We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just as good the second time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sanibel Moorings Botanical Gardens

Sanibel Moorings Botanical Gardens
845 East Gulf Drive, Sanibel Island, FL 33957
239-472-4119
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Gardens, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Botanical Gardens of Sanibel Moorings Resort are overflowing with 6 acres of mature and unusual tropical flora and fauna. Join the Head Gardener, Anita Force Marshall, for an open to the public 2 hour walking tour. A must see for plant lovers and Garden Clubs!Every Wednesday at 9am. RSVP required please. $5.00 fee per person. Self Guided Tours are available daily 8am-5pm, check in at the office after parking in a GUEST parking space. This will take you around 6 acres of our tropical botanical beauties at your own leisurely pace. Fee is $5.00/group donation.
Leesport, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Just as good the second time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

First of all – don’t expect the normal botanical garden format stuffed into a little square box. At first glance this looks just like any other condo complex but with upgraded greenery. It is, in reality, a six acre property with thousands of interesting and unique plants scattered in a more natural looking setting. Without the tour or at least the guide sheet you could walk past most of the plants without ever knowing what is there or why it is there. We enjoyed this tour so much last year that we returned with 4 friends this year. All of us enjoyed the tour very much even though the weather was rather damp and cold. Many times attractions seem great the first time and are a disappointment the second, but this was every bit as enjoyable on our repeat visit. The guide, Anita, is extremely knowledgeable and personable. The tour is aimed not only at pointing out the many species of flowers and plants on the grounds, but also explaining why they are there and why they may or not be flowering at the present time. Be sure to make reservations as far in advance as possible because the tours are limited to about 15 people and they fill up quickly.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anitabutterfly, Head Gardener at Sanibel Moorings Botanical Gardens, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Wow - Phillip W, thank you for your descriptive and informative review. We really enjoy garden lovers like you who return and even bring more friends to share our appreciation of flowers, critters, and gardens. Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    23
    6
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Florida City, Florida
1 review
“What a scam”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

This is just a condo complex with flowers, they make it seem like theres something to do. Its nothing special, the name botanical garden is just misleading. They make you pay 5 bucks to walk around condos. If i knew it was that, i wouldve never went. The only good part was the beach behind the condo property.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anitabutterfly, Head Gardener at Sanibel Moorings Botanical Gardens, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
mbc4112, we are a registered Botanical Garden and a member of the American Horticultural Society. We are not a Scam. We are very proud of our garden collections numbering thousands of tropical plants that surround our lovely beachfront Condos.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Indiana
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“"Y.O.L.O" Great place to stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

We celebrated Christmas gulf front by the beach, which I might add very accessible and included free beach chairs and umbrellas. We were very blessed with great weather. It was a fully furnished kitchen, just bring your food and condiments, cooking was so easy. Very clean in appearance. Staff were very pleasant. The grounds are in full bloom and beautiful, even at this time of year. Great places to eat on the island. We highly recommend driving to Captiva and try The Bubble room cakes along with there atmosphere. Also try Doc Fords signature dish .Best Food at Doc Fords ever! But now back to Sanibel Moorings, we recommend it for fun and relaxation in the sun! Also we were lucky to meet new friends, everyone was so pleasant. The only regret I had, I might add is of my own negligence, I lost my paw ring of sentimental value. So if you find it, please turn it in at Moorings resort, they are keeping their eyes out for me..lol. We will be returning soon! Missing Sanibel already,
Freezing Indiana Couple

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anitabutterfly, Head Gardener at Sanibel Moorings Botanical Gardens, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Thank you Linders2013 for such a glowing review. We are always happy to add to a fabulous vacation in our condos and gardens. Come back to stay with again real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galena, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Botanical Garden Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

WOW! This was one of the best garden tours I have been on. Anita really knows her stuff. She made the tour informative and funny. I wish I had been on the island for a longer time as I'd have liked to stay around and just walk the property. I don't know much about plants (I have a black thumb), but I'd love to live around there to have some of those plants in my garden. Thanks for a wonderful tour.

Visited January 2014

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anitabutterfly, Head Gardener at Sanibel Moorings Botanical Gardens, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Theresa J, how wonderful to receive such a great review from you. thank you for all your enthusiasm and please come back to our gardens real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Gardens were awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

Take some time from the sunny beach to enjoy a tropical garden paradise. Tours for non guests are held on Wednesdays for a $5 fee. Guest of the Moorings have a free tour on Thursdays. there is also a self guided tour to help identify the numerous tropical beauties on the property. It's like walking through your own dish garden except the plants are life size.

Visited January 2014

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anitabutterfly, Head Gardener at Sanibel Moorings Botanical Gardens, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Thank you Lisa B for your awesome review. We really enjoyed your analogy about our gardens being one gigantic dish garden. Great description!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sanibel Moorings Botanical Gardens also viewed

Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Sanibel Moorings Botanical Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sanibel Moorings Botanical Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.