We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shalimar Cottages and Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Shalimar Cottages and Motel to your Saves list
Shalimar Cottages and Motel
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   2823 West Gulf Drive, Sanibel Island, FL 33957   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
September Special $129
Ranked #9 of 27 Hotels in Sanibel Island
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

The cottages are probably better than the hotel rooms just because of the thin walls. You can hear people upstairs sneezing, coughing, walking around-if you are on the first floor. The cable reception is fuzzy but it could be because we are used to FiOs TV. The place was very clean, reception nice. Plastic beach chairs are available. The folks we met during our stay were great. Sunset awesome. Be aware of no seeiums. Use bug spray with deet in the morning and evening and when there is no wind. They are brutal. But the beach is awesome.

Room Tip: 2nd floor for less noise or a cottage for more privacy and peace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShalimarCottages, Manager at Shalimar Cottages and Motel, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and thank you for the feedback! We are more than happy to take care of any issues including "fuzzy" tvs during your stay. The cottages do provide more privacy as it is a single unit all on its own. Hope to see you come back and stay with us again soon! Thanks again! Shalimar management and staff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    65
    13
    14
    8
See reviews for
46
102
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Delray Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

I stayed in a beachfront cabin last month and it was total relaxation from start to finish. I stayed in cottage 6, however would recommend cottage 7 or cottage 4 or cottage 5 and then cottage 6 (in that order, if you get a choice) Cottage 6 is closest to the hotel section of the property and many of the rooms are close face into the back screen porch of this cottage.

Each cottage is comfortably furnished with a small kitchen for cooking dinner in or grabbing a quick lunch or breakfast. There is however the added bonus when you stay at this property to eat at the restaurant about 100 yards from the property which has a wonderful bar and great food. The restaurant is owned by the Shalimar Cottages owner and is truly an advantage to be able to walk to dinner.

There is a pool for after beach adventures and kayaks and bicycle on site for rental. If you prefer another type bicycle than the beach cruiser type--there are various rentals just up the road who will deliver.

They have beach umbrellas for rent at a reasonable price however, the beach chairs are the Adirondack type and you would probably want the fold out lounger type if you are a true "sun lover". You can rent those also at a local rental business or bring your own. We rented and it was quite reasonable, the chairs were new and we didn't have the hassle of packing.

Thumbs up for a cottage!!

Room Tip: choose oceanside cottages in this order 7, 4, 6, 5
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShalimarCottages, Manager at Shalimar Cottages and Motel, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Thank you for this wonderful 5 star feedback! Also, thank you for sharing the information and tips with our future guests! It is always great to hear that you had a great time and we are glad to hear about the restaurant next door! We hope to see you soon again! Give us a call and we will strive to meet your expectations during your next visit! Thanks again! Shalimar Management and Staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Norriton, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

We spent 5 wonderful days at the Shalimar resort in Cottage #3 the 2nd week of June celebrating our 40th wedding anniversary. It was kind of off season, so there were no crowds which is what we hoped for (peaceful and quiet). Cottage was spotless with parking for our car right next to the cottage, a nice screened in porch, very comfortable king size bed, clean bathroom, nice size living room/dining area with comfortable furniture, and galley kitchen. Lovely pool was located across from the cottage which was very well maintained. A very short walk on a sandy path to the fabulous beach. Shelling was terrific, gulf water was warm and inviting, and the sunsets in the evening were beautiful. Management could not have been anymore accommodating - they were welcoming, friendly, and attentive to any information or needs we had. We will definitely return to Shalimar and Sanibel again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShalimarCottages, Manager at Shalimar Cottages and Motel, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Thank you for this wonderful 5 star feedback! Glad to hear about your “Best Wedding Anniversary Ever!!!”. Here at Shalimar we do our best to maintain the property and provide the best accommodations for our guests. Thanks again for the wonderful comments about our property and staff! Hope to see you come back again for the next wedding anniversary!
Shalimar Management and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

We loved this place and it will probably be our go-to place from now on. We stayed in the big building but will probably do the cottage from now on. The reason is sort of a selfish one in that we had to deal with children above us running back and forth for long periods of time which became annoying. The only complaint we had was the A/C was not that great. The staff members were very nice. The beach was quiet and the resort had chairs and umbrellas if you needed them. The pool was refreshing and very clean. It is a cute, quaint little place!

