We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1st vacation to Sanibel wont be our last!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Waterside Inn on the Beach

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sanibel Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Waterside Inn on the Beach
Save
You added Waterside Inn on the Beach to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   3033 W. Gulf Dr., Sanibel Island, FL 33957   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 27 Hotels in Sanibel Island
Indianapolis, Indiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“1st vacation to Sanibel wont be our last!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

These are cutest cottages ever!! I was very appreciative that they allowed my husband and I and my three teen daughters to stay in one cottage and not force us into two rooms/cottages...they only requested we bring an air mattress, which worked out perfectly...the location and distance to beach was perfect, not too far away. Wasn't able to see ocean from patio, but that didn't matter as we were usually on the beach during daylight hours anyway... swimming pool was very cleaning and refreshing! It was really awesome how friendly the other guests were and from listening to their stories they were return guests!! Some showed us how to find sand dollars and star fish and educated us about keeping them in water so they would die! We will definitely choose Waterside Inn again on our next trip to the island!!! I hesitate on giving such great review for fear others will find our little gem of a treasure and book it up away from us....

Room Tip: There isn't a bad room at all.... our bed was extremely comfortable as well!! We stayed raspberr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanibelblondie, Owner at Waterside Inn on the Beach, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
We appreciate your feedback on Trip Advisor and best of all, your great review of Waterside Inn on the Beach. Our cottages are really a throwback to simpler times and the location of Waterside Inn is excellent as well as we are tucked away a little from the busier parts of the island. There is something about staying here that makes you feel like you can relax, have fun, and be yourself. Now that the busy season is over, we are sprucing up the grounds for your arrival next year! Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    93
    17
    19
    8
See reviews for
114
116
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lake Mary, Florida
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Sadly due to an issue at home we had to leave this morning - one day early. Front desk - Jean - was super understanding, and actually sold our room for our last day in 10 minutes. We loved Waterside. This is our second time in Sanibel but first time here and would not hesitate one moment to book here again. We stayed in Pineapple Lodge; the room was a good size and the full kitchen contained everything including utensils and cookware = we needed including paper towels and dish soap. Room was very clean. Loved the front and back porch. The bathroom was also a good size with a double sink - the shower was really nice after basking at the pool and beach, riding bikes - all day. The beds were wonderful; very comfortable. The maintenance man - John (Go Steelers) was so accommodating for getting our patio screen on track. We even used the laundry facilities - so convenient. There were enough beach lounge chairs for everyone, and you can drag them out to the beach if you need them. The pool area was fairly shady so you did not burn in the heat of the day. The hotel is close enough to Bailey's Supermarket by bike, but the bike trail is just across the street. All was actually perfect. We actually talked to several people at the pool staying in the cottages and Pineapple that loved this place. We heard not one adverse comment. Thanks Waterside for giving us 6 perfect days to unwind. People always asking about no-see-ems - not one bite on us!

Room Tip: Ask for a gulf view, second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanibelblondie, Owner at Waterside Inn on the Beach, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Thank you for choosing Waterside Inn for your recent stay on Sanibel. We hear quite often that Waterside Inn ends up being our guest's favorite destination when visiting our island. Our main goal is to bring you back again and again. I hope your rush home was a safe one and that everything turned out OK. Thank you again for taking the time to review our hotel and sharing it with others. I look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle, washington
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

This was our 2nd visit to Sanibel and won't be our last. We loved Waterside Inn because it was just so comfortable for our family. It isn't fancy or luxurious, but when you have kids going in and out with sandy feet, who wants fancy? We would have loved a cottage, but they were all full. The lodge room was nostalgic and a throwback to our own childhoods.
Everything that we needed or wanted was provided. We cooked dinner one night and weren't lacking in anything needed to cook a nice meal. There were a couple of BBQ's for common use and even a palapa covered picnic table for anyone that wanted to eat outside. The Inn is right on the fantastic beach and they provide beach towels and lounge chairs. We were all so happy that we added another night to our stay. We will be back! P.S. The employees/owners are all so friendly and helpful! Thank you!

