here and they have done an excellent job.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
2 reviews
“Yes, Yes, Yes!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

great food, yes...great service, yes....great ambiance, yes!
Beautifully prepared and presented,great combinations of flavors. Great drink menu and wines.
We are going back for a second meal this week!
The fixed price menu selections were excellent and bountiful, a real value.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middleton
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Fixed Price Menu Is A Wonderful Value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

We've been coming to Sanibel the same two weeks late April for over 35 years. This was our first visit to Il Cielo and found it because of TripAdvisor. Simply an outstanding restaurant. We went for the fixed price menu. I had meatballs as my appetizer, wonderful mushroom soup, and the fish of the day as my entree. Fixed price is $38 and includes these plus two glasses of wine. Topped it off with the key lime desert. John was our waiter and did an exemplary job. The chef came out to check on the quality of the meal. We will be back soon.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good food but not special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

We visited with a family of four. Friendly service and not too busy. Food was good but nothing special. To be in Sanibel not really worth tje price.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed IL Cielo also viewed

Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to IL Cielo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage IL Cielo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.