Room Tip: Pick a cottage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShalimarCottages, Manager at Shalimar Cottages and Motel, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Thank you for your time and this great feedback! It is great to hear that you had a great time during your stay with us! We hope the AC issue didn't ruin your stay and for the next time, any issues/abnormalities with AC or anything else, please report to the front desk. We will be more than happy to help you and work with you! Give us a call for your next visit and see what we can offer you! Thanks again! Shalimar Management and Staff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

The location by beach was nice but bottom floor way to noisy and floors were gross and sheets were gross but pool was nice
It was all worth it for the beach going for a week i would not have made it but the cottages were nice

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShalimarCottages, Manager at Shalimar Cottages and Motel, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
We value each and every one of our guests feedback and thank you for sharing yours with us! We are sorry that your time spent with us was not a 5 star one! We do renovations every year, each year we do something different. We hope to see you come back and give us another chance to improve and show you what we really have to offer. On the other hand, we also would like to have a chance to improve during your stay and correct any issues on the spot such as replacing the sheets or offering you different accommodations.
Thanks again! Shalimar Management and Staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

We booked a 2 night stay at the last minute so unfortunately we couldn't get a cottage, but we did stay in an upstairs room. We quickly realized why upstairs is a must with how squeaky the floors are and we were trying to be quite for the people below us. We were on the end so thankfully only had to contend with one neighbor's noise. It wasn't something that ruined our stay (we have a noise machine for sleeping), but was noticeable. The man at the front desk was very friendly and the location can't be beat. The room was clean and well decorated but I will agree with other reviewers that the bathroom and kitchen areas could use upgrading. Additionally, you aren't allowed (signs posted) to lower your a/c past 72 degrees. For us that made nighttime a bit stuffy but not a deal breaker. Everything was in working order and sufficient though. The pool was clean and the grounds were very pretty. Overall I would recommend the Shalimar, especially if you can book a cottage!

Room Tip: Get a cottage or at minimum upstairs! Bring a noise machine if you stay in the motel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShalimarCottages, Manager at Shalimar Cottages and Motel, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Thank You for staying with us and the time you took to leave this feedback! We try our best to reduce the noise, but we are very limited to what we can do to the building since it is so close to the beach. Bathrooms and kitchens are next on our renovation list so hopefully, by your next visit, we will have something to show off! Thanks again for your great comments and tips! We hope to see you come back! Shalimar Management and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

We stayed for the weekend and had a great time - we stayed in the seahorse area - had a ocean view room was nice - pool was beautiful - they had bikes to ride - only a few steps and your on the beach to find awesome shells.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShalimarCottages, Manager at Shalimar Cottages and Motel, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
We are glad to hear about your great time at Shalimar! Thank you for the wonderful comments about our accommodations! Hope to hear from you about what we could do to improve your stay from a 4 star to a 5 star! Thank you again! Shalimar Management and Staff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shalimar Cottages and Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shalimar Cottages and Motel

Address: 2823 West Gulf Drive, Sanibel Island, FL 33957
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Sanibel Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Shalimar Cottages and Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shalimar is an Old Florida-style resort of 33 units located directly on the Gulf of Mexico. Blending in with the natural beauty of the island, Shalimar offers many features without spoiling the natural atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Shalimar Cottages and Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shalimar Cottages Hotel Sanibel Island
Shalimar Hotel Sanibel Island
Shalimar Motel Sanibel Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shalimar Cottages and Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.