We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view, very relaxing, warm pool and gulf water” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Ybel Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Casa Ybel Resort to your Saves list
Casa Ybel Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   2255 W Gulf Dr, Sanibel Island, FL 33957   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 27 Hotels in Sanibel Island
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Great view, very relaxing, warm pool and gulf water”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

These are just a few reasons we have come here for several years. We like having the balcony to put all our beach gear and avoid schlepping to the beach, since it's right in front of the unit. We watch the fireworks from the beach each 4th of July with a cocktail in hand. You do need sand shoes and mosquito repellent at night. We had a problem with the air conditioner after hours, and they sent someone immediately, and the problem was resolved. We enjoy the tie dye on Sunday at a minimal charge. The staff is friendly, and we enjoy the relaxed atmosphere. There are laundry facilities if needed, and the communal gas grills were very clean and had a fire starter and grill scraper.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    119
    46
    19
    18
See reviews for
158
150
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

Our family has owned a timeshare here for 34 years! I loved it as a kid, I loved it as an adult and now my kids love it! What a special family place. The grounds are always perfectly groomed, the room are perfectly clean! All of the staff is welcoming and friendly! It is perfect and you will love it too!
ONLY THING---there is no fitness center or room service.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lutz, Florida, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Perfect set up, sweet restaurant, Coconuts at the refreshing pool, volleyball, cabana rentals on the beach, etc. Perfect stay and a good time had by all. Room was clean and bright. We could cook in with the complete kitchen and serving utensils. Nice and quiet at night. The beach at the gulf is a BEACH. Bring beach shoes people. Sanibel is known for it's shells.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

My family stayed here last week!! We really enjoyed the resort. As far as the beach, it is VERY seashelly!! Plan on bringing watershoes, etc to walk the beach. Everyone was very friendly and helpful!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portage, Michigan
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Just returned from a week at Casa Ybell and I understand why most reviews are 4 of 5 stars. It's a nice place. But for me and my family it was all the little things that kept adding up that resulted in a 3 of 5 rating. Our condo unit was a bit worn and we found something in need of repair every day - it got to be a bit of joke for us - and most days presented at least one thing that made us wonder about our choice to stay here. For example, in our week long stay we fixed 2 towel racks (loose screws); one towel hook (it fell off the door); a shower door broke (wheel fell off); a kitchen cabinet door needed a fix; a dinning room chair lost it's plastic base and screw; and the safe stopped working (needed batteries). All the kitchen cabinets showed ware. We also noticed that the condo was stocked with the very minimum amount of stuff to function: we used ALL the pots and pans to cook a simple pasta and veggie dinner one night so big dinners are out; there are no plastic cups (pool safe); minimum number of plastic utensils; etc. The condo was mostly clean when we arrived but we spotted several items including pretzel pieces on the floor. Our second floor unit had a great view of the ocean but be reminded that only first floor units have easy access on the ocean side of the building. Everyday started off pretty quiet but the grounds crew was full of noise by 9am everyday with gas powered weed trimmers or mowers. If you like to sleep late or sit on the lanai and read in the morning, this is a problem. This time of year (June) the resort caters to families with kids so expect a busy pool area and plenty of kid associated noise. Every staff member we came into contact with was great and we especially enjoyed the staff at Coconuts (pool side bar) and a big shout-out to Chris at Coconuts for his always happy & excellent service! Overall, we had a nice visit but given the cost, we have many other places we would rather stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

We just returned from a week-long vacation at Casa Ybel Resort. We had a Wonderful time and I highly recommend it for young families. This is coming from someone that can be a tough critic! We have 2 children - 3 and 4. All the 2 BR suites are very nice - right on the beach, great views, updated, clean, wonderful for a young family. There is a large pool, kiddie pool and a fabulous pool bar- food and drinks are great - love the bartenders. Thistle Lodge is excellent for dinner and drinks at night. The only downside is there is no breakfast at the resort and the pool bar stops serving food at 5 (you can still eat in or get take-out from Thistle Lodge but you may be better served going to the local grocery store and stocking your kitchen). So if you want luxury, high-service, this probably is not the place for you. But if you have younger kids and want a nice relaxing vacation, I Highly recommend it. It's the perfect cross between a private condo and a resort. The hotel recommended a babysitter that we used multiple nights and she was fabulous. While in Sanibel, we went to many of the restaurants, went on an amazing boat ride with Captain Jack (Sanibel Island Cruise Line)---I would do it all again in a second and I am sure we will be back next year.

Room Tip: If you have younger kids, I would recommend a first floor suite closer to the pool. The first floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Our unit #113 was disappointing. The front door handle didn't work right. The refridgerator had rust all over one side and the front of it looked like rust had been removed, repaired and repainted. The freezer fan ran constantly despite being at the right setting. (we had to set it to a lower setting to get it to shut off) The oven had rust on it also. The bath tub was very odd, the floor flexed when you stood on it and it was very stained. We stayed in another unit (105) in 2013 and were so happy we returned in June of 2014 only to be disappointed. Not sure if we'll go back again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Ybel Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Ybel Resort

Address: 2255 W Gulf Dr, Sanibel Island, FL 33957
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Sanibel Island
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Sanibel Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Ybel Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Natural, secluded and exclusive, historic Casa Ybel Resort epitomizes the sanctuary, old-island spirit of Sanibel. Occupying 23 acres of beach front property isolated from commercial enterprise, the resort forms a sheltered getaway where romantic surroundings and outdoor recreation attract couples and families alike. Travelers have found respite and hospitality here since the 1890's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Casa Ybel Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Ybel Hotel Sanibel Island
Casa Ybel Resort Sanibel Island
Casa Ybel Sanibel Island
Sanibel Island Casa Ybel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Ybel Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.