Room Tip: I don't think there is a bad room here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanibelblondie, Owner at Waterside Inn on the Beach, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
What a great review! Thank you for all your kind words and the "thumbs up". We're so glad you had such a wonderful time here and look forward to year #3. Hurry back :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waynesboro, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

We stayed in the Blueberry Cottage with our 3 kids and two dogs. It is a very nice quiet place to stay. I love that it is not full of people partying and the owners keep it that way. We were given an abundant amount of towels every day, I never had to ask for more pillows or blankets as there was more than enough. My son was able to use their fishing equipment without charge, which is wonderful. I can't recommend it enough, we will most certainly be returning :-)

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanibelblondie, Owner at Waterside Inn on the Beach, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Thanks for the kind review. Sounds like you had a super vacation with your family. We're so glad we were able to serve you and look forward to your return soon. Until then,remember Waterside Inn as your "happy place".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

The Waterside Inn on West Gulf drive is a comfortable and relaxing location! The condos where we stayed a number of times in different units(based on availability) have all provided amenities needed to enjoy a few days away! Full kitchens with washer and dryer, 2B/2B enough for a family! Nice to have the salt water pool in addition to the ocean within a minute walking distance!
Sunsets are not in clear view as there are obstructions to the west but you can still fully enjoy the majority of the descending sun off into the distance! Bikes for rent a reasonable rate, shuffle boarding and just quiet relaxation a treat!! Location is great on the island as you can access Captiva easily or head to Periwinkle quickly...Truly enjoyed the time and found the staff to be friendly and accommodating! Look forward to my return...

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanibelblondie, Owner at Waterside Inn on the Beach, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Low key and comfortable is a perfect description of our properties. We appreciate your informative and kind review of the Breakers West Condos. They are wonderful for our bigger parties and families. The big screened in patio porches that over look the pool and garden area are perfect for relaxing and cooling off in the shade. For all the sun lovers, try the private sundeck on the roof of the building. If you can't make it to the beach, the sundeck is another great place to watch the sunset. Ahhh, decisions, decisions. See you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

My family comes from far and wide every year for a 4 night stay. We all rent different units depending on our own situations and needs, so the options are perfect. We have 2 parties in the condos, 1 in the Blueberry, 1 in the mango, and this trip we added more family in the Pineapple lodge. The rooms are always clean and well stocked. We've been coming every year for 11 years and could not imagine ever going anywhere else. We are a large and boisterous bunch and have always felt free to just be who we are. The graciousness of the staff is much appreciated. We ADORE you Waterside Inn! See you next June.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanibelblondie, Owner at Waterside Inn on the Beach, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Thanks for your support and business! Yes,you are a fun crowd, and we love seeing you every year...may the tradition live on!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

My family and I come here every Father's Day for the past 10 years. We love it here.

The grounds are extremely clean and well cared for. We always stay In the Breakers condos. It is like a home away from home. The kitchen is well stocked of cooking utensils all you need to bring is the food. There are even gas grills.

The pool is well maintained and extremely clean. It is a short walk to the gulf from the condos.

The staff provide excellent customer service and I have never had an issue they did not resolve quickly and to my full satisfaction. I highly recommend this gem on the beach!

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanibelblondie, Owner at Waterside Inn on the Beach, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Thank you not only for taking the time to review our little slice of paradise, but for also recognizing our dedicated staff and their continued effort to provide excellent customer service. We are only here to make your vacation the best ever! Glad we came through. See you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Waterside Inn on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterside Inn on the Beach

Address: 3033 W. Gulf Dr., Sanibel Island, FL 33957
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Sanibel Island
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Sanibel Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Waterside Inn on the Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Are you searching for that true Olde Florida charm and style? Look no further than Waterside Inn! You?re just steps away from the beautiful beaches of Sanibel. Amenities include a heated pool, beach loungers, on-site bike rentals, and BBQ grills. Come to relax and unwind in one of our small inns or cottages. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Waterside Inn On The Beach Hotel Sanibel Island
Waterside Hotel Sanibel Island
Waterside Resort Sanibel Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waterside Inn on the Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.