We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish atmosphere. Great food. Nice wine list. Excellent!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of IL Cielo

IL Cielo
1244 Periwinkle Way, 1/10 mile east of Donax Street, Sanibel Island, FL 33957
+1 239-472-5555
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
IL Cielo is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Price range: $6 - $38
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Periwinkle
Description: Warm and Inviting dining areas with a separate bar/lounge. Piano music Thursday,Friday and Saturday evenings. Daily specials, 3 course Prix fixe available Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday until 6:30pm. Daily Happy Hour from 4:30-6:00pm
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Stylish atmosphere. Great food. Nice wine list. Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

We weren't sure about Il Cielo at first but once we peeked inside, with locals enjoying afternoon martinis and wine while the piano man played, we thought we would check it out.

The service from Niki was awesome. Very attentive. Never rushed.

Food was top notch... Grouper, the Lobster Ravioli, the soup, even the bread was good. Wine selection was well rounded too.

Manager came by to chat and make sure we were good. Kids menu was really good too.

It was nice to see something fresh and not deep fried for a change too!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    207
    48
    20
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hudson, Ohio, United States
1 review
“Best Restaurant on Sanibel-Captiva”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

After dining at a number of the higher rated restaurants in the Sanibel-Captiva area and not being overly impressed, my Husband and I were pleasantly surprised by the excellent food and service at Il Cielo. Our server was warm, helpful, and very attentive (hands down, the best service we have had on the islands). We ordered the seafood special ("cobia") which was perfect, and the banana cake desert was out of this world! The ambience at Il Cielo is romantic and uplifting, and the plateware, silver, and glasses were impeccably clean (another first since we have been here). Excellent wine list - we will return before our vacation is over!!!

Il Cielo is easily the best restaurant in the Sanibel-Captiva area!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Fantastic. I wish this restaurant was in my neighborhood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Causal yet elegant. The decor, lighting, and service are all outstanding. It seems very upscale, but we were not out of place dining causal with nice shorts (no beachwear). The hostess was very hospitable and the servers very professional. The food was excellnt with great choices and modest prices for what you get (should cost more). If this restaurant was in our neighborhood and not at our vacation retreat, we would probably go weekly.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Incredible food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We read mixed reviews here about this restaurant but decided to give it a try. We asked about the differences in the menus in both the Cloud 9 grill area and the dining room. We were told that we could order from either menu in either dining area so we opted for the more formal area. Our waiter was very nice and the service was excellent. My husband ordered a steak which was wonderful. I decided on the blue crab crusted black grouper which was outstanding, not all all "fishy" and just the right balance of flavor. Our meal was served with fantastic homemade bread. The menu (and waiter) indicated that sides are additional, but the chef garnished our plates with vegetables, so next time I probably won't order a separate plate of these. Homemade desserts topped off our meals. Yes, the meal was a little pricey, but totally worth it. Actually, for anyone who has eaten at other restaurants on Sanibel (which has quite a few upscale places) our meal tab was not that much different that the other places we tried. This restaurant would probably not be considered a "family" place, but we did a family with a young child in there and they were accommodated well. Overall, one of the best restaurant experiences we have ever had on Sanibel Island, and we have been going there for 4 yrs.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neptune, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Amazing experience fabulous food on Sanibel island!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Loved this restaurant. Fantastic experience. Food was exceptionally amazing. Service was outstanding. This was our last night in Sanibel and I am thrilled to have found this restaurant. Our server Brian was excellent, lamb chops were sublime and the specials were beyond fantastic! The atmosphere was the best on the island if you enjoy superior, classy yet warm and friendly restaurants. The entire meal was beyond words amazing. We did not think it could be any better until the chef Neal came to see how we were enjoying our meal. He was so friendly and then created us a dessert worthy of royalty. Excellent wine selections and full bar. They also have live entertainment on Friday nights. This is one place you don't want to miss! Delicious amazing restaurant with outstanding food and service!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed IL Cielo also viewed

Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to IL Cielo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage IL Cielo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.