We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Much Improved” 4 of 5 stars
Review of IL Cielo

IL Cielo
1244 Periwinkle Way, 1/10 mile east of Donax Street, Sanibel Island, FL 33957
+1 239-472-5555
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
IL Cielo is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Price range: $4 - $38
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Periwinkle
Description: Warm and Inviting dining areas with a separate bar/lounge. Piano music Friday and Saturday evenings. Daily specials, 3 course prix fixe $38 & daily Happy Hour from 4:30-6:00pm
USA
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Very Much Improved”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012 via mobile

This new restaurant is very much improved over its predecessors and, while expensive, is good value, all considered ... Recommended

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    160
    41
    20
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
USA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Il Cielo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

This was a lovely restaurant - great food and service. We had our best meal in Sanibel here.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Il Cielo a wonderful addition to Island dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

This authentic Italian restaurant has terrific food served in a special grown up atmosphere. It is a wonderful addition to the touristy, or should I say, "family" restaurants on Sanibel. As long time island residents, we love having Il Cielo to visit when we want a quiet, rather formal (for laid back Sanibel) dining experience. We usually go with friends, dine beautifully, listen to the piano, and sometimes we go alone for a special treat..and a little hand holding!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best meal on Sanibel in 25 years”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

It was our first time at the restaurant and we were NOT disappointed. The meal was fabulous. Our waiter, Dan, was great. The food was excellent. We do not believe you could go wrong with any item on the menu. The atmosphere was very nice. It was easy to carry on a conversation at our table, which was a huge plus. The wine sommelier helped us select 2 wines that we truly enjoyed. We enjoyed meeting the chef! We all felt (4 of us) that is was the best meal we have ever had on Sanibel and we have been coming for 25 years! Wish we had a chance to go back again before we headed home. Will definitely go back! We wish them the best of luck.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, NY
1 review
“Superb Flavors in Italian Cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

We had a wonderful experience! The food is fresh and the flavors are amazing. Would have to recommend the goat cheese/pear salad, the grilled lamb and the most decadent chocolate mousse. The staff is friendly and most accommodating; the atmosphere is elegant and this place is a step above the other restaurants in the area. Had a fantastic experience and can't wait to go back again!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed IL Cielo also viewed

Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to IL Cielo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage IL Cielo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.