We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loggerhead Cay always great.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Loggerhead Cay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Loggerhead Cay to your Saves list
Loggerhead Cay
979 E. Gulf Dr., Sanibel Island, FL 33957   |  
Hotel amenities
Rochester NY
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Loggerhead Cay always great.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I have stayed at three different condos at Loggerhead Cay over the past 6 years.
I go through personal rentals on VRBO or Vacation Rentals.com.
The price is usually more reasonable than a rental agency.
Each is personally owned, not a timeshare. Some owners keep their condo nicer than others. But overall it has been a great experience. Good location, feels safe. Easy walk to beach. Pool, grills, tennis available. The condos are larger then many of the new ones. I stayed once at Shell island Beach club and theirs are tiny compared to Loggerhead. I feel more at home here. Each condo is decorated by the owners. I highly recommend this location.

Room Tip: First floor is nice because you can walk right out the lanai to go to the beach or pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    18
    8
    1
    1
See reviews for
47
10
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We stayed for a week in late October in a ground-floor unit (531). This was our first stay at Loggerhead Cay. The condo was clean and nicely furnished (although not recently updated). We opted for a ground-floor unit instead of a more recently updated higher floor unit, since we were traveling with our small dog. The unit had two bedrooms, two baths, a large kitchen and dining area, living area, a washer and dryer, and a nice screened porch with access to the courtyard. The short walk to the beach was perfect for catching the sunrises and sunsets. Each unit had a specific parking spot. It is a little different staying in a rental unit versus a hotel-like condo, no daily housekeeping, no umbrellas or chairs set up on the beach, and the rental agency was off site. We did have extra towels and a starter set of paper goods, soaps, dish detergent, etc. The grounds were well kept and beautifully landscaped. Although we did not use the pool, it looked nice. The area was quiet and it was easy to access shopping and restaurants. I would definitely consider staying here again.

Room Tip: Definitely view your specific condo and location before booking to get an idea of what to expect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012 via mobile

Oh my...last year we were in 532 this year ground level 211...both were very nice and both have pros and cons...obviously ground floor 211 had the convenience of walking out the back patio door for a very short walk to beach or pool...532 was fully carpeted except for kitchen...211 had ceramic tile throughout...both were spacious 2 bedroom units....master bath in 532 was as big as bedroom at home! This place has to one of the very best places we have stayed @ with the many vacations we have taken over the years. You will not be disappointed! Staff @ check in we're very accommodating and friendly....be sure to visit Captiva while staying here! Island Pizza on Sanibel is also very good....enjoy, we did!

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012 via mobile

In June 2011 myself along with 20 others from the UK and friends from the US gathered to celebrate our Wedding at loggerhead. My family have been coming to loggerhead since 1994 and have met some wonderful life long friends here all of which were at our wedding.
We stayed in apartment 551 but in all we had 5 apartments booked between the UK guests.
The grounds were immaculate and the beach was the perfect back drop for the wedding and provided the perfect location for our wedding photos.

We will defiantly be returning in the next few years and hopefully may renew our vowels at some point in this beatific location.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

This was our second trip to Sanibel, and both times we have rented unit 184 through Sanibel Holiday/VRBO. We came here for our honeymoon on this trip, and couldn't have picked better: this place is amazing! The unit is decorated beautifully with all of the comforts of home, and its location really couldn't be better: steps from both the beach and the well-maintained pool. I really can't recommend this unit and location enough.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walpole, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

Just returned from a wonderful 2 week stay at Loggerhead Cay. We stayed in 301 and loved it. The walk to the beach was easy and very short so didn't mind staying in the building further in back. The unit was very clean and comfortable with plenty of chairs and an umbrella. We rented through Royal Shell and they were a pleasure to deal with. Sanibel is like being in paradise. We will definitely be back and would stay here again

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012 via mobile

This unit is so close to the beach. There are no ther units obstructing the view. And being in the ground floor means just stepping out to the beach from the porch. The materials I received about this unit stated that there were no beach towels or chairs provided. I almost rented some to be waiting for us when we arrived. I'm really glad I didn't. Not only are there towels, there are six sand chairs and a great selection of board games. The unit is charming with bright blue and yellow accents. The layout accommodates 4 very comfortably with two bedrooms and two baths. Felt like a true home away from home.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Loggerhead Cay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loggerhead Cay

Address: 979 E. Gulf Dr., Sanibel Island, FL 33957
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Sanibel Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 168
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Loggerhead Cay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loggerhead Cay Hotel Sanibel Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loggerhead Cay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.